Acquisition Announcement: SOULLESS ILLUSTRATED EDITION

Gentle readers, we are exceptionally proud to announce our acquisition of a new illustrated edition of a marvelous little novel that you just may have heard of: SOULLESS. Yes, our favorite, soulless spinster Ms. Alexia Tarabotti is getting her very own, special illustrated hardcover edition! With 10 delightfully ladylike compositions from the very talented Jensine Eckwall, the illustrated edition of SOULLESS will be releasing on September 18, 2018.

Please partake of this sneak peek of the interior art and get excited for the upcoming release!

Soulless by Gail Carriger, chapter 1 

2018 Locus Awards Nominations

The 2018 Locus Awards nominations are in and we’re excited to announce seven Orbit books made the list!

Science Fiction

PERSEPOLIS RISING cover Paperback cover of Kim Stanley Robinson's NEW YORK 2140

PERSEPOLIS RISING by James S. A. Corey [US | UK | ANZ]

PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie [US | UK | ANZ]

NEW YORK 2140 [US | UK | ANZ]

Fantasy

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin [US | UK | ANZ]

JADE CITY by Fonda Lee [US | UK | ANZ]

THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross [UK | ANZ]

First Novel

AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz [UK | ANZ]

Orbit is also among the top ten publishers nominated in the best publisher category! Check out the full list of nominees here. Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 22-24, 2018. Congratulations to all of the nominees.

2018 Gemmell Award Nominations

We’re happy to announce that five Orbit titles are nominated for the 2018 Gemmell Awards!

Vote for your favorites now.

Voting closes June 1st. The winners will be announced July 14th. Congratulations to all the nominees.

Legend Award (Best Fantasy Novel of 2017)

THE FALL OF DRAGONS by Miles Cameron [US | ANZ]

 

Morningstar Award (Best Fantasy Debut of 2017)

KINGS OF THE WYLD by Nicholas Eames [US | UK | ANZ]

THE TETHERED MAGE by Melissa Caruso [US | UK | ANZ]

AGE OF ASSASSINS by RJ Barker [US | UK | ANZ]

THE COURT OF BROKEN KNIVES by Anna Smith Spark [US]

 

Ravenheart Award (Best Fantasy Book Cover Art of 2017)

KINGS OF THE WYLD by Nicholas Eames [US | UK | ANZ]

Cover Launch: ROSEWATER by Tade Thompson

As revealed last week by SciFiNow, here’s the stunning cover for Tade Thompson’s ROSEWATER (design by Charlotte Stroomer)!

Winner of the inaugural Nommo Award for Best Novel – Africa’s first award for speculative fiction
John W. Campbell Award finalist for Best Science Fiction Novel

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless – people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumoured healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again – but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realisation about a horrifying future.

We publish ROSEWATER in September.

Follow Tade on Twitter – @tadethompson 

Cover Launch: THE RAVEN TOWER by Ann Leckie

We couldn’t be more excited to reveal the cover of THE RAVEN TOWER. A triumph of the imagination and the first fantasy novel by Ann Leckie, New York Times bestselling author and winner of the Hugo, Nebula, and Arthur C. Clarke Awards. 

Raven Tower

Listen. A god is speaking.
My voice echoes through the stone of your master’s castle. 
This castle where he finds his uncle on his father’s throne. 
You want to help him. You cannot.
You are the only one who can hear me.
You will change the world.
 
Cover design by Lauren Panepinto
Image by Arcangel Images

Cover Launch: EMPIRE OF SAND by Tasha Suri

EMPIRE OF SAND is Tasha Suri’s captivating, Mughal India-inspired debut fantasy about a young woman whose magic might uphold—or destroy—an empire. Perfect for fans of City of Brass, Red Queen, and The Wrath & the Dawn, EMPIRE OF SAND will transport you to a land of dark myths and bloody magic, where the fate of the world hangs on one woman’s choices.

Can’t wait until it’s published in November 2018? As announced on Book Riot, here’s an early preview of the gorgeous cover, designed by Lauren Panepinto, to whet your appetite!

A nobleman’s daughter with magic in her blood. An empire built on the dreams of enslaved gods.

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda — and should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Cover Launch: THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD by Rena Rossner

Captivating and boldly imaginative, with a tale of sisterhood at its heart, Rena Rossner’s debut fantasy THE SISTERS OF THE WINTER WOOD (US | UK | ANZ)  invites you to enter a world filled with magic, folklore, and the dangers of the woods. It’s perfect for fans of The Bear and the Nightingale and Uprooted and is out in September 2018.

We’re delighted to reveal the cover with art by Rebecca Yanovskaya and designed by Lauren Panepinto.

The Sisters of the Winter Wood

Every family has a secret. Behind every secret, there is a story.

Raised in a remote village surrounded by vast forests on the border of Moldova and Ukraine, sisters Liba and Laya live a peaceful, sheltered life.

But when a troupe of mysterious men arrives, Laya falls under their spell—despite their mother’s warning to be wary of strangers. And this is not the only danger lurking in the woods….

As dark forces close in on their small village, Liba and Laya discover a family secret passed down through generations. Faced with a magical heritage they never knew existed, the sisters realize the old fairy tales are true…and could save them all. 

Rena Rossner lives in Israel where she works as a literary agent. She is a graduate of the Johns Hopkins University’s Writing Seminars program and McGill University where she studied history. All eight of her great-grandparents immigrated to America to escape the pogroms from towns like Dubossary, Kupel, Riga and Bender. It is their story, together with her love of Jewish mythology and fantasy that inspired her to write The Sisters of the Winter Wood.

Early praise for The Sisters of the Winter Wood:

“Mixes fairy tale, poetry, history, and heart to create an enchanting and mesmerizing tale of sisterly love. I adored this book!” — Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queens of Renthia series

“A graceful, poetic, deeply moving novel. Its characters are fantastical and yet essentially human, bound by ambition and desire, fear and prejudice, but above all, love in all its forms. Simply gorgeous book in every sense.”– Louisa Morgan, author of A Secret History of Witches

“This dark fairy tale about sisterly love and Jewish strength and courage, set against the backdrop of a deep and deadly winter forest, will haunt me for a long time. A powerful, emotional debut.” — Julie C. Dao, author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns

“Rossner weaves an elegant tapestry of the love between sisters, the value of faith and family, and knowing one’s true friends in times of peril.” — J. Kathleen Cheney, author of The Golden City

Cover Launch: TIAMAT’S WRATH by James S. A. Corey

We are very excited to reveal the cover for TIAMAT’S WRATH (coming out in December 2018), the eighth novel in James S.A. Corey’s New York Times bestselling Expanse series – the third season of the television series premiers April 11th on Syfy in the US and Space in Canada.



For more work by Daniel Dociu, 
visit his website.
Design by Kirk Benshoff and Lauren Panepinto

Cover Reveal: THE EMPIRE OF ASHES by Anthony Ryan

Powerful magic.

Epic adventure.

A desperate battle to defeat an ancient evil.

We’re thrilled to unveil the cover for THE EMPIRE OF ASHES [UK/ANZ] – the fiery conclusion to Anthony Ryan’s Draconis Memoria series – with art by Jeff Read and design by our very own Nico Taylor.

We publish in July, so there’s still time for you to dive into this stunning series of exploration and warfare, explosive magic, spies and assassins – and an ancient power which seeks to reduce the world to ashes. The adventure begins with THE WAKING FIRE [UK/ANZ] and continues with THE LEGION OF FLAME [UK/ANZ]. THE EMPIRE OF ASHES will publish in hardback, trade format, audio and ebook on 5th July.

Here’s what people have been saying about Draconis Memoria:

‘Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic’ Huffington Post UK

‘The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise’ SciFiNow

‘A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot’ Fantasy Faction

‘A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building’ Mark Lawrence

‘Memorable characters and great action’ Django Wexler

‘Excellent epic fantasy’ BookBag

Find Anthony Ryan online at his website or on Twitter.