Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: Art

Cover Launch: THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS

Witness the spectacular cover for THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS (US | UK | AUS), the second novel in this rollicking fantasy adventure series that takes us to a world where dragons run the show. Look for it in August!

The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. 

The motley crew that stumbled through that revolution are rich and praised as saviors. 

Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? 

Right? 

Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn’t been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world…

Praise for THE DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD (US | UK | AUS):

“Ideal for fans of humorous capers and heist stories – such as Ocean’s 11, Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence series, and Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga.”—Booklist

“Hollins ladles on the humor while hardly skimping on the action, the unexpected plot swerves, or the glorious feels.”—B&N Science Fiction & Fantasy Blog

“Hollins’s seat-of-the-pants fantasy comedy snowballs wildly into a glorious disaster of fire, magic, multiple threats to people’s intestines, and fun — for the reader, if not the characters.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Crystal Sully

 

Cover Launch: AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME by James Islington

James Islington exploded onto the fantasy scene last year with his blockbuster debut THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST [UK/US/ANZ]. Now this epic tale of adventure continues in AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME [UK/US] – and we’re delighted to share the amazing cover with you!

Jacket design: Lauren Panepinto / illustration by Dominick Saponaro

DARKNESS FALLS ACROSS A LAND IN DESPERATE NEED OF HEROES

An amnesty has been declared for all Augurs – finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .

AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME will be published in August!

Praise for the Licanius trilogy

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian

‘Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters’ Boingboing.net

‘Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Cover Launch: SOUL OF THE WORLD by David Mealing

Here, darkness looms on the horizon. An army marches towards war. And a figure stands on the precipice of destruction. Intrigued yet? Rich. Complex. Brilliant. SOUL OF THE WORLD (US | UK | AUS)  is a masterwork of world-building—an epic of intricate magics, world-ending battles, and matters of empire. Make sure to check out David Mealing’s breathtaking debut June 2017!


Three must fight. Three must die. Three must rise.

It is a time of revolution. In the cities, food shortages stir citizens to riots against the crown. In the wilds, new magic threatens the dominance of the tribes. And on the battlefields, even the most brilliant commanders struggle in the shadow of total war. Three lines of magic must be mastered in order to usher in a new age, and three heroes must emerge.

Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer trying to defend New Sarresant from an enemy general armed with magic she barely understands.

Arak’Jur wields the power of beasts to keep his people safe, but his strength cannot protect them from war amongst themselves.

Sarine is an artist on the streets of New Sarresant whose secret familiar helps her uncover bloodlust and madness where she expected only revolutionary fervor.

Each must learn the secrets of their power in time to guide their people through ruin. But a greater evil may be trying to stop them.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Art © Arcangel-Images

Cover Launch: FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the marvelous cover for FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark, the action-packed second novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of fighting against terrible odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the unforgiving dark of the universe.

Forgotten Worlds

Aleister Lanoe has won a stunning victory against the alien armada that threatened Niraya, but it’s not enough to satisfy his desire for vengeance. He won’t rest until he’s located the armada’s homeworld and reduced it to ashes.

Yet his personal vendetta will have to wait. Lanoe now faces a desperate race against time, and the merciless Centrocor corporation, if he’s to secure the Earth’s future – and discover the truth he seeks.

The battle is over. But the war has only just begun.

Praise for FORSAKEN SKIES (US | UK | AUS):

“Unforgettable characters and is jam-packed with action [and] adventure… one readers will not want to miss.”—Booklist

“About as exciting an action story set in space as any this reviewer has seen in print in quite some time. It is worth the read… a terrific and thrilling novel.”—SciFi Magazine

“Gripping writing, a brilliantly realized future culture and sympathetic characters . . . an entertaining and compelling read.”—SFX Magazine

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Victor Mosquera

Cover Launch: THE FALL OF DRAGONS by Miles Cameron

Miles Cameron is back again with the dark, deadly, and much anticipated final volume in the Traitor Son Cycle that began with THE RED KNIGHT. With a cover as exciting as the book, look out for THE FALL OF DRAGONS in October 2017.

The blood-thirsty, epic Traitor Son Cycle comes to its gripping conclusion in this fifth and final book.

Battle cries ring out from every corner of the world, and the cost of unending war begins to fracture every alliance. The Red Knight must hold his allies to their pacts and win every skirmish and every battle to preserve the world they share, even as it becomes evident that this is not the first time.

Can the Alliance seize control of Destiny? Or will they war among themselves and fall?

Not caught up? There’s still time to check out the first four books!

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Lettering by Zelda Devon
Illustration by Epica Prima/Alejandro Colucci

Cover Launch: A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES by Louisa Morgan

An ancient and dangerous power is being handed down from mother to daughter through some of the most consequential historic events of the last two centuries.

After Grandmére Ursule gives her life to save her tribe, her magic seems to die with her. Even so, her family keeps the Old Faith, practicing the spells and rites that have been handed from mother to daughter for generations. Until one day, Ursule’s young granddaughter steps into the circle, and magic flows anew.

From early 19th century Brittany to London during the Second World War, five generations of witches fight the battles of their time, deciding how far they are willing to go to protect their family, their heritage, and ultimately, all of our futures.

If you loved A Discovery of Witches or The Witch’s Daughter, you’ll fall for the five indomitable women at the heart of A SECRET HISTORY OF WITCHES, from Redhook in fall 2017.

A Secret History of Witches

Design: Lisa Marie Pompilio

Photograph: Sybille Sterk/Arcangel

Cover Launch: CORMORANT RUN by Lilith Saintcrow

YOU HAVE TWO OPTIONS:

ROT IN PRISON
or

LEAD A SECRET MISSION INTO TREACHEROUS AND UNCHARTED TERRITORY

PREPARE FOR THE CORMORANT

And now, prepare for this stunning cover! Illustration by Kirbi Fagan, design by Lauren Panepinto.

cormorant run

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

Cover Launch: COLD WELCOME by Elizabeth Moon

Nebula-Award-winner Elizabeth Moon returns to science fiction with a thrilling new space opera adventure, COLD WELCOME (UK|ANZ), and we’re delighted to reveal the stunning cover below.

Elizabeth Moon

Cover design by Sean Garrehy
Illustration by Steve Stone @ Artist partners

Admiral Ky Vatta should return to her childhood home a war hero, but on the way her shuttle is downed by sabotage. Marooned in a hostile landscape it’ll take every bit of wit, skill and luck she can muster to lead her fellow survivors to safety, knowing that the mysterious enemies who destroyed the ship are on the hunt, and may have an agent in the group ready to finish the job at any moment. And was the sabotage an attempt on Ky’s own life, or someone else’s?

Praise for Elizabeth Moon:
‘Sheer delight’ – Anne McCaffrey
‘Absolutely compelling’ – Greg Bear
‘Full of thrills’ – Locus
‘Unforgettable’ – Jack McDevitt
‘Hard to put down’ – SFSite.com
‘Continues to get better with every volume’ – Guardian
‘Superlative’ – Booklist
‘She deserves all her success – and more’ – SciFi.com

COLD WELCOME will be hitting shops in April and is available for pre-order now.

Cover launch: THE END OF THE DAY

We launched the cover for THE END OF THE DAY (UK|ANZ|US) exclusively at SciFiNow today.

Head over there to read about this mysterious and compelling novel coming out in April this year from Claire North, the voice behind THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST (UK|ANZ|US).

Cover Design: Duncan Spilling – Little, Brown Book Group, Photography: Ayal Ardon/Archangel Images

Cover Launch: STRANGE PRACTICE by Vivian Shaw

We are thrilled to reveal the cover for STRANGE PRACTICE, a spectacular fantasy novel coming in July from debut author Vivian Shaw. Witty and fast-paced, with a heroine who treats rather than fights the supernatural, STRANGE PRACTICE is sure to sweep you off your feet. Cover art and design by Will Staehle.

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

After inheriting a highly specialized – and highly peculiar – medical practice, Dr. Helsing spends her days treating the undead for a host of ills: vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been preparing for since childhood.

But when a sect of murderous monks starts attacking Londoners, undead and human alike, and terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use all her unusual skills to keep her supernatural clients – and the rest of London – safe.

You can follow Vivian Shaw on Twitter or on Tumblr.

Pre-order in the US: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

Pre-order in the UK: Amazon | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Waterstones | More Stores

You are currently browsing the archives for the Art category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.