Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

SIX WAKES: Thriller in Space — WITH CLONES!

Fans of Mur Lafferty! Fans of Firefly, Sunshine, Leviathan Wakes! Fans of awesome sf with a cool hook! Come hither!  (Or was that yon? Or hither and yon? Its hard to tell on the intrawebs…)

When we first got the proposal for Mur’s new novel, SIX WAKES, the whole team fell in love with the hook: The whole crew is murdered — but when their clones wake up, they know that one of them is the killer. How cool is that? I will answer that question for you — SO COOL!

It was not common to awaken in a cloning vat streaked with drying blood.
 
 At least, Marie Shea iv had never experienced it. She had no memory of how she died. That was also new; before, when she had awakened as a new clone, her first memory was of how she died: from illness once and from injury once…
 
Maria’s vat was in the front of six vats, each one holding the clone of a crew member of the starship Pituitary, each clone waiting for its previous incarnation to die so it could awaken. Apparently Maria wasn’t the only one to die recently…

Mur Lafferty Photo 2 - JR BlackwellMur Lafferty should be a familiar name to most. She is a writer, podcast producer, gamer, geek, and martial artist. She is the host of the award winning podcast I Should Be Writing, and the host of the Angry Robot Books Podcast. She is the winner of the 2013 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. And she is also a writer who has a million awesome ideas ready to leap out of her brain.  We are excited that this is her next big project with Orbit and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

We’ll be publishing in trade paperback next Fall.

Tags: , , , , ,

  1. Paul (@princejvstin)

    June 16, 2015
    at 10:19 am

    Yup, wanna read this!

  2. Gary Henderson

    June 16, 2015
    at 10:49 am

    Squeeeeeee! Got any time machines lying around?

  3. Nojh

    June 16, 2015
    at 4:31 pm

    Yay! Okay that sounds like a fun premise. I can’t wait!

  4. Alan Sloan

    June 17, 2015
    at 12:17 pm

    Congratulations Mur! Looking forward to reading it. Let us know when we can pre-order it.

  5. Jimmie Kepler

    June 18, 2015
    at 7:52 pm

    Way to go! I’m a long time fane of her podcast, reader and buyer of her books. Let us know when we can pre-order it and help get the word out. Awesome!

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.