Join the Orbit Newsletter

Sign up for updates about
your favorite authors, books, and more

Orbit Books

TOWER LORD by Anthony Ryan

TOWER LORD Anthony Ryan

Following on from 2013′s bestselling epic fantasy debut is the second novel in the Raven’s Shadow series – a powerful epic fantasy from an exciting new British talent.
Read a sample

VALORJohn Gwynne

War has erupted in the Banished Lands as the race for power intensifies. Sides are chosen and oaths will be fulfilled or broken in a land where hell has broken loose.
Read a sample

Category: Signings and Events

July Events

There are plenty more exciting author events in July!

Tuesday, July 2
Kate Elliott (with E. C. Ambrose) @ the New York Review of Science Fiction, New York, NY, 7 PM

Thursday, July 4
Charles Stross launch event @ Waterstones West End, Edinburgh, UK, 6 PM

Saturday, July 6
James S.A. Corey @ Page One, Albuquerque, NM, 2 PM

Monday, July 8
Kate Elliott @ University Bookstore, Seattle, WA, 7 PM

Tuesday, July 9
Kate Elliott and Lilith Saintcrow @ Powell’s Cedar Hill Crossings, Beaverton, OR, 7 PM

Thursday, July 11 – Sunday, July 14
Michael J. Sullivan will be guest of honor @ ConnectiCon, Hartford, CT
Amanda Downum will be @ ReaderCon, Boston, MA

Wednesday, July 17 – Sunday, July 21
Amanda Carlson, Kate Locke, and Kristen Painter will be at RWA, Atlanta, GA
Daniel Abraham, James S.A. Corey, Mira Grant, and Marlene Perez will be at San Diego Comic-Con, San Diego, CA

‘Sorcerous action, skilled characterizations, and rapid-fire storytelling’

Terry Brooks's brand new Dark Legacy of Shannara novel BLOODFIRE QUEST, perfect for fans of Robin Hobb, Robert Jordan, Christopher Paolini or Raymond FeistTerry Brooks‘s latest epic fantasy book BLOODFIRE QUEST (UK | ANZ) has been released this month. It’s the second book in The Dark Legacy of Shannara series and is delighting fans everywhere:

‘Nearly every page is filled with tension and passionate storytelling . . . Bloodfire Quest is a fine follow-up to Wards of Faerie and continues to prove that The Dark Legacy of Shannara is one of the most exciting and satisfying trilogies that Brooks has written in years’  A DRIBBLE OF INK

‘Shannara fans will delight in Brooks’s twists, sorcerous action, skilled characterizations, and rapid-fire storytelling ‘ PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

‘Shannara continues to deepen, and Brooks continues to color his world with new hues . . . BLOODFIRE QUEST is an epic adventure packed into 350 pages, delivering more of a punch than many trilogies provide in three books’ BOOK REPORTER

Don’t forget that if you live in the UK, there’s just under a week until Terry visits for the first time in over 5 years. There’s a facebook group here for his signing on 3rd April at 6pm at Forbidden Planet London.

And don’t fear if you can’t make it – UK fans still have time to submit questions and will receive an awesome dragon skull badge at the same time…

My First Time: The Magic of Terry Brooks

SwordEveryone remembers their first time.

Mine was back in the mid-1990s. A close friend excitedly showed me a book called THE SWORD OF SHANNARA (UK | ANZ) that his jetsetting pilot father had picked up for him from a bookstore in America. I remember being impressed at its sheer size and being immediately drawn to both the cover (a glowing magic sword, what more could a thirteen-year-old boy want?) and the gorgeous interior illustrations by the brothers Hildebrandt. I forget what gushing eulogy my friend gave about the book, yet it was positive enough for the novel to stick in my mind. Faced with the horrors of a two-week family holiday a short time later, I purchased a copy of THE SWORD OF SHANNARA, thinking it might prove a decent distraction for a fortnight.

It didn’t – because I burned through the novel in two days. I was already a fan of fantasy, having devoured Fighting Fantasy gamebooks and the late Brian Jacques’s much-loved Redwall series, but this was the first time I’d read an adult book – and I was hopelessly smitten. I loved every page, every word. For hours at a time I lost myself in this mythical world, enthralled by the plucky heroes’ dangerous adventure to save the land from darkness. I may not have realised it at the time, but that reading experience was a watershed moment in not just my reading tastes, but my entire life. Read the rest of this entry »

Terry Brooks UK signing!

BrooksTerryOrbit is so excited to announce that Terry Brooks will be visiting the UK for the first time in over 5 years!  He will be in London on holiday but has spared an evening to schedule an event at Forbidden Planet – on Wednesday 3rd April at 6pm.  He will be signing copies of the first in his new series, Wards of Faerie (now available in paperback) and his new hardback Bloodfire Quest (out 12th March).  Like our Orbit UK Facebook page for full details and updates.

terry badge

And for all Terry’s UK fans who can’t make it to London, never fear… whether you can attend the signing or not, every person who emails a question for Terry to orbit@littlebrown.co.uk will receive a Bloodfire Quest badge!  We will film his answers so everyone gets to ‘meet’ him.  Plus the top three questions will win a signed and dedicated book.  (UK entrants only).

Join us to celebrate a great year for a legend of the fantasy genre!  2013 is an especially exciting year for Terry as his full Dark Legacy of Shannara series will available, with the last novel in the trilogy, Witch Wraith, publishing this July.

Wards of Faerie: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book One

Wards of Faerie: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book One

Bloodfire Quest: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book Two

Bloodfire Quest: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book Two

Witch Wraith: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book Three

Witch Wraith: The Dark Legacy of Shannara, Book Three

Orbit UK Multi-Author Signing – this Friday at Forbidden Planet London!

After the success of our summer signing last year, we’re delighted to be teaming up with Forbidden Planet once again for another big signing event.

This Friday (26 October) SF authors Charles Stross and Michael Cobley, and urban fantasy authors Kate Griffin and Benedict Jacka, will all be signing copies of their latest books at Forbidden Planet in London.

The signing will take place from 6 – 7 pm at Forbidden Planet’s flagship store on Shaftesbury Avenue. We look forward to seeing you there!

     

Orbit @ New York Comic Con

Orbit is going to New York Comic Con! We’ll be in the Hachette booth, #1027, with giveaways, raffles, and several author events, so be sure to stop by if you’re in town. Here’s the schedule of events:

 Friday, October 12

1 PM: Kate Locke signing GOD SAVE THE QUEEN @ booth 1027
4 PM: Nicole Peeler signing TEMPEST’S FURY and TEMPEST RISING @ booth 1027
4 PM: Senior editor Devi Pillai will be on the panel “Publisher’s Paradise: Adult Publisher Spotlight” in Rm. 1A06

Saturday, October 13

12:15 PM: Nicole Peeler will be on the panel “Myth Mixology: How Urban Fantasists Create the Perfect Cocktail” in Rm. 1A08
1:30 PM: Creative director Lauren Panepinto will be on the panel “Ladies Who Steam: The Publishing Industry on Women in Steampunk” in Rm. 1A01

Sunday, October 14

11 AM: Michael J. Sullivan will be signing THEFT OF SWORDS @ booth 1027
4 PM: Michael J. Sullivan will be on the panel “The Brave New World of E-Book Publishing” in Rm. 1A07

We’ll also be running raffles every day of the convention, with prizes including books by Gail Carriger, Joe Abercrombie, Iain M. Banks, and Rachel Aaron. See you there!

Photos From Brent Weeks’s UK Tour!

After two weeks spent travelling around the US on his 15-date book-signing tour, Brent Weeks hopped across the pond to meet his UK fans and sign copies of his New York Times bestselling novel THE BLINDING KNIFE [UK | US | ANZ].

Brent’s UK tour took in nine cities in eight days and involved hundreds of fans who enjoyed a brilliant reading (with a shocking twist for which his editor still hasn’t forgiven him!) before chatting with Brent and getting their books signed. Brent also spent a full day at Fantasycon in Brighton, where he was a Guest of Honour and took part in a variety of panels.

We thought the tour was a huge success – thanks to everyone who attended! – and Brent clearly thought so too:

Here are some photos from Brent’s week in the UK.

We thought we ought to help Brent acclimatise to the UK, so before his tour began we invited him and his wife Kristi along to Orbit HQ in London where we drank tea while discussing the weather.

Brent’s first call of duty was a signing at Forbidden Planet’s flagship store in London, where a huge crowd turned up to meet him. Read the rest of this entry »

Iain M. Banks global launch event for The Hydrogen Sonata

Iain Banks

Orbit are excited to announce that Iain M. Banks will be participating in an international Google+ Hangout to celebrate the publication of THE HYDROGEN SONATA.  The event will take place on Thursday 27th September at 6pm BST, and Iain will be hanging out with Alastair Reynolds, Peter F. Hamilton and a few lucky fans…

For a chance to be part of this amazing panel please post your best questions in the specially created event page and make sure that you have circled +Google Play to find out if you have been successfully shortlisted.  Don’t have a Google+ account but want to take part?  It’s easy, find out here.

For those of you who miss out, never fear, the Hangout will be broadcast, so you will be able to watch the discussion in real time, and your questions may still be asked.

The Hydrogen Sonata UK cover image

And for everyone in the UK, Iain will be touring in October:

Plus, Orbit and SFX are running a competition to interview Iain M. Banks in person!  For full details pick up the current issue of SFX, and to enter submit the ten questions you would ask Iain.

 

Kim Stanley Robinson reads from 2312

“One stands on a pebble next to a star…”

In his stunning novel, 2312 [UK | US | ANZ], Kim Stanley Robinson combines detailed research with a vivid imagination to create the most incredible descriptions of our galaxy 300 years in the future.  While he was in the UK, we filmed him reading from the book at Toppings in Bath (big thank you to Jeanette Weston at Magus Studios).

Here he reads a passage depicting dawn on the planet Mercury… prepare to be entranced.

And for a chance to win a SIGNED hardback of 2312, comment below with your favourite quote from the reading!  (Terms and Conditions apply)

http://youtu.be/kRHOX8mRALE

Iain M. Banks and Kim Stanley Robinson event

Iain Banks

Orbit are SO excited to announce that we are teaming up with Forbidden Planet, in association with the British Library, to present a unique opportunity to hear two giants of SF in conversation about their work.

Saturday 9th June 2012

Doors 3pm for a 3.30pm start, followed by a signing at 5pm

Conference Centre, British Library

Tickets £7.50, concessions £5 – available here

Iain M. Banks is this year celebrating the 25th anniversary of The Culture.  Kim Stanley Robinson is visiting the UK to promote his new SF novel 2312.  Stay tuned for more tour details!

Kim Stanley Robinson

Forbidden Planet rocket logo

You are currently browsing the archives for the Signings and Events category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Orbiteers
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.