Acquisition Announcement: THE DAUGHTERS OF IZDIHAR by Hadeer Elsbai

Orbit UK is delighted to announce that we’ve acquired The Daughters of Izdihar by debut author Hadeer Elsbai, a powerful feminist fantasy set in an Egyptian-inspired world with breathtaking elemental magic and Sapphic romance, perfect for fans of The Jasmine Throne and The Once and Future Witches.

The Daughters of Izdihar hits shelves in January 2023, with the second book in the Alamaxa duology coming the following year!

Orbit UK assistant editor Nadia Saward acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein on behalf of DongWon Song at the Howard Morhaim Literary agency, Harper Voyager will be publishing in the US. Find out more about The Daughters of Izdihar below and make sure to follow Hadeer Elsbai on Twitter for updates: @HadeerElsbai!

Photo of the author, Hadeer Elsbai

Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water to her will, and pursue a glorious future on the battlefield with the first all-female military regiment. Her husband, indifferent and secretive, is in love with another woman, a poor bookseller named Giorgina.

Giorgina has her own secret. She is an earthweaver with dangerously uncontrollable powers. Her only solace comes from meetings with the Daughters of Izdihar, a women’s rights group fighting for freedom. They come from very different means, yet Nehal and Giorgina have more in common than they think.

Enticed by the group’s enigmatic leader Malak Mamdouh, the two women are drawn into a web of politics, violence and threats of war as they find themselves fighting to earn – and keep – a lasting freedom.

 

 

Orbit Pride Virtual Events

Join us for Orbit Pride from June 23rd-June 26th, presented with queer SFF bookstores Tubby & Coo’s and Portal Bookshop! We’ll have SIX virtual panels featuring twelve of our fantastic authors. Register for one (or all!) of our events coming later this month below!

 

Thursday, June 23, 8pm BST / 3pm EDT:
Tara Sim & M.A. Carrick 

Register here

 

Friday, June 24, 7pm BST / 2pm EDT:
Alex White & K.B. Wagers

Register here

 

Saturday, June 25, 12pm BST / 7am EDT:
Tasha Suri, Mike Brooks, & Davinia Evans

Register here

 

Saturday, June 25, 3pm BST / 10am EDT:
C.L. Clark & Francesca May

Register here

 

Sunday, June 26, 3pm BST / 10am EDT:
Everina Maxwell & Emery Robin

Register here

 

Sunday, June 26, 5pm BST / 12pm EDT:
S.T. Gibson

Register here

Acquisition Announcement: These Burning Stars by Bethany Jacobs

Bethany Jacobs
Photo: Mary Ganster

A dangerous cat-and-mouse quest for revenge. An empire that spans star systems, built on the bones of a genocide. A carefully hidden secret that could collapse worlds, hunted by three women with secrets of their own. Orbit is over the moon (and among the stars) excited to announce the acquisition of These Burning Stars, Bethany Jacobs’ twisty, explosive space opera debut! The first book in a trilogy that will grab you by the throat and invert your expectations, These Burning Stars is coming to shelves in Summer 2023.

Orbit US senior editor Priyanka Krishnan acquired World English rights from Bridget Smith at JABberwocky Literary Agency. Orbit UK commissioning editor Emily Byron has secured UK rights. Learn more about These Burning Stars below, and follow author Bethany Jacobs on Twitter for further updates: @BethanyGJacobs!

 

 Jun Ironway—hacker, con artist, and occasional thief—has gotten her hands on a piece of contraband that could set her up for life: a video that implicates the powerful Nightfoot family in a planet-wide genocide seventy-five years ago. The Nightfoots control the precious sevite that fuels interplanetary travel through three star systems. And someone is sure to pay handsomely for anything that could break their hold.

Of course, anything valuable is also dangerous. The Kindom, the ruling power of the star systems, is inextricably tied up in the Nightfoots’ monopoly—and they can’t afford to let Jun expose the truth. They task two of their most brutal clerics with hunting her down: preternaturally stoic Chono, and brilliant hothead Esek, who also happens to be the heir to the Nightfoot empire.

But Chono and Esek are haunted in turn by a figure from their shared past, known only as Six. What Six truly wants is anyone’s guess. And the closer they get to finding Jun, the surer Chono is that Six is manipulating them all—and that they are heading for a bloody confrontation that no one will survive unscathed. 

 

Bethany Jacobs is a former college instructor of writing and science fiction, who made the leap to education technology and now teaches tech heads how to write. She lives in Buffalo, New York with her wife and her dog and her books. These Burning Stars is her debut novel.

 

Acquisition Announcement: The Whisper Between Worlds by Amanda Foody

Amanda Foody
Photo: Diane Brophy Photography

Orbit US is thrilled to announce that it has just acquired New York Times bestselling author Amanda Foody’s adult fantasy debut! Warm, rich, and wonderful, this portal fantasy trilogy is for fans of TJ Klune and Alix Harrow. In The Whisper Between Worlds, a magical lighthouse stands at the edge of the worlds, guiding voyagers and maintaining the balance of the universe. But when the Lighthouse Master vanishes, his young, inexperienced assistant must find out what happens before the worlds begin to fail. Read on to find out more about this gorgeous novel, make sure to follow Amanda on Instagram @amandafoody, and get excited for Amanda’s novel to come in Summer 2024!

 

A lighthouse stands at the edge of the worlds, guiding voyagers between them and maintaining the balance of the universe. When the Lighthouse Master vanishes without warning, his duties pass to his assistant, Dillon Havelock, and though Dillon shares his mentor’s power—the greatest magic in all the realms—he utterly lacks the charisma and charm needed to navigate the tumultuous political affairs of each world. And despite Dillon’s every effort to find the Lighthouse Master, the trail has quickly gone cold.

Until disgraced socialite Cassidy Leighton is shipwrecked upon the Lighthouse’s island. She comes from a world with no knowledge of other realms or magic. To her, the Lighthouse is a romantic figment from her father’s stories, and she gave up on such whimsical, childish notions the day her father was murdered.

Except the other worlds are real. Magic is undeniably, marvelously real. And somehow, her father’s death is connected to the Lighthouse Master’s disappearance.

In an entanglement of secret societies, fantastical wanderlust, and grandiose destiny, Dillon and Cassidy must find the key Cassidy’s father died to protect… before each of the worlds begin to fall.

 

 

Cover launch: The Foxglove King by Hannah Whitten

In this lush, romantic new epic fantasy series from New York Times bestselling author Hannah Whitten, a young woman’s secret power to raise the dead plunges her into the dangerous and glamorous world of the Sainted King’s royal court.

The Foxglove King arrives next March and we are so excited to share the first look at the cover with you. Add it now on Goodreads!

The Foxglove King by Hannah Whitten

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Cover Illustration by Mike Heath

Cover launch: The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry

A young woman raised on an isolated island by a magician discovers things aren’t as they seem and must venture into early 1900s England to return magic to the world in this lush and lyrical historical fantasy.

Take a first look at the cover for The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry coming next February (US | UK)!

The Magician's Daughter by H. G. Parry

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

Cover launch: Episode Thirteen by Craig DiLouie

From the macabre mind of Bram Stoker Award nominated author Craig Dilouie, Episode Thirteen is a heart pounding novel of horror and psychological suspense that takes a ghost hunting reality TV crew into a world they could never have imagined possible.

After taking a look at this cover, consider pre-ordering Episode Thirteen before its chilling arrival next January (US)!

Episode Thirteen by Craig DiLouie

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

Cover launch: Emperor of Ruin by Django Wexler

In the final book of Django Wexler’s brilliantly imagined epic Burningblade & Silvereye trilogy, Gyre and Maya, two siblings divided by magic and revolution, must finally join forces and rally the people to take down the Twilight Order once and for all.

Emperor of Ruin will be available wherever books are sold next March (US)! After you check out the brand new cover in this series, consider picking up book one, Ashes of the Sun (US), and book two Blood of the Chosen (US).

Emperor of Ruin by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #3)

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Scott Fischer

 

Ashes of the Sun by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #1) Blood of the Chosen by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #2)

Acquisition Announcement: the Soulfire Saga by Matthew Ward

Orbit is delighted to announce the acquisition of a new epic fantasy series from Matthew Ward, author of LEGACY OF ASH and the wider Legacy Trilogy, which was described as ‘epic fantasy as it should be; big, bold and very addictive’ by Starburst magazine.

Ward’s upcoming Soulfire Saga introduces us to a brand-new world ruled by an immortal king, where souls fuel magic, and a supernatural mist known as the Veil threatens to engulf the land.

Here’s a little taste of what to expect . . .

 

These are dark times for the Kingdom of Khalad. As the magical mists of the Veil devour the land, the populace struggles beneath the rule of ruthless noble houses and their uncaring immortal king.

Kat doesn’t care about any of that. A talented thief, she’s pursuing one big score that will settle the debt that destroyed her family. No easy feat in a realm where indentured spirits hold vigil over every vault and treasure room. However, Kat has a unique gift: she can speak to those spirits, and even command them. She’ll need every advantage she can get.

Kat’s not a hero. She just wants to be free. To have her old life back. But as rebellion rekindles and the war for Khalad’s future begins, everyone – Kat included – will have to pick a side.

 

The first book in the Soulfire Saga will be published in August ‘23. Orbit UK Commissioning Editor James Long acquired World rights from John Jarrold at the John Jarrold Literary Agency. Orbit US Senior Editor Priyanka Krishnan has secured US rights.

 

Praise for Matthew Ward:

‘Hugely entertaining’ John Gwynne

‘Epic fantasy as it should be; big, bold and very addictive’ Starburst

‘Expertly wrought . . . a vigorous, bravura saga’ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

‘A brilliantly realised setting’ SFFWorld

‘Incredible action scenes’ Fantasy Hive

‘Magnificent and epic’ Grimdark magazine