Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: Orbit Australia

Welcome Vivian Shaw!

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

Orbit has acquired three novels in this lively new series, beginning with STRANGE PRACTICE in summer 2017. In the meantime, say hello to Vivian on Twitter @ceruleancynic or on Tumblr at http://vivianshaw.tumblr.com/.

vivian-shaw-cr-emilia-blaserGreta Helsing inherited the family’s highly specialized, and highly peculiar, medical practice.  In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills — vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been groomed for since childhood.

Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life. 

THE AGE OF ASSASSINS HAS DAWNED!

Confident and stylish, masterful in the execution, once it has you in its grasp it just doesn’t let go . . . RJ Barker’s debut novel AGE OF ASSASSINS has a lot in common with the ruthless killers who inhabit its pages.

So we are simply delighted to announce that we’ve acquired this epic fantasy trilogy from a supremely talented British debut author. AGE OF ASSASSINS, the gripping first book in RJ Barker’s trilogy, is packed full of intrigue, adventure and magic. It tells the story of Girton Club-foot, a young man apprenticed to a master assassin, who is thrust into a world of politics and treachery when the queen hires the duo not to cause an assassination, but to prevent one.

The trilogy was acquired by Orbit in a three-book deal for World English language rights, from Ed Wilson of Johnson and Alcock literary agency. AGE OF ASSASSINS will hit the shops in summer 2017.

Cover launch: ROMEO AND/OR JULIET, by RYAN NORTH

We’re very excited to present the UK cover for ROMEO AND/OR JULIET, a ludicrously funny and irreverent take on Romeo and Juliet from the creator of Dinosaur Comics.

What if Romeo never met Juliet? What if Juliet got really buff instead of moping around the castle all day? What if they teamed up to take over Verona with robot suits?

Ryan North

In this New York Times bestselling version of Romeo and Juliet, you get to choose where the story goes. Packed with exciting choices, fun puzzles, secret surprises, terrible puns and more than a billion possible storylines, ROMEO AND/OR JULIET offers a new experience every time you read it. And, as an added bonus, all the different endings feature beautiful and quirky illustrations by some of the best artists working today, including New York Times bestsellers Kate Beaton, Noelle Stevenson, Randall Munroe and Jon Klassen.

‘Ryan North is the only writer I know who’s smart enough and funny enough to pull this off’  Lev Grossman, New York Times bestselling author of the Magicians trilogy

‘[A] ridiculously fun book . . . It is as hilarious and funny and strange as you would imagine . . . fantastic’  BookRiot

‘Written with the finest distilled charm and genuine enthusiasm. Entertaining and extremely satisfying’  Kate Beaton, New York Times bestselling author of HARK! A VAGRANT

 

Illustrations by Noelle Stevenson
Design by Ryan North

THE FIFTH SEASON wins a Hugo Award!

Congratulations to N.K. Jemisin, whose THE FIFTH SEASON won the Hugo Award for Best Novel last night in Kansas City!

The sequel to THE FIFTH SEASON, THE OBELISK GATE (US | UK | ANZ), is now available as well. Early praise has called it “even more engrossing” (Amal El-Mohtar for NPR Books).

THE FIFTH SEASON was in good company, the other nominees for Best Novel including Ann Leckie’s ANCILLARY MERCY (US | UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the Hugo Award nominees and winners!

Cover Reveal: 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson

This week, The Verge posted the cover of NEW YORK 2140, the latest novel by Kim Stanley Robinson. Click to enlarge the image below to explore every fascinating detail of life in the 22nd century.

Robinson_NewYork2140_HC

The waters rose, submerging New York City.

But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.

Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.

Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.

And how we too will change.

Coming early 2017 in the US, UK and Australia. Illustration by Stephan Martiniere. Design by Kirk Benshoff.

 

Cover launch: SILENCE FALLEN, the new Mercy Thompson novel by Patricia Briggs

We’re very excited to present the UK cover for SILENCE FALLEN, the new Mercy Thompson novel by Patricia Briggs.

Waiting for the next book in this thrilling series can be a trial for urban fantasy fans, as we’re all desperate to find out what’s in store for our favourite kick-ass shapeshifter. Well, we’re happy to say that it’s coming in March 2017 and is available for pre-order now!

Silence Fallen cover

Read on for a taste of what’s to come:

Coyote shapeshifter Mercy Thompson is attacked and abducted in her home territory. Fighting off a crazed werewolf, she manages to escape, only to find herself alone in the heart of Europe, without money, without clothing and on the run from the clutches of the most powerful vampire in the world.

Unable to contact her pack, Mercy has allies to find and enemies to fight, but first she needs to figure out which is which. Ancient powers stir, and Mercy needs to be at her agile best to avoid causing a war between vampires and werewolves – and between werewolves and werewolves. And in the heart of the ancient city of Prague, old ghosts rise . . .

 

Cover photograph by Sorted.tv
Cover design by Nick Castle

 

THE WAKING FIRE by Anthony Ryan – ignite the fires of war!

You wait ages for a book featuring dragons to arrive, and then three of them turn up at once. Still, at least if you apply to be a dragon slayer, you can find the perfect book for your specific needs.

However, if you like your dragons wild, ferocious and available in four equally terrifying varieties, then do yourself a favour and pick up a copy of THE WAKING FIRE – the flame-tastic new epic fantasy from Anthony Ryan, author of the international bestseller BLOOD SONG.

For decades the lands of the Ironship Syndicate have been defended by the  Blood-blessed – men and women able to channel the powers contained in  the potent blood of wild drakes. Elite spies and assassins, their loyalty has established the Syndicate’s position as the greatest power in the known world.

Yet now a crisis looms. The drake bloodlines  are weakening, and war with the Corvantine Empire seems inevitable. The  Syndicate’s only hope of survival lies with the myth of a legendary drake, whose powerful blood might just turn the tide of the war – if it  even exists.

The task of hunting down this fabled creature falls to Claydon Torcreek, a petty thief and unregistered Blood-blessed. He’s  handled many valuable things in his time (most of them illegal) but nothing as priceless as his nation’s future.

THE WAKING FIRE has already received widespread praise . . .

‘Another fantasy classic’ – Huffington Post UK

‘A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting and excellent world-building. A great read’  – Mark Lawrence

‘Excellent epic fantasy . . . Unputdownable’ – Bookbag

‘Memorable characters and great action’ – Django Wexler

. . . and is out now in hardback, trade format, ebook and audio!

 

Dragon Slayers Wanted

This summer, dragons are hotter (*ahem*) than ever. Orbit is celebrating all things scaly, fire-breathing and treasure-guarding by pairing readers with their ideal dragon-slaying quest. Looking for a bounty of gold and eternal glory? Or just up for a challenging fight? We can find the perfect dragon for every occasion. If you think you’re ready to defeat the beast, get your dragon slaying quest today.

Dragon Slayers Wanted

Plus we’re publishing three brand new titles over the next three months that feature magnificent drakes in one form or another: THE WAKING FIRE by Anthony Ryan (UK | AUS), DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD by Jon Hollins (US | UK | AUS), and CHASING EMBERS by James Bennett (US | UK| AUS). Look out for these in a bookstore near you!Dragon Book Covers

 

THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST by James Islington

Behold, a new look for the online sensation that’s captivated more than 100,000 readers, a fantasy debut perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time. THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST (US | UK | AUS) is a classic tale of power and destiny that fantasy fans won’t want to miss:

Islington_Shadow

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them – the Gifted – are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is…

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The ebook is on sale now and the hardcover is available for preorder now, release date November 8, 2016. Begin the journey now!

Cover design by Lauren Panepinto. Illustration by Dominick Saponaro.

Cover Launch: FORSAKEN SKIES by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the glorious cover for FORSAKEN SKIES  by D. Nolan Clark, the stunning first novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of survival against the odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the cold vacuum of space.

Orbit_Clark_ForsakenSkies

After centuries of devastating interplanetary civil war, mankind has found a time of relative peace.

That peace is shattered when an unknown armada emerges from the depths of space, targeting an isolated colony planet. As the colonists plead for help, the politicians and bureaucrats look away.

But battle-scarred Commander Aleister Lanoe will not abandon thousands of innocents to their fate.

Cover design by Kirk Benshoff. Illustration by Victor Mosquera.

You are currently browsing the archives for the Orbit Australia category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.