Join the Orbit Newsletter

Sign up for updates about
your favorite authors, books, and more

Orbit Books

AGE OF IRON by Angus Watson

AGE OF IRON Angus Watson

Bloodthirsty druids and battle-hardened Iron Age warriors collide in the first volume of this action-packed historical fantasy trilogy.
Read a sample

SYMBIONTMira Grant

The second terrifying novel in the Parasitology series by New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant!
Read a sample

Urban Fantasy Interview Swap: Amanda Carlson interviews Kristen Painter

We’re back with Part II of the Urban Fantasy Interview session with authors Amanda Carlson and Kristen Painter.

To recap, last week, Amanda debunked any rumors of sparkling werewolves, and told us about her new novel FULL BLOODED (UK| US | AUS). You can read the full interview here. Now it’s Kristen’s turn to dish about her writing life. Look for Kristen’s fourth House of Comarré novel, OUT FOR BLOOD (UK| US | AUS) this October.

The cover for FULL BLOODED by Amanda Carlson - the start of a new urban fantasy shifter series perfect for fans of Rachel Vincent, Kelley Armstrong, Cassandra Clare and Patricia Briggs     OUT FOR BLOOD by Kristen Painter4

Amanda Carlson: I want to know about your “before I was a writer” life. I’ve read your bio and it sounds like you’ve done some fun things. Pick two (and I hope I laugh).

Kristen Painter: I’ve never been a stand up comedian, so I can’t promise laughs. I’ve held all sorts of jobs, from working in a candy store (the summer of my expansion) to walking a runway in a NYC fashion show. My favorite job has to be writer, though. It’s also the toughest I’ve ever had.

Amanda Carlson: Your House of Comarré series is awesome. I love the mythos behind it all. How did it come to you? Was it a dream? Were you eating pizza? Or, perhaps, playing bingo?

Kristen Painter: There was no bingo involved, I swear. Mostly my overactive imagination and the inability to legally kill people in real life. Wait, did I just type that out loud?

Amanda Carlson: You have quite a shoe obsession. I’ve seen them with my own eyes. Who’s your favorite designer? Describe your favorite pair of kickass shoes (for the ladies who love UF in the house).

Kristen Painter: My favorite shoe designer right now is probably Christian Louboutin. The craziness/sparkliness/wear-me-if-you-dare kind of attitude those shoes put off is like crack to me. Unfortunately, the prices of those shoes means I don’t actually own any of the truly stellar examples. I recently picked up some Vince Camutos leopard print and gold studs that are kind of amazing.

Amanda Carlson: You started Romance Divas, correct? How did that come about?

Kristen Painter: Jax Cassidy (fellow author) and I needed a place to hang out online and talk about writing and life after we (sort of) got kicked out of the writing forum where we met. What can I say? We bonded and it upset people. Romance Divas was our mutual dream that became a reality a lot of writers now enjoy.

Amanda Carlson: You tower over me, yet you’re cute like a snuggle bear. (For the audience, Kristen has the heart of an angel, when continually fed and nurtured.) Give us a deep, dark secret of Chrysabelle & Mal’s. Something juicy.

Kristen Painter: A snuggle bear? You really want to be killed off in a book, don’t you? Let me see, a deep dark secret of Chrysabelle and Mal’s…I guess you’ll just have to read OUT FOR BLOOD this October and see for yourself.

Amanda Carlson: Okay, some quick bullet questions to end. They give us a sense of who you are, like a picture. Ready?

Pepsi or Coke: Pepsi. Preferably Diet Wild Cherry Pepsi. Yep, that’s how I roll.

Hellboy or The English Patient: Hellboy, movie or graphic novel

Tolkien or Rowling: Old school. Tolkien

Tom Hardy or Johnny Depp? (Tom’s mine, but you can pretend) I’m going to go left of center and say Benedict Cumberbatch.

Elvis or The Beatles: Young Elvis.

Jimmy Choo’s or Manolo Blahnik’s: Jimmy Choo’s, but if you see above you’ll know I swing toward Christian Louboutin.

Disco or Salsa? When it comes to dancing, I’m down for anything! I love to dance. It’s a great workout that doesn’t feel like a workout.

Amanda Carlson: Thanks for playing along, Kristen! I had a blast and you are awesome.

Share

Tags: , , , , , ,

  1. Amanda Bonilla

    September 17, 2012
    at 3:25 pm

    Great interview! You guys should do this more often. ;)

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Orbiteers
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.