Author Archive

Cover Launch: SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK by Sam Sykes

We’re delighted to unveil the stunning cover for the new novel by Sam Sykes, SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK, an unforgettable epic fantasy that introduces an outcast magician caught between two warring empires.
Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jeremy Wilson

 

Among humans, none have power like mages. And among mages, none have will like Sal the Cacophony. Once revered, now vagrant, she walks a wasteland scarred by generations of magical warfare.

 

The Scar, a land torn between powerful empires, is where rogue mages go to disappear, disgraced soldiers go to die and Sal went with a blade, a gun and a list of names she intended to use both on.

 

But vengeance is a flame swift extinguished. Betrayed by those she trusted most, her magic torn from her and awaiting execution, Sal the Cacophony has one last tale to tell before they take her head.

 

All she has left is her name, her story and the weapon she used to carved both.

 

Vengeance is its own reward.

 

Preorder Now!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Indiebound | Kobo | Google Play | iBooks | Other retailers

 

Coming Soon: THE WINTER ROAD by Adrian Selby

We’re delighted to share the cover for Adrian Selby’s forthcoming novel, THE WINTER ROAD (US | UK | ANZ). A gritty and epic adventure for fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski and Joe Abercrombie, The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.

The greatest empire of them all began with a road.

The Circle – a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr’s battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jaime Jones

Cover Launch: THE RAVEN TOWER by Ann Leckie

We couldn’t be more excited to reveal the cover of THE RAVEN TOWER. A triumph of the imagination and the first fantasy novel by Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. 

Raven Tower

Listen. A god is speaking.
My voice echoes through the stone of your master’s castle. 
This castle where he finds his uncle on his father’s throne. 
You want to help him. You cannot.
You are the only one who can hear me.
You will change the world.
 
Cover design by Lauren Panepinto
Image by Arcangel Images

Cover Launch: TIAMAT’S WRATH by James S. A. Corey

We are very excited to reveal the cover for TIAMAT’S WRATH (coming out in December 2018), the eighth novel in James S.A. Corey’s New York Times bestselling Expanse series – the third season of the television series premiers April 11th on Syfy in the US and Space in Canada.



For more work by Daniel Dociu, 
visit his website.
Design by Kirk Benshoff and Lauren Panepinto

YOU DIE WHEN YOU DIE is available now!

Angus Watson’s new action-filled fantasy adventure is out now and the wonderful early praise says it all: 

“Hugely entertaining.” – SFX

“Raw, violent, and gritty.” – Booklist

“A rip-roaring, swiftly paced adventure set in a sprawling and beautifully detailed world.” – RT Book Reviews

“I loved every second of it… More please, as soon as is humanly possible!.” – The Eloquent Page

Join this perilously bloody and darkly humorous journey now!

You can’t change your fate – so throw yourself into battle, because you’ll either win or wake up drinking mead in the halls of your ancestors. That’s what Finn’s tribe believe.

But when their settlement is massacred by a hostile tribe and Finn and several friends, companions and rivals make their escape across a brutal, unfamiliar landscape, Finn will fight harder than he’s ever fought in his life. He wants to live – even if he only lives long enough to tell Thyri Treelegs how he feels about her.

Cover Launch: FORBIDDEN SUNS by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the fantastic cover for FORBIDDEN SUNS by D. Nolan Clark, the explosive conclusion to the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of fighting against impossible odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the unforgiving vastness of space.

 

In the cold of space, the fire of revenge still burns.

Aleister Lanoe has been on a mission since before he can remember. Honing his skills as a fighter pilot and commander through three centuries of constant warfare, he has never met a foe he cannot best.

But now he faces a mission which may be his last: take vengeance on the alien race who has coldly and systematically erased all the sentient life in its path.

In all his years at war, the stakes have never been higher…

Praise for the Silence trilogy:

“No less intriguing and action-packed than its predecessor. Here, sci-fi tropes such as AI and space aliens are turned into something entirely thoughtful and original.”— RT Book Reviews on Forgotten Worlds

“Unforgettable characters and is jam-packed with action [and] adventure… one readers will not want to miss.” —Booklist on Forsaken Skies

“About as exciting an action story set in space as any this reviewer has seen in print in quite some time. It is worth the read… a terrific and thrilling novel.” —SciFi Magazine on Forsaken Skies

“Gripping writing, a brilliantly realized future culture and sympathetic characters… an entertaining and compelling read.” —SFX Magazine on Forsaken Skies

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Victor Mosquera

 

Cover Launch: INTO THE DROWNING DEEP

Gaze upon the magnificent cover for the new novel from New York Times bestselling author Mira Grant, INTO THE DROWNING DEEP, a journey into the unknown where human frailty meets the awesome power of nature and myths come to life. Look for it in November!

Seven years ago, the Atargatis set off on a voyage to the Mariana Trench to film a “mockumentary” bringing to life ancient sea creatures of legend. It was lost at sea with all hands. Some have called it a hoax; others have called it a maritime tragedy.

Now, a new crew has been assembled. But this time they’re not out to entertain. Some seek to validate their life’s work. Some seek the greatest hunt of all.  Some seek the truth. But for the ambitious young scientist Victoria Stewart this is a voyage to uncover the fate of the sister she lost.

Whatever the truth may be, it will only be found below the waves.

But the secrets of the deep come with a price.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Cover image © Arcangel Images

 

Cover Launch: THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS

Witness the spectacular cover for THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS (US | UK | AUS), the second novel in this rollicking fantasy adventure series that takes us to a world where dragons run the show. Look for it in August!

The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. 

The motley crew that stumbled through that revolution are rich and praised as saviors. 

Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? 

Right? 

Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn’t been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world…

Praise for THE DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD (US | UK | AUS):

“Ideal for fans of humorous capers and heist stories – such as Ocean’s 11, Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence series, and Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga.”—Booklist

“Hollins ladles on the humor while hardly skimping on the action, the unexpected plot swerves, or the glorious feels.”—B&N Science Fiction & Fantasy Blog

“Hollins’s seat-of-the-pants fantasy comedy snowballs wildly into a glorious disaster of fire, magic, multiple threats to people’s intestines, and fun — for the reader, if not the characters.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Crystal Sully

 

Cover Launch: FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the marvelous cover for FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark, the action-packed second novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of fighting against terrible odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the unforgiving dark of the universe.

Forgotten Worlds

Aleister Lanoe has won a stunning victory against the alien armada that threatened Niraya, but it’s not enough to satisfy his desire for vengeance. He won’t rest until he’s located the armada’s homeworld and reduced it to ashes.

Yet his personal vendetta will have to wait. Lanoe now faces a desperate race against time, and the merciless Centrocor corporation, if he’s to secure the Earth’s future – and discover the truth he seeks.

The battle is over. But the war has only just begun.

Praise for FORSAKEN SKIES (US | UK | AUS):

“Unforgettable characters and is jam-packed with action [and] adventure… one readers will not want to miss.”—Booklist

“About as exciting an action story set in space as any this reviewer has seen in print in quite some time. It is worth the read… a terrific and thrilling novel.”—SciFi Magazine

“Gripping writing, a brilliantly realized future culture and sympathetic characters . . . an entertaining and compelling read.”—SFX Magazine

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Victor Mosquera

THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST by James Islington

Behold, a new look for the online sensation that’s captivated more than 100,000 readers, a fantasy debut perfect for fans of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time. THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST (US | UK | AUS) is a classic tale of power and destiny that fantasy fans won’t want to miss:

Islington_Shadow

It has been twenty years since the god-like Augurs were overthrown and killed. Now, those who once served them – the Gifted – are spared only because they have accepted the rebellion’s Four Tenets, vastly limiting their powers.

As a Gifted, Davian suffers the consequences of a war lost before he was even born. He and others like him are despised. But when Davian discovers he wields the forbidden power of the Augurs, he sets into motion a chain of events that will change everything.

To the west, a young man whose fate is intertwined with Davian’s wakes up in the forest, covered in blood and with no memory of who he is…

And in the far north, an ancient enemy long thought defeated begins to stir.

The ebook is on sale now and the hardcover is available for preorder now, release date November 8, 2016. Begin the journey now!

Cover design by Lauren Panepinto. Illustration by Dominick Saponaro.