Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: Orbit US

THE AGE OF ASSASSINS HAS DAWNED!

Confident and stylish, masterful in the execution, once it has you in its grasp it just doesn’t let go . . . RJ Barker’s debut novel AGE OF ASSASSINS has a lot in common with the ruthless killers who inhabit its pages.

So we are simply delighted to announce that we’ve acquired this epic fantasy trilogy from a supremely talented British debut author. AGE OF ASSASSINS, the gripping first book in RJ Barker’s trilogy, is packed full of intrigue, adventure and magic. It tells the story of Girton Club-foot, a young man apprenticed to a master assassin, who is thrust into a world of politics and treachery when the queen hires the duo not to cause an assassination, but to prevent one.

The trilogy was acquired by Orbit in a three-book deal for World English language rights, from Ed Wilson of Johnson and Alcock literary agency. AGE OF ASSASSINS will hit the shops in summer 2017.

Cover Reveal: REVENGER by Alastair Reynolds

Orbit is proud to be publishing Alastair Reynolds’s next exciting new space opera, REVENGER and two more science fiction novels. Revenger is pure, adrenaline-filled space adventure set in the rubble of our solar system in a dark, distant future – a tale of space pirates, buried treasure, and phantom weapons, of unspeakable hazards, single-minded heroism and, of course, vengeance. And that cover by blacksheep-uk.com? Gorgeous! You can get your hands on Revenger in eBook on September 20th, 2016 in the US and in trade paperback on February 28th, 2017. Say hello to Alastair Reynolds on twitter @AquilaRift 

reynolds_revenger-pb

The galaxy has seen great empires rise and fall. Planets have shattered and been remade. Amongst the ruins of alien civilizations, building our own from the rubble, humanity still thrives. 

And there are vast fortunes to be made, if you know where to find them… 

Captain Rackamore and his crew do. It’s their business to find the tiny, enigmatic worlds which have been hidden away, booby-trapped, surrounded by layers of protection – and to crack them open for the ancient relics and barely-remembered technologies inside. But while they ply their risky trade with integrity, not everyone is so scrupulous. 

Adrana and Fura Ness are the newest members of Rackamore’s crew, signed on to save their family from bankruptcy. Only Rackamore has enemies, and there might be more waiting for them in space than adventure and fortune: the fabled and feared Bosa Sennen in particular.

*Revenger is being published by Gollancz in the UK.

Welcome Melissa Caruso!

Orbit has acquired a spellbinding new fantasy, THE TETHERED MAGE, and two sequels in the Swords & Fire trilogy by debut author Melissa Caruso.

In a world where magic is scarce, those born with power must be strictly guarded — for their own good, and for the good of the Crown. Conscripted by the Falcon army from childhood, the mage-marked are cared for, trained, and housed in luxury. But for some, the life of a Falcon is a prison.

Zaira has lived her life in hiding to avoid becoming a Falcon, thieving on the streets to survive. But a rare and dangerous magic flows through her veins: fire bends to her will, sparks rise at her thoughts alone. Without training, she is a threat to herself. And to the entire empire.

Lady Amalia Cornaro was never meant to be a Falconer. Heiress and scholar, she was born into a treacherous world of political machinations. There are many that would see her dead, simply for the power her last name holds.

But fate has bound the heir and the mage. And as war looms on the horizon, a single spark could turn their city into a pyre.

The Swords & Fire trilogy will launch in Fall 2017. In the meantime, please join us in welcoming Melissa to Orbit. You can find her on Twitter as @MelissCaru.

THE FIFTH SEASON wins a Hugo Award!

Congratulations to N.K. Jemisin, whose THE FIFTH SEASON won the Hugo Award for Best Novel last night in Kansas City!

The sequel to THE FIFTH SEASON, THE OBELISK GATE (US | UK | ANZ), is now available as well. Early praise has called it “even more engrossing” (Amal El-Mohtar for NPR Books).

THE FIFTH SEASON was in good company, the other nominees for Best Novel including Ann Leckie’s ANCILLARY MERCY (US | UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the Hugo Award nominees and winners!

Cover Reveal: 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson

This week, The Verge posted the cover of NEW YORK 2140, the latest novel by Kim Stanley Robinson. Click to enlarge the image below to explore every fascinating detail of life in the 22nd century.

Robinson_NewYork2140_HC

The waters rose, submerging New York City.

But the residents adapted and it remained the bustling, vibrant metropolis it had always been. Though changed forever.

Every street became a canal. Every skyscraper an island.

Through the eyes of the varied inhabitants of one building Kim Stanley Robinson shows us how one of our great cities will change with the rising tides.

And how we too will change.

Coming early 2017 in the US, UK and Australia. Illustration by Stephan Martiniere. Design by Kirk Benshoff.

 

Award finalists: Gemmell and World Fantasy!

The shortlists for the David Gemmell Awards and the World Fantasy Award have been released! We’re excited to have authors on both lists.

N.K. Jemisin’s THE FIFTH SEASON is a finalist for the World Fantasy Award. This is Jemisin’s third nomination for the award,  THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS and THE KILLING MOON also having appeared on the shortlist. The winner will be announced at World Fantasy Convention in Columbus, OH, at the end of October.

We’re also thrilled that BATTLEMAGE by Stephen Aryan has been shortlisted for the Morningstar Award for Best Debut Novel! In addition, on the shortlist for the David Gemmell Legend Award for Best Novel are THE DREAD WYRM by Miles Cameron and RUIN by John Gwynne.

The Gemmell Awards have open voting; you can vote for your favorites on the Gemmell Awards website.

TheFifthSeason_HC Aryan_Battlemage-TP

DreadWyrmCover_Cameron Gwynne_Ruin_TP

Orbit is hiring.

ORBIT LOGOOrbit is the fastest-growing SFF imprint in the US, and we’re looking for an experienced editor who isn’t afraid to shoot first. The ideal candidate will enjoy working in a dynamic, highly collaborative environment alongside our creative and marketing teams. If you think you have what it takes, please apply here.

Dragon Slayers Wanted

This summer, dragons are hotter (*ahem*) than ever. Orbit is celebrating all things scaly, fire-breathing and treasure-guarding by pairing readers with their ideal dragon-slaying quest. Looking for a bounty of gold and eternal glory? Or just up for a challenging fight? We can find the perfect dragon for every occasion. If you think you’re ready to defeat the beast, get your dragon slaying quest today.

Dragon Slayers Wanted

Plus we’re publishing three brand new titles over the next three months that feature magnificent drakes in one form or another: THE WAKING FIRE by Anthony Ryan (UK | AUS), DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD by Jon Hollins (US | UK | AUS), and CHASING EMBERS by James Bennett (US | UK| AUS). Look out for these in a bookstore near you!Dragon Book Covers

 

THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST by James Islington

Behold, a new look for the online sensation that’s captivated more than 100,000 readers, a fantasy debut perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time. THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST (US | UK | AUS) is a classic tale of power and destiny that fantasy fans won’t want to miss:

Islington_Shadow

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them – the Gifted – are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is…

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The ebook is on sale now and the hardcover is available for preorder now, release date November 8, 2016. Begin the journey now!

Cover design by Lauren Panepinto. Illustration by Dominick Saponaro.

Cover Launch: FORSAKEN SKIES by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the glorious cover for FORSAKEN SKIES  by D. Nolan Clark, the stunning first novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of survival against the odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the cold vacuum of space.

Orbit_Clark_ForsakenSkies

After centuries of devastating interplanetary civil war, mankind has found a time of relative peace.

That peace is shattered when an unknown armada emerges from the depths of space, targeting an isolated colony planet. As the colonists plead for help, the politicians and bureaucrats look away.

But battle-scarred Commander Aleister Lanoe will not abandon thousands of innocents to their fate.

Cover design by Kirk Benshoff. Illustration by Victor Mosquera.

You are currently browsing the archives for the Orbit US category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.