Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Cover Launch: DREADFUL COMPANY by Vivian Shaw

DREADFUL COMPANY is the second riveting contemporary fantasy novel in the world of STRANGE PRACTICE (US | UK | AUS), featuring Dr. Greta Helsing, whose family has been keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well for generations.

If you can’t wait for the release of DREADFUL COMPANY in July 2018, here’s a sneak peek at Will Staehle’s amazing cover!

When Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, is unexpectedly called to Paris to present at a medical conference, she expects nothing more exciting than professional discourse on zombie reconstructive surgery and skin disease in bogeymen — and hopefully at least one uneventful night at the Opera.

Unfortunately for Greta, Paris happens to be infested with a coven of vampires — and not the civilized kind. If she hopes to survive, Greta must navigate the darkest corners of the City of Lights, the maze of ancient catacombs and mine-tunnels underneath the streets, where there is more to find than simply dead men’s bones.

Praise for Strange Practice:

“In Vivian Shaw’s Strange Practice, a charmingly unusual doctor and her charges keep the city of London from grave danger. In the process, they peel back the covers of familiar (and according to them, somewhat “libelous”) stories to find that reality—especially with the undead—is more poignant and complex than it seems at first glance. An excellent adventure.”
—Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon

Strange Practice is written with elegance, wit, and compassion. The prose is gorgeous, the wit is mordant, and the ideas are provocative. Also, there are ghouls.”
—Laura Amy Schlitz, Newbery Medal winner

“A satisfying and surprising read, with rich imagery, nuance, and real compassion for its characters—give Strange Practice a shot!”
—Elliott James, author of Charming

“A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead.”
—James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

“An exceptional and delightful debut, in the tradition of Good Omens and A Night in the Lonesome October.”
—Elizabeth Bear, Hugo-award winning author

“Shaw balances an agile mystery with a pitch-perfect, droll narrative and cast of lovable misfit characters. These are not your mother’s Dracula or demons … Strange Practice is a super(natural) read.”
Shelf Awareness

“An appropriately dark breath of fresh air.”
—Booklist on Strange Practice

“Readers will look forward to more of Greta’s adventures. An imaginative, delightfully droll debut.”
Kirkus

“A book to settle into. A warm quilt of a thing that’s made for curling up with … I miss this newest Helsing already.”
NPR

“This book is a joy to read, unlocking every bit of delicious promise in the premise.”
B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

Tags: , , , ,

Post a Comment

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.