Cover launch: The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry

A young woman raised on an isolated island by a magician discovers things aren’t as they seem and must venture into early 1900s England to return magic to the world in this lush and lyrical historical fantasy.

Take a first look at the cover for The Magician’s Daughter by H. G. Parry coming next February (US | UK)!

The Magician's Daughter by H. G. Parry

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

Cover launch: Episode Thirteen by Craig DiLouie

From the macabre mind of Bram Stoker Award nominated author Craig Dilouie, Episode Thirteen is a heart pounding novel of horror and psychological suspense that takes a ghost hunting reality TV crew into a world they could never have imagined possible.

After taking a look at this cover, consider pre-ordering Episode Thirteen before its chilling arrival next January (US)!

Episode Thirteen by Craig DiLouie

Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

Cover launch: Emperor of Ruin by Django Wexler

In the final book of Django Wexler’s brilliantly imagined epic Burningblade & Silvereye trilogy, Gyre and Maya, two siblings divided by magic and revolution, must finally join forces and rally the people to take down the Twilight Order once and for all.

Emperor of Ruin will be available wherever books are sold next March (US)! After you check out the brand new cover in this series, consider picking up book one, Ashes of the Sun (US), and book two Blood of the Chosen (US).

Emperor of Ruin by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #3)

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Scott Fischer

 

Ashes of the Sun by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #1) Blood of the Chosen by Django Wexler (Burningblade & Silvereye #2)

Acquisition Announcement: the Soulfire Saga by Matthew Ward

Orbit is delighted to announce the acquisition of a new epic fantasy series from Matthew Ward, author of LEGACY OF ASH and the wider Legacy Trilogy, which was described as ‘epic fantasy as it should be; big, bold and very addictive’ by Starburst magazine.

Ward’s upcoming Soulfire Saga introduces us to a brand-new world ruled by an immortal king, where souls fuel magic, and a supernatural mist known as the Veil threatens to engulf the land.

Here’s a little taste of what to expect . . .

 

These are dark times for the Kingdom of Khalad. As the magical mists of the Veil devour the land, the populace struggles beneath the rule of ruthless noble houses and their uncaring immortal king.

Kat doesn’t care about any of that. A talented thief, she’s pursuing one big score that will settle the debt that destroyed her family. No easy feat in a realm where indentured spirits hold vigil over every vault and treasure room. However, Kat has a unique gift: she can speak to those spirits, and even command them. She’ll need every advantage she can get.

Kat’s not a hero. She just wants to be free. To have her old life back. But as rebellion rekindles and the war for Khalad’s future begins, everyone – Kat included – will have to pick a side.

 

The first book in the Soulfire Saga will be published in August ‘23. Orbit UK Commissioning Editor James Long acquired World rights from John Jarrold at the John Jarrold Literary Agency. Orbit US Senior Editor Priyanka Krishnan has secured US rights.

 

Praise for Matthew Ward:

‘Hugely entertaining’ John Gwynne

‘Epic fantasy as it should be; big, bold and very addictive’ Starburst

‘Expertly wrought . . . a vigorous, bravura saga’ Publishers Weekly (starred review)

‘A brilliantly realised setting’ SFFWorld

‘Incredible action scenes’ Fantasy Hive

‘Magnificent and epic’ Grimdark magazine

 

Cover launch: The Ivory Tomb by Melissa Caruso

By blood the Door was opened and only by blood will the Dark Days end. 

Melissa Caruso’s wildly original fantasy series, Rooks and Ruin, comes to an epic conclusion in The Ivory Tomb, out this December (US | UK link to come)! Check out its sleek cover below, and pick up book one, The Obsidian Tower (US | UK), and book two, The Quicksilver Court (US | UK) if you haven’t already.

Cover design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Cover Illustration by Peter Bollinger

 

The Witcher series is getting a stunning new look!

Witcher fans, we have exciting news! Introducing the stunning new look for the US trade paperback editions of The Witcher series, coming to stores July 5th!

Design by Lauren Panepinto; Wolf symbol courtesy of Netflix; other symbols by Magnus Creative

Andrzej Sapkowski’s New York Times bestselling fantasy series has inspired the hit Netflix show and multiple blockbuster video games, and has transported millions of readers to an epic, unforgettable world of magic and adventure. Now, The Witcher will be available in a sleek new design, complete with gorgeous matching spines.

The books are available for pre-order now, so claim yours today: The Last WishSword of DestinyBlood of ElvesThe Time of ContemptBaptism of FireThe Tower of SwallowsThe Lady of the LakeSeason of Storms. And for those wondering about the existing trade paperback editions—they will be discontinued but may be available from some retailers while stock lasts.

Cover launch: The Stars Undying by Emery Robin

We’re thrilled to reveal the stunning cover for The Stars Undying by Emery Robin, a spectacular space opera debut perfect for readers of Ann Leckie’s Ancillary Justice and Arkady Martine’s A Memory Called Empire, inspired by the lives and loves of Cleopatra and Julius Caesar. Coming November 2022. Pre-order your copy now: US | UK link to come.

Design by Lauren Panepinto; Illustration by Marc Simonetti

 

Princess Altagracia has lost everything. After a bloody civil war, her twin sister has claimed not just the crown of their planet Szayet but the Pearl of its prophecy, a computer that contains the immortal soul of Szayet’s god. Stripped of her birthright, Gracia flees the planet—just as Matheus Ceirran, Commander of the interstellar Empire of Ceiao, arrives in deadly pursuit with his volatile lieutenant, Anita. When Gracia and Ceirran’s paths collide, Gracia sees an opportunity to win back her planet, her god, and her throne…if she can win the Commander and his right-hand officer over first.

But talking her way into Ceirran’s good graces, and his bed, is only the beginning. Dealing with the most powerful man in the galaxy is almost as dangerous as war, and Gracia is quickly torn between an alliance that fast becomes more than political and the wishes of the god—or machine—that whispers in her ear. For Szayet’s sake, and her own, Gracia will need to become more than a princess with a silver tongue. She will have to become a queen as history has never seen before—even if it breaks an empire.

ICYMI Cover launch: Notorious Sorcerer

Check out the gorgeous cover for Notorious Sorcerer by Davinia Evans, as launched last week by Fantasy Cafe! In a city filled with dangerous yet heavily regulated alchemical magic, a man from the slums discovers he may be its only hope to survive certain destruction in this wickedly entertaining fantasy debut—out this September. Pre-order your copy today (US | UK) and head over to Fantasy Cafe to read a guest post by the author on the inspirations behind her debut.

Cover Silhouette Illustration by Andrew Broyzna; Cover Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio

 

Ever since the city of Bezim was shaken half into the sea by a magical earthquake, the Inquisitors have policed alchemy with brutal efficiency. Nothing too powerful, too complicated, too much like real magic is allowed–and the careful science that’s left is kept too expensive for any but the rich and indolent to tinker with. Siyon Velo, a glorified errand boy scraping together lesson money from a little inter-planar fetch and carry, doesn’t qualify.

But when Siyon accidentally commits a public act of impossible magic, he’s catapulted into the limelight. Except the limelight is a bad place to be when the planes themselves start lurching out of alignment, threatening to send the rest of the city into the sea.

Now Siyon, a dockside brat who clawed his way up and proved himself on rooftops with saber in hand, might be Bezim’s only hope. Because if they don’t fix the cascading failures of magic in their plane, the Powers and their armies in the other three will do it for them.

Acquisition announcement: Warmongers by C. L. Clark

Orbit is excited to announce that we’ve acquired a standalone fantasy novel from C. L. Clark, the author of Nebula-award finalist and breakout success, The Unbroken! If you love heart-stopping battles for the souls of nations, complicated queer romances, and bold, brilliant examinations of war, warriors, loyalty and vengeance, then Warmongers is for you.

In this heart-wrenching epic fantasy set in a kingdom in a cycle of eternal war, two women—once lovers and warriors at arms—are set on a collision course when years after their separation, one is crowned king and the other vows to kill her.

You can follow the author on Twitter @C_L_Clark . And, if you just can’t wait to get your hands on C. L. Clark’s work, make sure to check out The Unbroken (US | UK) and get ready for the sequel The Faithless.

Acquisition announcement: The Combat Codes

We are ecstatic to announce that we’ve acquired debut author Alexander Darwin’s action-packed, science fiction trilogy, The Combat Codes. The first book in the trilogy, The Combat Codes, is set in a world where the fate of nations is determined by battle-hardened warriors who are trained to represent their nations’ interests in brutal hand-to-hand single combat.

 

Murray Pearson was once a famed warrior until he suffered a loss that crippled his nation — but now he’s on the hunt to find and train the next champion.

In underground and ruthless combat rings, an orphaned boy called Cego is making a name for himself. Murray believes Cego has what it takes to make it in the world’s most prestigious combat academy – but Cego must fight his way out of the underground first.

If you’re a fan of martial arts, school stories, redemption arcs, and incredibly immersive science fiction, we can promise that you’re going to find a lot to love in The Combat Codes.

 

Here are a few words from Alexander about what inspired him to write his debut trilogy:

I’ve practiced and taught martial arts for most of my life, and I’ve also always been a massive sci-fi / fantasy fan; I wrote the Combat Codes to blend these two passions. At its heart though, the Combat Codes is the story of finding one’s light and path in a world that can be bleak and brutal, the clash of new and old cultures, and how friends are a necessity even when standing alone in the ring. 

The Combat Codes certainly is centered around fighting, but not just the action itself. I wanted to create a world where the society and politics are organized around single combat, and the fighters are constantly caught between duty and honor. I’m so excited to get this story and its cast of characters out to readers around the world!

 

Look out for The Combat Codes in 2023. In the meantime, please join us in welcoming Alexander! You can find him on Twitter or Instagram as @combatcodes.

Alexander Darwin is a second generation Vietnamese-Jewish-American author living in Boston with his wife and three daughters. Outside of writing, he teaches and trains martial arts (Brazilian Jiu Jitsu). He’s inspired by old-school Hong Kong action flicks, jRPGs, underdog stories and bibimbap bowls.

Assistant editor Hillary Sames acquired while at Orbit US, with Orbit US senior editor Bradley Englert editing, World English rights from Ed Wilson at Johnson and Alcock Literary Agency. Editorial Director Jenni Hill at Orbit UK has secured UK rights.