Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: Orbit US

THE FIFTH SEASON wins a Hugo Award!

Congratulations to N.K. Jemisin, whose THE FIFTH SEASON won the Hugo Award for Best Novel last night in Kansas City!

The sequel to THE FIFTH SEASON, THE OBELISK GATE (US | UK | ANZ), is now available as well. Early praise has called it “even more engrossing” (Amal El-Mohtar for NPR Books).

THE FIFTH SEASON was in good company, the other nominees for Best Novel including Ann Leckie’s ANCILLARY MERCY (US | UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the Hugo Award nominees and winners!

Cover Reveal: 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson

This week, The Verge posted the cover of NEW YORK 2140, the latest novel by Kim Stanley Robinson. Click to enlarge the image below to explore every fascinating detail of life in the 22nd century.

Robinson_NewYork2140_HC

The waters rose, submerging New York City.

But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.

Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.

Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.

And how we too will change.

Coming early 2017 in the US, UK and Australia. Illustration by Stephan Martiniere. Design by Kirk Benshoff.

 

Award finalists: Gemmell and World Fantasy!

The shortlists for the David Gemmell Awards and the World Fantasy Award have been released! We’re excited to have authors on both lists.

N.K. Jemisin’s THE FIFTH SEASON is a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. This is Jemisin’s third nomination for the award,  THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS and THE KILLING MOON also having appeared on the shortlist. The winner will be announced at World Fantasy Convention in Columbus, OH, at the end of October.

We’re also thrilled that BATTLEMAGE by Stephen Aryan has been shortlisted for the Morningstar Award for Best Debut Novel! In addition, on the shortlist for the David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Novel are THE DREAD WYRM by Miles Cameron and RUIN by John Gwynne.

The Gemmell Awards have open voting; you can vote for your favorites on the Gemmell Awards website.

TheFifthSeason_HC Aryan_Battlemage-TP

DreadWyrmCover_Cameron Gwynne_Ruin_TP

Orbit is hiring.

ORBIT LOGOOrbit is the fastest-growing SFF imprint in the US, and we’re looking for an experienced editor who isn’t afraid to shoot first. The ideal candidate will enjoy working in a dynamic, highly collaborative environment alongside our creative and marketing teams. If you think you have what it takes, please apply here.

Dragon Slayers Wanted

This summer, dragons are hotter (*ahem*) than ever. Orbit is celebrating all things scaly, fire-breathing and treasure-guarding by pairing readers with their ideal dragon-slaying quest. Looking for a bounty of gold and eternal glory? Or just up for a challenging fight? We can find the perfect dragon for every occasion. If you think you’re ready to defeat the beast, get your dragon slaying quest today.

Dragon Slayers Wanted

Plus we’re publishing three brand new titles over the next three months that feature magnificent drakes in one form or another: THE WAKING FIRE by Anthony Ryan (UK | AUS), DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD by Jon Hollins (US | UK | AUS), and CHASING EMBERS by James Bennett (US | UK| AUS). Look out for these in a bookstore near you!Dragon Book Covers

 

THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST by James Islington

Behold, a new look for the online sensation that’s captivated more than 100,000 readers, a fantasy debut perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time. THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST (US | UK | AUS) is a classic tale of power and destiny that fantasy fans won’t want to miss:

Islington_Shadow

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them – the Gifted – are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is…

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The ebook is on sale now and the hardcover is available for preorder now, release date November 8, 2016. Begin the journey now!

Cover design by Lauren Panepinto. Illustration by Dominick Saponaro.

Cover Launch: FORSAKEN SKIES by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the glorious cover for FORSAKEN SKIES  by D. Nolan Clark, the stunning first novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of survival against the odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the cold vacuum of space.

Orbit_Clark_ForsakenSkies

After centuries of devastating interplanetary civil war, mankind has found a time of relative peace.

That peace is shattered when an unknown armada emerges from the depths of space, targeting an isolated colony planet. As the colonists plead for help, the politicians and bureaucrats look away.

But battle-scarred Commander Aleister Lanoe will not abandon thousands of innocents to their fate.

Cover design by Kirk Benshoff. Illustration by Victor Mosquera.

THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS Movie: See the Poster and Trailer!

You can now watch the movie trailer for M. R. Carey’s THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS! Directed by Colm McCarthy (Sherlock, Peaky Blinders and Doctor Who), starring  Glenn Close, Gemma Arterton and Paddy Considine, and introducing Sennia Nanua, the film is a major release for Warner Bros and due to come out in the UK on September 23rd.

THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS was a word-of-mouth bestseller with over half a million readers worldwide. We’re beyond excited to see characters such as Melanie and Miss Justineau brought to life on the big screen – eagle-eyed fans might spot the author himself in there among the zombie hordes too.

We can’t wait! Here’s the official poster released by Warner Bros:
girl-with-all-the-gifts-posterClick here for everything you need to know about THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS movie release.

Cover Launch: WOLFHOUND EMPIRE by Peter Higgins

Gathered together for the first time is Peter Higgins’s complete, classic tale of myth and war: WOLFHOUND EMPIRE.  Reflecting the book’s epic scope and mysterious, dark plot is the brilliant cover design by Kirk Benshoff. Keep an eye out for Wolfhound Empire on September 6th!

Higgins_TheWolfhoundEmpire_TP

A spectre is haunting the empire—the spectre of war.

Huge stone creatures have fallen from the sky, their bodies littering the countryside. Blood-hungry golems are used to fight a never-ending war for political power. Secret police crush insurgency wherever it’s found.

Investigator Vissarion Lom has been summoned to Mirgorod to quell a new rebellion within the city limits. He’s been called because he’s an outsider. Because he isn’t enmeshed in the city’s politics. And because of the piece of stone embedded in his forehead.

“An amazing, fast-paced story in a fantasy world poised dangerously on the edge of quantum probability.” – Peter F. Hamilton

“Will grab you by the lapels and snap you to attention.”— io9

“Higgins’s world is a truly original creation.” – Hannu Rajaniemi

“Like vintage Mieville or Vandermeer, but with all the violent narrative thriller drive of Fleming at his edgiest.” – Richard Morgan

“Sentient water, censored artists, mechanical constructs, old-fashioned detective work, and the secret police are all woven together in this rich and fascinating tapestry.” – Publishers Weekly (Starred review)

Cover Launch: FEEDBACK by Mira Grant.

Introducing a new beginning, and long-awaited, full-length novel return, to Mira Grant’s New York Times bestselling Newsflesh series: FEEDBACK.

Grant_Feedback-HC[2](1)

 

We had cured cancer. We had beaten the common cold. But in doing so we unleashed something horrifying and unstoppable. The infection spread leaving those afflicted with a single uncontrollable impulse: FEED.

Now, twenty years after the Rising, a team of scrappy underdog reporters relentlessly pursue the facts while competing against the brother and sister blog superstars, the Masons.

Surrounded by the infected, and facing more insidious forces working in the shadows, they must hit the presidential campaign trail and uncover dangerous truths. Or die trying. 

FEEDBACK is a full-length Newsflesh novel that overlaps the events of the acclaimed first novel in the series, Feed, and offers a new entry point to this thrilling and treacherous world. 

For news and updates on FEEDBACK, sign-up for the official Mira Grant newsletter.

Praise for the Newsflesh series:

Astonishing …a fascinating exploration of the future.” – New York Times

“Perfect summer apocalypse reading.” – io9 on Feed

Gripping, thrilling, and brutal.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Feed

As much brains as heart, and both are filling and delicious.”—The A. V. Club on Feed

“A wry and entertaining exploration of the way political corruption never stops – even after the zombie apocalypse.”—NPR Books on Blackout

“Zombie mayhem, political snark, and pointedly funny observations.” – Locus on Feed

Intelligent and exciting…raises the bar for the genre.” Telegraph on Deadline

“Feed is a proper thriller with zombies.” – SFX on Feed

“Campy and yet smart, horror with heart, a summer beach read that will stay in your head.” – RT Book Reviews on Deadline

feed-cover deadline-cover US (available now) | UK | AUS Grant_Rise-HC

Design by Lauren Panepinto & Rob Sheridan

You are currently browsing the archives for the Orbit US category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.