Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Posts Tagged ‘Low Elf Esteem’

LOW ELF ESTEEM is available now!

“With each new chapter in his outstanding Pax Arcana series, James ups his game in both excellent character development and world expansion. If you love wisecracks in the face of ultimate danger, then John Charming is definitely your man!”RT Book Reviews on In Shining Armor (Top Pick! 4.5 stars)

Elliott James’s Legend Has It launched last month and if you’re wondering when you’ll get your next John Charming fix, look no further: a new Pax Arcana short story is out now, LOW ELF ESTEEM.

Low Elf Esteem is the epic finale in a series of short stories in the Pax Arcana world, introducing us to John Charming. John is a descendant of a long line Charmings—an illustrious family of dragon slayers, witch finders, and killers dating back to before the fall of Rome. Trained by a modern-day version of the Knights Templar, monster hunters who have updated their methods from chain mail and crossbows to Kevlar and shotguns, John Charming was one of the best—until a curse made him one of the abominations the Knights were sworn to hunt.

  

   

“The Pax Arcana books are seriously good reads. Action, humor, and heart with unexpected twists and turns. If you are (like me) waiting for the next Butcher or Hearne — pick up Elliott James. Then you can bite your nails waiting for the next James, too.”Patricia Briggs, New York Times #1 bestselling author of the Mercy Thompson series

“Loved it! Charming is a giant gift basket of mythology and lore delivered by a brilliant new voice in urban fantasy. Elliott James tells stories that are action-packed, often amusing, and always entertaining.”Kevin Hearne, New York Times bestselling author of Hounded

“I loved this book from start to finish. Exciting and innovative, Charming is a great introduction to a world I look forward to spending a lot more time in.”Seanan McGuire, New York Times bestselling author

“James’s world is rich and complex and well worth diving into.”Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author

“In a saturated literary realm, James’s tale stands out for the gritty, believable world he builds…This is masculine urban fantasy in the vein of Jim Butcher and Mark del Franco.”Booklist

“This debut introduces a self-deprecating, wisecracking, and honorable-to-a-fault hero who can stand up to such established protagonists as Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden and Seanan McGuire’s October Daye. Combining action and romance — with an emphasis on action — this is a top-notch new series opener for lovers of urban fantasy.”Library Journal (Starred review)  

“Grab some snacks and settle back as splendid debut author James serves up a Prince Charming tale yanked sideways…James’s reluctant hero faces threats and danger with a smart-ass attitude that keeps the narrative fast-paced, edgy and amusing. Mark this name down — you will undoubtedly be seeing more from James!”RT Book Reviews

   

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.