Cover Launch: SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK by Sam Sykes

We’re delighted to unveil the stunning cover for the new novel by Sam Sykes, SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK, an unforgettable epic fantasy that introduces an outcast magician caught between two warring empires.
Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jeremy Wilson

 

Among humans, none have power like mages. And among mages, none have will like Sal the Cacophony. Once revered, now vagrant, she walks a wasteland scarred by generations of magical warfare.

 

The Scar, a land torn between powerful empires, is where rogue mages go to disappear, disgraced soldiers go to die and Sal went with a blade, a gun and a list of names she intended to use both on.

 

But vengeance is a flame swift extinguished. Betrayed by those she trusted most, her magic torn from her and awaiting execution, Sal the Cacophony has one last tale to tell before they take her head.

 

All she has left is her name, her story and the weapon she used to carved both.

 

Vengeance is its own reward.

 

Preorder Now!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Indiebound | Kobo | Google Play | iBooks | Other retailers

 

Lambda Award for Annalee and Audie Award for Ann!

Last night Orbit UK author Annalee Newitz won a Lambda Award for LGBTQ science fiction and fantasy, with her debut novel AUTONOMOUS (UK|ANZ).

AUTONOMOUS has also been shortlisted for the Nebula and Locus Awards this year. Huge congratulations to Annalee (and happy Pride month all)!

It’s a good time for awards as Ann Leckie and reader Adjoa Andoh also won an Audie Award for PROVENANCE (UK|ANZ|US) last weekend, for best science fiction audiobook! The awards were presented at the 23rd Annual Audies Gala at the New York Historical Society, where the Orbit team and Ann herself were in attendance. N. K. Jemisin also presented several awards on the night, too!

Listen to a sample of PROVENANCE here.

Coming Soon: THE WINTER ROAD by Adrian Selby

We’re delighted to share the cover for Adrian Selby’s forthcoming novel, THE WINTER ROAD (US | UK | ANZ). A gritty and epic adventure for fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski and Joe Abercrombie, The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.

The greatest empire of them all began with a road.

The Circle – a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr’s battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jaime Jones

THE STONE SKY wins the 2017 Nebula Award for Best Novel

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced the winners of the 2017 Nebula Awards this past weekend and we are thrilled to announce that N. K. Jemisin won the Nebula Award for Best Novel for THE STONE SKY (US | UK | ANZ)! This was Jemisin’s sixth nomination for the award and her first win.

There was a strong lineup of nominees for the Best Novel award this year, including Orbit’s own JADE CITY by Fonda Lee (US | UK | ANZ), SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (US), and AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz (UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the nominees and to N. K. Jemisin for her win!

Cover Launch: the Spellslinger series by Sebastien de Castell

We can’t wait for you to read Sebastien de Castell’s witty adventure fantasy series! Kicking off in July, feast your eyes on the fantastic covers for Spellslinger, Shadowblack, Charmcaster, and Soulbinder, all designed by Lauren Panepinto.

Kellen is moments away from facing his first duel and proving his worth as a spellcaster. There’s just one problem: his magic is fading.

Facing exile unless he can pass the mage trials, Kellen is willing to risk everything – even his own life – in search of a way to restore his magic. But when the enigmatic Ferius Parfax arrives in town, she challenges him to take a different path. Daring, unpredictable, and wielding magic Kellen has never seen before, she may be his only hope.

Four books in one year! How lucky are Orbit readers. It gets even better. The final two books in the series are due out in 2019.

Praise for Spellslinger:

“Told with the conviction of Ursula Le Guin and the dash of Alexandre Dumas” —New Statesman (UK)

“A bucket-load of tension is offset with humour, power struggles, lots of magic and some great characters. Fantasy junkies will devour with relish.” —Guardian (UK)

Spellslinger is the start of something truly special. Sebastien de Castell is a master of breakneck pacing, dagger-sharp dialogue, and twists you didn’t see coming–and this series has it all.” —Nichols Eames, author of Kings of the Wyld

“This book is dangerously addictive. It has it all: compelling world-building, breathtaking plot-twists, a page-turning pace, and characters who soon feel like old friends. I can’t wait for the next one!”  —Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage

“Exotic, original and gripping from the get-go, Spellslinger is a must-read” —Jonathan Stroud, author of the Lockwood and Co series

“A tremendously fun read full of wit and action.” —James Islington, author of The Shadow of What Was Lost

“Written with such obvious joy and brio that it demands to be read.” —RJ Barker, author of Age of Assassins

“Hugely enjoyable… fast-paced, compassionate, wise and with terrific characters.” —Amanda Craig, author of Hearts and Minds

“We can confidently say that de Castell’s new series has hit the ground running.” —Starburst Magazine

“There’s room for wit and playfulness amid the high-stakes duels and death matches, and Kellen’s career is likely to run and run.” —The Observer (UK)

“It has cliff hangers, pace, humour, life lessons, and a memorably feisty squirrel cat.”—Sunday Times (UK)

 

Cover Reveal: BURNING ASHES by James Bennett

Rascal. Rogue. Antihero. 

Dragon. 

Cover design by Tracey Winwood

Beware – here be dragons! That’s right, Red Ben Garston – the world’s last living dragon – is back in James Bennett’s flame-tastic new novel BURNING ASHES. Once again, Ben finds himself in a whole load of trouble (the magical kind, of course) – and this time there’s not enough whisky left in England to wash away his problems. Because the war to end all wars is coming – and Ben is right in its path . . .

If you’ve not yet joined Red Ben on his adventures (really, what is wrong with you?) then never fear: we don’t publish BURNING ASHES until December, so you’ve got plenty of time to catch up! James Bennett’s action-packed books, where myth comes crashing into the modern world, are perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne and Benedict Jacka.

But don’t take our word for it – here’s what others have been saying about the Ben Garston novels!

‘A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity’ Kevin Hearne

‘Absolutely loving it. Gorgeous use of language, great humour, characterisation and storyline’ Elizabeth Chadwick

‘A superior piece of magical myth-making’ SFFWorld

‘Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett’s attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting’ SciFiNow

‘Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!’ The Eloquent Page

Connect with James Bennett on Twitter: @benjurigan

 

Acquisition Announcement: SOULLESS ILLUSTRATED EDITION

Gentle readers, we are exceptionally proud to announce our acquisition of a new illustrated edition of a marvelous little novel that you just may have heard of: SOULLESS. Yes, our favorite, soulless spinster Ms. Alexia Tarabotti is getting her very own, special illustrated hardcover edition! With 10 delightfully ladylike compositions from the very talented Jensine Eckwall, the illustrated edition of SOULLESS will be releasing on September 18, 2018.

Please partake of this sneak peek of the interior art and get excited for the upcoming release!

Soulless by Gail Carriger, chapter 1 

2018 Locus Awards Nominations

The 2018 Locus Awards nominations are in and we’re excited to announce seven Orbit books made the list!

Science Fiction

PERSEPOLIS RISING cover Paperback cover of Kim Stanley Robinson's NEW YORK 2140

PERSEPOLIS RISING by James S. A. Corey [US | UK | ANZ]

PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie [US | UK | ANZ]

NEW YORK 2140 [US | UK | ANZ]

Fantasy

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin [US | UK | ANZ]

JADE CITY by Fonda Lee [US | UK | ANZ]

THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross [UK | ANZ]

First Novel

AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz [UK | ANZ]

Orbit is also among the top ten publishers nominated in the best publisher category! Check out the full list of nominees here. Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 22-24, 2018. Congratulations to all of the nominees.