Archive for Orbit UK

THE STONE SKY wins the 2018 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

The winners of the 2018 Locus Awards were announced this weekend and we’re happy to announce that THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin [US | UK | ANZ] won for Best Fantasy Novel!

There was a strong lineup of nominees for the Best Fantasy award this year, including Orbit’s own JADE CITY by Fonda Lee [US | UK | ANZ], and THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross [UK | ANZ]. Orbit was also represented in other categories: PERSEPOLIS RISING by James S. A. Corey [US | UK | ANZ], PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie [US | UK | ANZ], and NEW YORK 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson [US | UK | ANZ] were nominated for Best Science Fiction, and AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz [UK | ANZ] was nominated for Best First Novel.

You can find the full list of nominees and winners here.

Congratulations to all the nominees and to N. K. Jemisin for her win!

New Acquisition: THE GUTTER PRAYER by Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan

The Gutter Prayer

It’s time to start getting excited, because Orbit has acquired a gripping new epic fantasy from debut author Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan.

THE GUTTER PRAYER is a visceral tale of revenge and betrayal, set in a world of dark gods and dangerous magic.

It follows the story of three friends, who find themselves betrayed by the thieves’ brotherhood – set up to take the fall for a crime they didn’t commit. Their quest for revenge finds them at the heart of a conspiracy to reignite a centuries-old magical war. A war that would bring devastation to their city. And the world beyond.

Buzz is already building for this wildly original debut with some fantastic early reviews:

‘A ground breaking and extraordinary novel . . . Ryder-Hanrahan has an astonishing imagination’
Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

‘Beautifully written. Gripping. Guerdon is the city of my dreams’
Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives

‘Laced with the blackest of humour and packed with magic and mayhem, this is fantasy turned up to 11’
Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

THE GUTTER PRAYER will hit shelves in January 2019, with the second book in the series following a year later. We’re thrilled to welcome Gareth to the Orbit family! Say hello to him on twitter @Mytholder.

Author photo by Edel Ryder-Hanrahan.

Lambda Award for Annalee and Audie Award for Ann!

Last night Orbit UK author Annalee Newitz won a Lambda Award for LGBTQ science fiction and fantasy, with her debut novel AUTONOMOUS (UK|ANZ).

AUTONOMOUS has also been shortlisted for the Nebula and Locus Awards this year. Huge congratulations to Annalee (and happy Pride month all)!

It’s a good time for awards as Ann Leckie and reader Adjoa Andoh also won an Audie Award for PROVENANCE (UK|ANZ|US) last weekend, for best science fiction audiobook! The awards were presented at the 23rd Annual Audies Gala at the New York Historical Society, where the Orbit team and Ann herself were in attendance. N. K. Jemisin also presented several awards on the night, too!

Listen to a sample of PROVENANCE here.

Coming Soon: THE WINTER ROAD by Adrian Selby

We’re delighted to share the cover for Adrian Selby’s forthcoming novel, THE WINTER ROAD (US | UK | ANZ). A gritty and epic adventure for fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski and Joe Abercrombie, The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.

The greatest empire of them all began with a road.

The Circle – a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr’s battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jaime Jones

THE STONE SKY wins the 2017 Nebula Award for Best Novel

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced the winners of the 2017 Nebula Awards this past weekend and we are thrilled to announce that N. K. Jemisin won the Nebula Award for Best Novel for THE STONE SKY (US | UK | ANZ)! This was Jemisin’s sixth nomination for the award and her first win.

There was a strong lineup of nominees for the Best Novel award this year, including Orbit’s own JADE CITY by Fonda Lee (US | UK | ANZ), SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (US), and AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz (UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the nominees and to N. K. Jemisin for her win!

Cover Reveal: BURNING ASHES by James Bennett

Rascal. Rogue. Antihero. 

Dragon. 

Cover design by Tracey Winwood

Beware – here be dragons! That’s right, Red Ben Garston – the world’s last living dragon – is back in James Bennett’s flame-tastic new novel BURNING ASHES. Once again, Ben finds himself in a whole load of trouble (the magical kind, of course) – and this time there’s not enough whisky left in England to wash away his problems. Because the war to end all wars is coming – and Ben is right in its path . . .

If you’ve not yet joined Red Ben on his adventures (really, what is wrong with you?) then never fear: we don’t publish BURNING ASHES until December, so you’ve got plenty of time to catch up! James Bennett’s action-packed books, where myth comes crashing into the modern world, are perfect for fans of Ben Aaronovitch, Jim Butcher, Kevin Hearne and Benedict Jacka.

But don’t take our word for it – here’s what others have been saying about the Ben Garston novels!

‘A thrilling fusion of myth and modernity’ Kevin Hearne

‘Absolutely loving it. Gorgeous use of language, great humour, characterisation and storyline’ Elizabeth Chadwick

‘A superior piece of magical myth-making’ SFFWorld

‘Ben Aaronovitch and Jim Butcher are both fair comparisons to Bennett’s attempts to fuse fantasy with a modern-day setting’ SciFiNow

‘Blending together the best of action, adventure and urban fantasy . . . Chasing Embers is one of my highlights!’ The Eloquent Page

Connect with James Bennett on Twitter: @benjurigan

 

Acquisition Announcement: SOULLESS ILLUSTRATED EDITION

Gentle readers, we are exceptionally proud to announce our acquisition of a new illustrated edition of a marvelous little novel that you just may have heard of: SOULLESS. Yes, our favorite, soulless spinster Ms. Alexia Tarabotti is getting her very own, special illustrated hardcover edition! With 10 delightfully ladylike compositions from the very talented Jensine Eckwall, the illustrated edition of SOULLESS will be releasing on September 18, 2018.

Please partake of this sneak peek of the interior art and get excited for the upcoming release!

Soulless by Gail Carriger, chapter 1 

2018 Locus Awards Nominations

The 2018 Locus Awards nominations are in and we’re excited to announce seven Orbit books made the list!

Science Fiction

PERSEPOLIS RISING cover Paperback cover of Kim Stanley Robinson's NEW YORK 2140

PERSEPOLIS RISING by James S. A. Corey [US | UK | ANZ]

PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie [US | UK | ANZ]

NEW YORK 2140 [US | UK | ANZ]

Fantasy

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin [US | UK | ANZ]

JADE CITY by Fonda Lee [US | UK | ANZ]

THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross [UK | ANZ]

First Novel

AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz [UK | ANZ]

Orbit is also among the top ten publishers nominated in the best publisher category! Check out the full list of nominees here. Winners will be announced during the Locus Awards Weekend in Seattle WA, June 22-24, 2018. Congratulations to all of the nominees.