2019 New Voices

Orbit publishes some of the most exciting voices in SF and Fantasy – and we’re delighted to bring you more each year! Get to know the newest authors to join the Orbit family by watching the video below.

To find out more about these authors, check out the links and excerpts below. You can also follow the #orbit19 hashtag on Twitter for further news and updates.

 

Available Now

THE GUTTER PRAYER by Gareth Hanrahan

On Sale: Jan 22, 2019 (US) | Jan 17, 2019 (UK)

The city of Guerdon stands eternal. A refuge from the war that rages beyond its borders. But in the ancient tunnels deep beneath its streets, a malevolent power has begun to stir.

The fate of the city rests in the hands of three thieves. They alone stand against the coming darkness. As conspiracies unfold and secrets are revealed, their friendship will be tested to the limit. If they fail, all will be lost, and the streets of Guerdon will run with blood.

Find out more:

[AMA] Ask Gareth Hanrahan Anything on /r/fantasy

Illustration by Richard Anderson; Design by Steve Panton

CR Edel Ryder-Hanrahan

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

CR Edel Ryder-Hanrahan

Follow the Author

VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe

On Sale: Jun 11, 2019 (US) | Jun 13, 2019 (UK)

Sanda and Biran Greeve were siblings destined for greatness. A high-flying sergeant, Sanda has the skills to take down any enemy combatant. Biran is a savvy politician who aims to use his new political position to prevent conflict from escalating to total destruction.

However, on a routine maneuver, Sanda loses consciousness when her gunship is blown out of the sky. Instead of finding herself in friendly hands, she awakens 230 years later on a deserted enemy warship controlled by an AI who calls himself Bero. The war is lost. The star system is dead. Ada Prime and its rival Icarion have wiped each other from the universe.

Now, separated by time and space, Sanda and Biran must fight to put things right.

Find out more:

[Excerpt:] Meet Sanda
[Excerpt:] Meet Biran
[Excerpt:] Meet Jules
[AMA:] Ask Megan E. O’Keefe anything on r/sciencefiction

Art by Sparth; Design by Lauren Panepinto

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

THE RAGE OF DRAGONS by Evan Winter

On Sale: Jul 16, 2019 (US) | Jul 18, 2019 (UK)

The Omehi people have been fighting an unwinnable fight for almost two hundred years. Their society has been built around war and only war. The lucky ones are born gifted. One in every two thousand women has the power to call down dragons. One in every hundred men is able to magically transform himself into a bigger, stronger, faster killing machine.Everyone else is fodder, destined to fight and die in the endless war.

Game of Thrones meets Gladiator in this debut epic fantasy about a world caught in an eternal war, and the young man who will become his people’s only hope for survival.

Find out more:

[Video:] Evan Winter introduces THE RAGE OF DRAGONS
[Interview:] Designing the Cover with Evan Winter and artist Karla Ortiz

Art by Karla Ortiz; Design by Lauren Panepinto

CC Vivian Hui

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf!

Buy US Buy UK

CC Vivian Hui

Follow the Author

THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP by H. G. Parry

On Sale: Jul 23, 2019 (US) | Jan 23, 2020 (UK)

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can’t quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob—a young lawyer with a normal house, a normal fiancee, and an utterly normal life—hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his life’s duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other. But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world… and for once, it isn’t Charley’s doing.

There’s someone else who shares his powers. It’s up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them, before these characters tear apart the fabric of reality.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Art by Shutterstock

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

THE TEN THOUSAND DOORS OF JANUARY by Alix E. Harrow

On Sale: Sep 10, 2019 (US) | Sep 12, 2019 (UK)

In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored, and utterly out of place.

Then she finds a strange book. A book that carries the scent of other worlds, and tells a tale of secret doors, of love, adventure and danger. Each page turn reveals impossible truths about the world and January discovers a story increasingly entwined with her own.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Art by Shutterstock

 

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

LEGACY OF ASH by Matthew Ward

On Sale: Nov 5, 2019 (US) | Nov 7, 2019 (UK)

A shadow has fallen over the Tressian Republic.

Ruling families – once protectors of justice and democracy – now plot against one another with sharp words and sharper knives. Blinded by ambition, they remain heedless of the threat posed by the invading armies of the Hadari Empire.

Yet as Tressia falls, heroes rise.

Viktor Akadra is the Republic’s champion. A warrior without equal, he hides a secret that would see him burned as a heretic.

Josiri Trelan is Viktor’s sworn enemy. A political prisoner, he dreams of reigniting his mother’s failed rebellion.

And yet Calenne, Josiri’s sister, seeks only to break free of their tarnished legacy; to escape the expectation and prejudice that haunts the Trelan name.

As war spreads across the Republic, these three must set aside their differences in order to save their homeland. However, decades of bad blood are not easily set aside – victory will demand a darker price than any of them could have imagined.

Illustration by Larry Rostant, design by Charlotte Stroomer

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

QUEEN OF THE CONQUERED by Kacen Callender

On Sale: Nov 12, 2019 (US)

“I want to prove to them that they were wrong to underestimate me. I want to see them burn for what they did to my family.”Set in a Caribbean-inspired fantasy world, Queen of the Conquered is a novel of colonialism and conquest that reckons with the many layers of power and privilege, perfect for readers of S.A. Chakraborty, Ken Liu, and Tasha Suri.

Sigourney Rose is the only surviving daughter of a noble lineage on the islands of Hans Lollik. When she was a child, her family was murdered by the islands’ colonizers. Now, when the childless king of the islands needs a successor, Sigourney seizes her best chance at vengeance. With all of her magic and cunning, she prepares to fight for the throne.

 

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Cover Images by Arcangel and Shutterstock

cr Beth Phelan

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf!

Buy US

cr Beth Phelan

Follow the Author

Coming Soon

All titles are released!