Acquisition Announcement: THE WORLD GIVES WAY by Marissa Levien

We’re thrilled to announce that Orbit’s sister imprint, Redhook, has acquired Stony Brook MFA graduate Marissa Levien’s stunning literary sci-fi debut. THE WORLD GIVES WAY is an unforgettable portrait of a society in freefall, and finding humanity even at the end of it all.

The World Gives Way is set on a generation ship carrying those wealthy enough have escaped Earth—and the contract workers bound to serve them for the ship’s two-hundred-year journey. Myrra Dal was born an indentured worker on this ship, but her generation will live to see the journey’s end and the expiration of their contracts; she just has to spend the next fifty years serving the powerful Carlyles first. But when Myrra discovers the catastrophic secret the elites have been harboring, everything changes. There’s a crack in the ship’s hull, and everyone on board has two months left to live—if that. Burdened with the secret of a lifetime, and the Carlyles’ infant daughter, she runs—but someone is hot on her trail, and not even the end of the world can stop him.

Bursting with evocative world-building and beautifully drawn characters, The World Gives Way is a captivating debut, and we can’t wait to share it with you next year. In the meantime, please join us in giving Marissa a warm welcome! You can find her at @marissalevien on Twitter and Instagram.

 

Welcome to the #OrbitTavern!

Did you enjoy last week’s #OrbitTavern? What? You couldn’t make it? Well don’t worry. The #OrbitTavern will be back again this week!

Join us on Thursdays at 5PM EST on the Orbit US Instagram channel for a mixology lesson with Creative Director Lauren Panepinto. Each week, Lauren will be sitting down with a new Orbit author to talk about their latest book and suggest the perfect cocktail to accompany it.

Here is the schedule for the next few weeks. Cheers!

April 23rd: Jon Skovron, author of THE RANGER OF MARZANNA (US | UK)

April 30th: Louisa Morgan, author of THE AGE OF WITCHES (US | UK)

May 7th:  Laura Lam, author of GOLDILOCKS (US)

May 14th: Alix E. Harrow, author of
THE TEN THOUSAND DOORS OF JANUARY (US | UK)

May 21st: Rowenna Miller, author of RULE (US)

Cover Launch: THE THOUSAND DEATHS OF ARDOR BENN by Tyler Whitesides

We’re thrilled to announce that THE THOUSAND DEATHS OF ARDOR BENN (US | UK) is getting a stunning new cover – and two more books to complete the trilogy!

In the Kingdom of Grit series, master con artist Ardor Benn is hired to pull off a string of wildly complex heists, that starts with stealing a crown and escalates to saving the whole damn world. What could be easier? But he won’t manage it on his own: Ard will need the skills and quick fingers of Quarrah, who has made a name for herself as an up-and-coming thief in the city, and the brawn and brains of his longtime best friend Raek. If you like your fantasy full of elaborate quests, fast-talking thieves, plot twist upon plot twist, explosive magic, dragons, and nonstop action – starring a rogue with a heart of gold – then this is the trilogy for you.

And you’re not going to need to wait years for this epic trilogy to be completed: the fantasy saga will be entirely published before the end of this year. The new paperback edition of THE THOUSAND DEATHS OF ARDOR BENN, which features the phenomenal cover art by Ben Zweifel, will be on sale in October, followed by book two in November and book three in December.

Oct. 6th, 2020

Nov. 3rd, 2020

Dec. 1st, 2020

Liar. Thief. Legend.

Ardor Benn is no ordinary thief. Rakish, ambitious, and master of wildly complex heists, he styles himself a Ruse Artist Extraordinaire.

When he gets hired for his for the most daring ruse yet, Ardor knows he’ll need more than quick wit and sleight of hand. Assembling a dream team of forgers, disguisers, schemers, and thieves, he sets out to steal a crown from the most powerful king the realm has ever known.

But it soon becomes clear there’s much more at stake than fame and glory – Ard and his team might just be the last hope for human civilization.

Want to know more? Listen to an excerpt read by the author!

Design by Lauren Pane pinto
Illustration by Ben Zweifel

Cover Launch: MEMORIA by Kristyn Merbeth

To welcome you back to the star-studded, action-packed world of the Nova Vita system, we’re launching the incredible new cover for MEMORIA, the sequel to Kristyn Merbeth’s FORTUNA. In book two of this space opera trilogy, the Kaisers find themselves stuck on a planet on the brink of war. Once again, humanity is forced to rely on our favorite family of space smugglers to ensure that the system is not destroyed by fighting – or by the ancient alien technology that continues to threaten their peace.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

The Kaiser Family helped the Nova Vita system avoid a catastrophic multi-planet war, one that the Kaisers might have accidentally caused in the first place. In their wake, two planets have been left devastated by ancient alien technology.

Now, the Kaisers try to settle into their new lives as tenuous citizens of the serene water planet, Nibiru, but Scorpia Kaiser can never stay still. So, she takes another shady job. One that gives her a ship where spaceborn like her belong. 

But while Scorpia is always moving forward, Corvus can’t seem to leave his life as a soldier behind. Every planet in the system is vying to strip his razed home planet Titan of its remaining resources, and tensions are high. The Kaisers will need to discover the truth behind what happened on Gaia and Titan, or Corvus will be forced again to fight in an unwinnable war – and this time, all of Nova Vita is at stake.

Praise for FORTUNA:

“Kristyn Merbeth has created a desperate, gritty world in her newest book Fortuna, an epic space opera about the lengths a family will go to survive not only each other, but a world out to kill them . . . . Merbeth is a voice to watch in space opera!”  — K. B. Wagers, author of There Before the Chaos

“The narrative is powered by a cast of deeply developed characters. Scorpia, in particular, is impressively multidimensional . . . . The nonstop action and varying levels of tension make this an unarguable page-turner.”  — Kirkus

“Merbeth’s multiple narrators and plotlines converge beautifully into a suspenseful tale of family. The characters are distinct and grounded, and each interaction is filled with purpose and emotion that brings all of them, regardless of differences, into the fray together. SF fans who have been waiting for a crime family spin on space opera will find nothing but joy in this whirlwind story.”  — Publishers Weekly

“High energy, high stakes, and lots of high notes.”   — Library Journal

“Merbeth’s world building is fascinating-five human-settled planets, each distinct and littered with alien technology-but her multifaceted characters and their troubled relationships give this action-packed family drama its heart. A good readalike for Lois McMaster Bujold’s Miles Vorkosigan books, John Scalzi’s Collapsing Empire (2017), and for those who want a grittier version of Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers series.”  — Booklist

“This is an engaging start to a series that blends crime family drama with the sort of character-focused sci-fi that made Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers series an award-winning favorite.”   — B&N Reads

“It’s everything you could ask for in a space opera.”   — The Arcanist 

Cover Launch: HOW TO RULE AN EMPIRE AND GET AWAY WITH IT by K. J. Parker

Are you a “hidden gems” person or a “blockbusters” person when you’re browsing Netflix? It’s fine to be both, of course, but if you’re in a “hidden gems” mood we think you might like to check out the books of K.J. Parker. A great place to start would be SIXTEEN WAYS TO DEFEND A WALLED CITY (US | UK). However, if you already know all there is to know about defending walled cities, maybe you’d be more interested in the messy business of ruling an empire? We’re delighted to present the cover for K.J.Parker’s new novel, HOW TO RULE AN EMPIRE AND GET AWAY WITH IT (US | UK), coming in August. It’s set in the same world as SIXTEEN WAYS, but entirely stand-alone. Essential reading for anybody thinking of changing direction and getting into empire-building.

Design by Lauren Panepinto

This is the story of how the City was saved, by Notker the professional liar, written down because eventually the truth always seeps through.

The City may be under siege, but everyone still has to make a living. Take Notker, the acclaimed playwright, actor and impresario. Nobody works harder, even when he’s not working. Thankfully, it turns out that people enjoy the theater just as much when there are big rocks falling out of the sky.

But Notker is a man of many talents, and all the world is, apparently, a stage. It seems that the Empire needs him – or someone who looks a lot like him – for a role that will call for the performance of a lifetime. At least it will guarantee fame, fortune and immortality. If it doesn’t kill him first.

Praise for SIXTEEN WAYS TO DEFEND A WALLED CITY:

“Full of invention and ingenuity . . . Great fun.” — SFX

“Launches a witty adventure series . . . Readers will appreciate the infusion of humor and fun-loving characters into this vivid and sometimes grim fantasy world.” — Publishers Weekly

“As with most of Parker’s work, there is a mel¬ancholy undercurrent that gives the humor weight. As heroes go, Orhan is a reluctant and flawed one . . . . [but] when Orhan works the problem, we can’t help but watch.” — Locus

Alastair Reynolds Backlist Acquisition Announcement

Orbit US is proud to be publishing several titles from space opera master Alastair Reynolds’ prolific backlist, including the legendary Inhibitor Trilogy and several more novels and collections in Reynolds’ most popular universes. Whether you’re venturing out on the starships of Revelation Space or the satellite utopia of the Glitter Band, you can get your hands on the titles below in e-book in April. The print books will be rolling out this summer starting with the Inhibitor Trilogy in June.

The Inhibitor Trilogy

Revelation Space

Redemption Ark

Absolution Gap

Chasm City

Century Rain

Pushing Ice

House of Suns

The Prefect Dreyfus Emergencies

Aurora Rising (previously published as The Prefect)

Short Story Collections

Diamond Dogs, Turquoise Days

Galactic North

Cover Launch: KING OF THE RISING by Kacen Callender

Did you get swept away last year by QUEEN OF THE CONQUERED, Kacen Callender’s captivating tale of colonialism, conquest and revenge? Then you’re in for a treat!

We’re excited to reveal the cover of KING OF THE RISING, the searing conclusion to the Islands of Blood and Storm series.

Designed by Lisa Marie Pompilio

A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik has been chosen to lead the survivors in a bid to free the islands forever.

But the rebels are running out of food, weapons and options. And as the Fjern inch closer to reclaiming Hans Lollik with every battle, Loren is faced with a choice that could shift the course of the revolution in their favor-or doom it to failure.

Praise for Queen of the Conquered:

“A brilliant analysis of power and privilege set against an alternately beautiful and brutal background….A book that will stick with you long after the last page.” –Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author

Queen of the Conquered represents the scope and spectacle of the fantasy genre with a vengeance.” –NPR Books

“A heart-stopping masterpiece.”Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand

“A fascinating exploration of how power corrupts and drives a person toward self-betrayal.” –Kirkus (starred review)

“Callender’s first adult novel draws race relations, conquest, magic, and politics into an imaginative, layered story that will keep readers twisting until the end.” –Library Journal (starred review)

KING OF THE RISING publishes in December 2020 and is available for preorder, but in the meantime, go say hi to Kacen at their website and on Twitter at @kacencallender

 

 

Cover Launch: DEAD LIES DREAMING by Charles Stross

A new adventure begins in the world of the Laundry Files . . . 

DEAD LIES DREAMING (UK|ANZ), a brand new novel from Hugo Award-winning author Charles Stross, is out in October 2020. But if you can’t wait that long take a look at the spectacular – or perhaps tentacular – cover design below and read on for a taste of what’s in store.

The cover for Dead Lies Dreaming

In a world where magic has gone mainstream, a policewoman and a group of petty criminals are pulled into a heist to find a forbidden book of spells that should never have been opened. 

Praise for the Laundry Files:

‘Brilliantly disturbing and funny at the same time’ Ben Aaronovitch

‘Stross at the top of his game – which is to say, few do it better’ Kirkus

‘Alternately chilling and hilarious’ Publishers Weekly

‘Ferociously enjoyable’ SFX

Cover design by Crush Creative.

Cover Launch: NOPHEK GLOSS

Who likes spaceships? We do! Orbit is absolutely thrilled to be bringing you the space opera debut, Nophek Gloss in November 2020 in the US and UK. This is a book with fast-paced action and tech that will blow your mind. Think ships that generate their own universes, cyborgs that can change their form with a thought, and space stations the size of stars. And of course, we needed a cover that looked just as slick and sleek as the book.

Check out this gorgeous spaceship! With art by Mike Heath and design by Lauren Panepinto, how can you resist? Pre-order Nophek Gloss, the first book in The Graven trilogy here! And make sure to say hello to the author on twitter @EssaHansen

When a young man’s planet is destroyed, he sets out on a single-minded quest for revenge across the galaxy in Nophek Gloss, the first book in this epic space opera trilogy by debut author Essa Hansen, for fans of Revenger and Velocity Weapon. 

Caiden’s planet is destroyed. His family gone. And, his only hope for survival is a crew of misfit aliens and a mysterious ship that seems to have a soul and a universe of its own. Together they will show him that the universe is much bigger, much more advanced, and much more mysterious than Caiden had ever imagined. But the universe hides dangers as well, and soon Caiden has his own plans.

He vows to do anything it takes to get revenge on the slavers who murdered his people and took away his home. To destroy their regime, he must infiltrate and dismantle them from the inside, or die trying.

Nophek Gloss will soon be available for pre-order in the UK, but US readers can pre-order it right away.

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieboundBooks-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Kobo

Cover Launch: PEACE TALKS by Jim Butcher

HARRY DRESDEN IS BACK AND READY FOR ACTION!

Dresden Files fans rejoice! The thrilling sixteenth instalment in Jim Butcher’s no. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series is on its way!

PEACE TALKS (UK | ANZ) is out in July 2020 and available to preorder now.

the book cover for Peace TalksWhen the supernatural nations of the world meet up to negotiate an end to ongoing hostilities, Harry Dresden, Chicago’s only professional wizard, joins the White Council’s security team to make sure the talks stay civil. But can he succeed, when dark political manipulations threaten the very existence of Chicago — and all he holds dear?

Praise for the Dresden Files:

‘The Dresden Files is my favourite series ever’ Patrick Rothfuss, author of The Name of the Wind

‘Butcher’s storytelling is satisfying on a level that’s bone-deep’ io9

‘Harry Dresden has a vitality that few urban fantasy heroes can match’ SFX

‘The Dresden Files are addictive page-turners’ SciFiNow