Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

I love it when our authors get creative…

I have been too busy designing covers lately, but recently Jeff Somers has been making awesome videos and you should all check them out on his blog. There’s some hilarious peeks into the writing process and general frustrations of being an author.

But here is the most recent and the giant floating covers crack me up. Enjoy!

Now Jeff, when are you getting your tattoo?


ts1Here’s a brand new Avery Cates novel from author Jeff Somers, book #4: Terminal State. I really liked the original trade paperback covers for this series that Jae Lee illustrated, but I have to say I have been really enjoying designing the mass markets in this really graphic monochrome look. The new covers for Electric Church (#1) and Digital Plague (#2) are hitting the stores in November & December, so go check them out in person. Eternal Prison (#3) releases in July and Terminal State in August.

I can’t wait to have all 4 of them lined up on my shelf. Read the rest of this entry »

Author Branding?

Vampire Heart-1Tempest Rising author Nicole Peeler wants to know: Should she get this fabulous vampire heart from her first book tattooed on her? I am sure the illustrator Sharon Tancredi agrees with me: ABSOLUTELY!

But leave room, Nicole! Sharon is designing a special heart for each book. Next you’ll have to get the fire-and-dagger heart from Tracking the Tempest! Read the rest of this entry »

Behind the Scenes: BITTEN IN TWO

IMG_0888The Art Department is deep into working on the covers for Fall/Winter 2010-2011 and has moved from deciding directions on books and choosing artists right on to the fun part: photoshoots! Today yours truly was at the studio with the crew responsible for the Jaz Parks series by Jennifer Rardin (hey, Bite Marks is out now, don’t forget).

The next book in the series is lucky number 7, tentatively titled Bitten in Two. Jaz and her motley crew of vampire hunting/demon slaying/werewolf shooting misfits are in Morocco this time, hunting for a way to evict the evil spirit locked in the back of Jaz’s skull. If you haven’t read this series, it’s all action, ass-kicking, and one hot vampire. No swooning maidens here. Read the rest of this entry »

Full Circle, Out Now

full_circle_smallThe final book in the Castings trilogy is now out! This is the conclusion to the story that began with Blood Ties and Deep Water. Pamela has written a beautiful story – one where the ghosts walk the land, where old wounds have never healed and where one woman must reach back into time. It’s a fabulous story and if you haven’t checked this series out, you should now that the compete series is in hand.

Author post

The Meaning of Life: You Read It Here First!

I recently discovered the meaning of life.

And you think I’m going to tell you?

Well okay I will.  This is the edited version of course.  I have thousands of pages of rough workings but this is the short version.  The meaning of life is this: 42. 

Yes, I appreciate that you already knew that.  As a card-carrying science fiction fan (actually, are there cards you can carry to say you’re a science fiction fan? and where do I get one?) you will have known for many years that the meaning of life, according to the great guru Douglas Adams, is 42. 

The question to the answer, however, is; why? Read the rest of this entry »

Author post

Kaiju Boogie

Tonight, I watched Godzilla 2000 on the local Spanish TV station.  Despite my last name, I don’t speak Spanish.  Turns out you’re not born knowing it, and I never really got the chance to learn.

It didn’t matter.  Godzilla speaks the universal language of butt-kicking, city-stomping action.  I’d seen the movie before, of course.  Several times.  Even if I hadn’t though it would’ve been easy to follow.

That’s something I love about Godzilla flicks.  They don’t need complicated plots to be exciting.  They just need Monster A to fight Monster B until one of them is defeated.  The why is largely unimportant.
Read the rest of this entry »

The Week That Was, As It Was

This week has already gotten off to a wild start with Jesse Bullington’s concluding post re: the history of the Grossbart Brothers, appearing coincidentally with the publication TODAY of his debut novel from Orbit (US | UK), The Sad Tale of the Brothers Grossbart — but before we get too far along, a quick rundown on what you might have missed, last week.

The first two parts of Jesse Bullington’s History of the History;

A. Lee Martinez pointing out the ugly truth about fictional protagonists;

Forthcoming covers of the mass market edition of Joe Abercrombie’s Best Served Cold and Tom Holt’s Blonde Bombshell;

And, Nicole Peeler’s blood-curdling rundown of the Shreveport Smackdown between herself and fellow Orbit author Jaye Wells. Including, photos of the chair.


“Follow our lead,” Ardanuy had told me just before we infiltrated the underground conference. “And save any accusations for the Q and A no matter what slander they sling. Better to take it on the chin than come off as amateur.”

This advice seemed at odds with the example they set, Ardanuy and Dunn both leaping from their seats with canes brandished as soon as Tanzer issued her proclamation. Before I could, as Ardanuy had instructed, follow their lead, both men were swarmed by members of the audience packing truncheons of their own. I stood, resolute in that moment to save my mentors, when something bit my hand and I dropped the pistol Dunn had given me. Staring down in horror, I saw a fat weasel dangling from my palm, blood running down the beast’s greedy throat, and when I moved to tear it away with my free hand I felt tiny, sharp claws settle on my shoulder. I froze. Read the rest of this entry »

N.K.Jemisin Announces A Contest

9780316043915_coverN.K.Jemisin, author of Orbit’s forthcoming and much-anticipated THE HUNDRED THOUSAND KINGDOMS, her debut novel, has announced that she has a couple of ARCs of her book to give away.

And while it is a contest, the rules are easy.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.