Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: New Titles

Cover launch: SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE by Trudi Canavan

If you’re already a fan of Trudi Canavan, then you’ll know what kind of a thrill ride you can expect from her latest series, Millennium’s Rule. Judging from the awesome reader reviews, fantasy fans around the world have been enthralled by the first two books in the series THIEF’S MAGIC and ANGEL OF STORMS.

And now the time is here to unveil the cover for the third book, SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE.

Successor's promise by Trudi Canavan, book 3 of Millennium's Rule

This dramatic third novel is set in a time of chaos. Worlds are at war, torn apart by deadly machines and power-hungry sorcerers. And the loyalties of Rielle and Tyen will be tested to their limits. Trust us fantasy fans – you do not want to miss this one. Look out for this thrilling new novel in September 2017.

Pre-order SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE now

Cover Launch: Age of Assassins by RJ Barker

It’s a game of
ASSASSIN VERSUS ASSASSIN
when Girton Club-Foot and his master are hired by a queen to catch the killer who’s coming for her son.

Set in a world ravaged by magic and the ambition of noblemen, this debut epic fantasy features a cast of assassins, knights and fools which will delight any fan of Brent Weeks, Robin Hobb or Assassin’s Creed. AGE OF ASSASSINS is coming to Orbit this August.

Our fantastic cover has been designed by Tom Sanderson, at the-parish.com.

If you’d like to know more about RJ Barker, watch our 2017 debut author video  (skip to 1:17 for RJ’s section) or follow him on twitter at @dedbutdrmng.

Cover Launch: AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME by James Islington

James Islington exploded onto the fantasy scene last year with his blockbuster debut THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST [UK/US/ANZ]. Now this epic tale of adventure continues in AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME [UK/US] – and we’re delighted to share the amazing cover with you!

Jacket design: Lauren Panepinto / illustration by Dominick Saponaro

DARKNESS FALLS ACROSS A LAND IN DESPERATE NEED OF HEROES

An amnesty has been declared for all Augurs – finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .

AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME will be published in August!

Praise for the Licanius trilogy

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian

‘Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters’ Boingboing.net

‘Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

‘CONTEMPORARY AND AS GRIMDARK AS IT COMES’: Announcing New Books from Adrian Selby

We were thrilled last year to publish Adrian Selby’s fantasy debut SNAKEWOOD, which has received rave reviews for its razor-sharp action scenes, original worldbuilding and gripping plot. If you’ve not yet read this wonderfully gritty tale about a band of twenty mercenaries who are being assassinated one by one by an unknown enemy, then never fear: the paperback is out this week!

That’s not all – we’re delighted to announce that Orbit have acquired two new books from Adrian and his agent Jamie Cowen, both fantasy adventures set in the same world as SNAKEWOOD. Adrian took twenty years to write his debut tale of twenty mercenaries, but we won’t have to wait that long again – the second book will be out in 2018. We’re counting down the days already.

Adrian can be found online at his website and on Twitter.

Praise for SNAKEWOOD:

‘Contemporary and as grimdark as it comes’ British Fantasy Society

‘Perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie’ RT Book Reviews

‘Absolutely fascinating and incredibly original’ Sense of Wonder

‘Relish the well-choreographed action scenes in this debut fantasy’ Library Journal

‘Wears its grimdark on its sleeve … a thrilling tale of adventure, betrayal, triumph and loss’ Interzone

‘A lot to enjoy, especially if you are a fan of dark, gritty, old-soldier stories’ Fantasy Faction

‘Demonstrates the command of style, character, plotting, and world building of a seasoned author’ Booklist

‘A fantasy novel that remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars’ B&N Science Fiction and Fantasy blog

‘I give it nothing but the highest recommendation’ Grimdark magazine

Cover launch: THE END OF THE DAY

We launched the cover for THE END OF THE DAY (UK|ANZ|US) exclusively at SciFiNow today.

Head over there to read about this mysterious and compelling novel coming out in April this year from Claire North, the voice behind THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST (UK|ANZ|US).

Cover Design: Duncan Spilling – Little, Brown Book Group, Photography: Ayal Ardon/Archangel Images

Cover Reveal: YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE by Angus Watson

Dark humour! Visceral action! And a lot of blood . . . Yes, Angus Watson – author of the acclaimed Iron Age trilogy – is back with a bang.

His brilliant new novel, YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE [UK/US], publishes in June – and here’s the fantastic cover courtesy of artist Larry Rostant and our very own in-house designer Ceara Elliot!

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE follows the story of Finn, a young warrior whose settlement is razed by invaders. Cast adrift on a strange new continent, Finn must undertake a perilous journey, battling monsters and hostile tribes while assassins snap at his heels. The good news is that he’s not alone on this adventure. The bad news is that some of his companions pose just as much danger to him as the unknown landscape . . .

June will be here before you know it, so best polish that armour and sharpen your axe!

Angus Watson is the author of the Iron Age trilogy (AGE OF IRON [UK/US/ANZ], CLASH OF IRON [UK/US/ANZ] and REIGN OF IRON [UK/US/ANZ]) and can be found online on Twitter and on his website.

Cover Launch: RAISING FIRE by James Bennett

Hot on the heels of his explosive fantasy debut, CHASING EMBERS, James Bennett is back with RAISING FIRE – another flame-fueled tale of adventure, modern-day mythology and – best of all – dragons! Here’s the wonderful cover, courtesy of our in-house designer Tracey Winwood.

Raising Fire by James Bennett

 

Ben Garston has broken the Lore. Now it’s time to face the music.

Life isn’t treating Ben Garston very well. He’s lost everything he once held dear, including the love of his life. Still, he did at least escape being dragged into hell by a malevolent spirit bent on total destruction. So there is that.

Now Ben just wants to drink, and forget, and drink some more. But he can’t. Not yet.

Because someone is stirring up trouble. Someone who wants to unravel the powerful magic that was spun all those centuries ago, and watch the realm of mythology come crashing into the modern world.

Only Ben can stop them. The world will burn if he fails – and that’s the last thing he needs on his conscience.

RAISING FIRE is currently set to be unleashed in August next year, so there’s plenty of time for you to dive into CHASING EMBERS if you haven’t already! You can follow James Bennett on Twitter – @benjurigan. 

Cover Launch: THE FATAL GATE by Ian Irvine

THE FATAL GATE is the action-packed second novel in Ian Irvine’s Gates of Good and Evil series – set in the world of his million-selling View From the Mirror books.

Here’s the stunning cover, courtesy of Jack Smyth from our wonderful in-house design team.

final-cover-fate-gate

Following on from the dramatic events of THE SUMMON STONE, the Merdrun have launched their long-awaited invasion of Santhenar. Llian must rally the Alliance if the world is to survive this grave threat, but knows that their only chance lies in the pursuit of an impossible alchemical quest – and the most uneven battle in all the Histories . . .

THE FATAL GATE publishes on 29th June 2017 in trade format and ebook.

Praise for Ian Irvine:

‘Compelling . . . Truly original’ Locus

‘He knows how to spin an epic yarn and tell it with real gusto’ SFX

‘The sort of book you’d pick up if you were prepared to be late for your next appointment’ Bookbag

Cover Launch: EMERGENCE by Ken MacLeod

EMERGENCE is the action-packed conclusion to the Corporation Wars trilogy – an epic tale of a robot revolt, seen through a robot’s eyes – from the Arthur C. Clarke Award-nominated author Ken MacLeod.

Today we can reveal the gorgeous cover which, as with the previous two books, was created by designer Bekki Guyatt. EMERGENCE publishes in September 2017.

emergence_green-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first novel in the Corporation Wars trilogy, DISSIDENCE was one of SFX magazine’s most anticipated titles of 2016.

Carlos is dead. A soldier who died for his ideals a thousand years ago, he’s been reincarnated and conscripted to fight an A.I. revolution in deep space. And he’s not sure he’s fighting for the right side.

Seba is alive. By a fluke of nature, a contractual overlap, and a loop in its subroutines, this lunar mining robot has gained sentience. Gathering with other ‘freebots’, Seba is taking a stand against the corporations that want it and its kind gone.

As their stories converge against a backdrop of warring companies and interstellar drone combat, Carlos and Seba must either find a way to rise above the games their masters are playing, or die. And even dying will not be the end of it.

The Corporation Wars Book One: DissidenceThe Corporation Wars: Insurgence

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Praise for Ken MacLeod:

‘MacLeod is up there with Banks and Hamilton as one of the British sci-fi authors you absolutely have to read’
SFX

‘Prose sleek and fast as the technology it describes . . . watch this man go global’

Peter F. Hamilton

‘MacLeod’s novels are fast, funny, and sophisticated. There can never be enough books like these: he is writing revolutionary SF. A nova has appeared in our sky’
Kim Stanley Robinson

 

Beware the Age of Dread!

Stephen Aryan stormed onto the epic fantasy scene with his award-nominated debut BATTLEMAGE (UK|US|ANZ) – a thunderous adventure of furious battles, lethal magic and valiant heroes. The epic story continued in BLOODMAGE (UK|US|ANZ) and concludes in CHAOSMAGE (UK|US|ANZ), out this month!

Never fear however, as there’s plenty more magic-infused action where that came from. We’re delighted to announce that we have signed up Stephen for a brand new trilogy – the Age of Dread – which will be set in the same world as his original series. More battles! More magic! More blood . . .

We just can’t wait.

The Age of Dread trilogy was acquired by Orbit Commissioning Editor Jenni Hill, who bought world English rights from Juliet Mushens at United Talent. The first book in the series will be released in October 2017. Plenty of time to sharpen your axes (and to read the previous books if you haven’t already!).

The Age of Darkness trilogy by Stephen Aryan

You are currently browsing the archives for the New Titles category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.