2020 New Voices

Orbit publishes some of the most exciting voices in SF and Fantasy – and we’re delighted to introduce readers to new authors each year. In 2020 we’re thrilled to be publishing a class of new authors we expect you’ll be reading for years to come. Here’s our publishing schedule of 2020 debuts. We’ll be adding new titles, covers, excerpts and more as the year goes on, so bookmark this page, or follow us on Twitter for updates.

 

Available Now

THE LAST SMILE IN SUNDER CITY by Luke Arnold

On Sale: Feb 25, 2020 (US) | Feb 6, 2020 (UK)

A former soldier turned P.I. seeks atonement in the dark and seedy streets of Sunder City where magic has been lost and humans are the real monsters.

If a night on the town with characters like Locke Lamora and Harry Dresden is how you’d choose to spend your Friday, then this noir inspired fantasy by Black Sails actor Luke Arnold is the book for you. 

Private investigator for hire Fetch Phillips is a wry and flawed hero whose quick wit gets him into trouble as often as it gets him out. But Fetch will need more than wit and charm to untangle the mystery at the heart of Sunder City’s missing magic. The mean streets of Sunder City are crowded with all manner of monsters, some of them human. 

 

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

THE WOLF OF OREN-YARO by K. S. Villoso

On Sale: Feb 18, 2020 (US) | Feb 6, 2020 (UK)

Queen Talyien travels to a distant land to broker a peace with the husband whom she banished years ago. But a deadly plot strands the warrior queen in enemy territory.

Set in a rich fantasy world inspired by the author’s Filipino heritage, K.S. Villoso’s debut novel The Wolf of Oren-Yaro gives readers a tough as nails heroine to rally around. Queen Talyien is as clever as she is strong as she fights her way home in her quest to unite her divided land, even if she’s hated by the very people she’s trying to protect.

Perfect for fans of Red Sister (Mark Lawrence) and The Court of Broken Knives (Anna Smith-Spark), The Wolf of Oren-Yaro is an action-packed debut from “a powerful new voice in fantasy” (Kameron Hurley). Fans of The Witcher’s Queen Calanthe, gather round.

Art by Simon Goinard. Design by Lauren Panepinto.

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

A WITCH IN TIME by Constance Sayers

On Sale: Feb 11, 2020 (US) | Feb 11, 2020 (UK)

A young witch is cursed to relive a doomed love affair through many lifetimes in this haunting historical fantasy. 

Love is never easy, but for Juliet and Auguste, happily ever after seems all but impossible after the young lovers are struck down by a curse that will follow them into their next lives. Each time it is the same: they meet, fall in love, and die young and tragically. But something feels different this time. Juliet has never had more power at her disposal. Is this their chance at true love and freedom?

Travel from the dimly lit Parisian salons of the late 1800’s, the rock-star era of 1970s Los Angeles, to present day Washington D.C., as Juliet tries to break the curse with her growing magical powers. This historical fantasy is perfect for fans of Outlander (Diana Gabaldon) and A Secret History of Witches (Louisa Morgan.)

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

CHILLING EFFECT by Valerie Valdes

On Sale: Feb 13, 2020 (UK)

A foul-mouthed captain and her motley group of misfit adventurers travel the galaxy braving dangers from kidnappers to smuggling psychic cats in this high-octane space adventure. 

Join Captain Eva Innocente and the crew of La Sirena Negra on a joyful romp across the galaxy to raise a ransom for Eva’s kidnapped sister. On the way, they’ll face all manner of mayhem and mischief.

CHILLING EFFECT is a story about found family and strength when the odds are not in your favor. Hilarious, heartwarming, and full of explosive action, it’s the perfect gift to give to yourself or the friends who always have your back.

If you still wear your Browncoat gear with pride and were actually quite good at piloting Mass Effect‘s Mako (on your tenth play-through), you’ll want to check this one out.

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

THERE WILL COME A DARKNESS by Katy Rose Pool

On Sale: Mar 5, 2020 (UK)

The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand in its way.

The Prophets who once guided humanity are gone. Yet their final prophecy tells of a coming Age of Darkness, heralded by the birth of a new prophet who could save the world . . . or bring about its ruin.

Five souls are set to collide as the fate of the world hangs in the balance: a ruthless killer, an exiled prince, a conflicted leader, a gambler with a secret power and a girl on the verge of giving up.

One of them – or all of them – could make or break the world.

Will they be savior or destroyer?

With its memorable characters, exciting magic system and grand scope, THERE WILL COME A DARKNESS marks the debut of a major new talent in epic fantasy

Cover design by Duncan Spilling

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

WE RIDE THE STORM by Devin Madson

On Sale: Jun 30, 2020 (US) | Jun 30, 2020 (UK)

The fall of an empire is always a bloody affair, but in the chaos, three warriors will rise. A princess, a warrior, and an assassin will ride the storm or drown in its blood. 

An act of betrayal shatters the fragile alliance between a mighty empire and their strongest adversary, plunging the two countries into a devastating war. The ambitious will rise. The honorable will fall. And the fate of an empire will be decided by those strong enough to conquer it.

Bold and visceral, Devin Madson’s war epic will please everyone who was left feeling let down by season eight of Game of Thrones. Book one of the Reborn Empire will be a worthy addition to your bookshelves alongside your copies of The Emperor’s Blades (Brian Stavely) and The Wolf (Leo Carew). 

You also won’t have to wait long to get your hands on the next exciting instalment of this new series. Book Two, We Lie With Death, releases in January 2021. That’s two books in six months; you can hardly beat that.

Art by Nico Delort. Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio.

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

BONE SHARD DAUGHTER by Andrea Stewart

On Sale: Sep 8, 2020 (US) | Sep 8, 2020 (UK)

Revolutionaries fight against the Sukai Dynasty’s iron-fisted rule, while Lin, the former heir to the emperor will fight to reclaim her magic and her place on the throne to prevent chaos from engulfing her homeland. 

To reclaim her position as the heir of an empire, Lin must master the art of bone shard magic – a terrifying power wielded only by the royal family. But mastery of the art comes at a terrible price, a price her people will be forced to pay: It is their life essence that powers the mighty constructs the Emperor wields to ensure peace as the threat of revolution grows. 

The world-building and complexity of this magic system shine in this hardcover debut that readers will treasure alongside their first editions of S. A. Chakraborty’s The City of Brass, R. F. Kuang’s The Poppy War, and Brandon Sanderson’s The Way of Kings. Get in on the ground floor of a series that everyone will be talking about this fall.

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf! Read an Excerpt

Buy US

Follow the Author

Coming Soon

NOPHEK GLOSS by Essa Hansen

On Sale: Nov 17, 2020 (US)

A mysterious ship with a soul; a young man on a mission of vengeance; vivid planets in distant galaxies, Nophek Gloss is our big wide-screen space opera of the season. 

Action and adventure on a grand scale, is something this author knows exceptionally well. Based out of California, Essa Hansen is a sound engineer at Skywalker Studios and is responsible for some of the biggest movies of the decade including Avengers and Dr. Strange.

Nophek Gloss does what great science fiction ought to do: it transports readers to strange new worlds and introduces us to characters that are both inspiring and relatable. When you’re looking for the perfect complement to season two of Star Wars: The Mandalorian this fall, Nophek Gloss must be at the top of your “To Read” pile.  

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf!

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author

THE MASK OF MIRRORS by M. A. Carrick

On Sale: Jan 19, 2020 (US) | Jan 21, 2021 (UK)

It’s a dangerous con, infiltrating a noble house by posing as an estranged relative. But the rewards will be great if Renata Viraudax can live long enough to seize them.

We’re thrilled to introduce you to the Rook & Rose trilogy by M.A. Carrick, the pseudonym for authors Marie Brennan (A Natural History of Dragons) and Alyc Helms (The Dragons of Heaven). 

What began as a role-playing campaign between friends has transformed into a grand fantasy adventure that follows a daring con artist, a dashing vigilante, and an enigmatic crime lord as their lives become tangled in a city slowly being corrupted by a dark and ancient magic. If you love the intrigue of noble families, rich magic systems, and complex heroes and heroines with a dash of rogue about them, you will love this new epic trilogy by this incredible writing duo.

Add to Your Goodreads Shelf!

Buy US Buy UK

Follow the Author