Archive for Orbit US

Acquisition Announcement: Bitter Waters & Strange New World by Vivian Shaw

Vivian Shaw
Photo: Emilia Blaser

Welcome back to the world of the undead! Orbit is delighted to announce the acquisition of Bitter Waters and Strange New World, a novella and fourth book that will conclude Vivian Shaw’s beloved Dr. Greta Helsing series.

The adventure starts in Bitter Waters, when a barrow-wight shows up on Greta and Varney’s doorstep one night with 11-year-old Lucy Ashton who’s been newly—and forcefully—bitten and turned. Who did this to her, and why? With the help of her vampiric friends, Greta is determined to find out.

Then it’s time for a jaunt across the Atlantic in Strange New World, where Greta must balance the politics of Heaven and Hell as she road-trips across America on a research tour. There’s something ominous afoot. Supernatural beings are getting killed. Now, Varney and Greta must find out who’s responsible before more lives—and unlives—are lost.

Look out for Bitter Waters and Strange New World in 2024. And, if you haven’t started this delightfully charming series yet, there’s still time to check out Strange Practice (US | UK), Dreadful Company (US | UK), and Grave Importance (US | UK). Meanwhile, follow Vivian on Twitter @ceruleancynic and find out more at www.vivianshaw.net.

Strange Practice by Vivian Shaw Dreadful Company by Vivian Shaw Grave Importance by Vivian Shaw

Praise for the Dr. Greta Helsing series:

“Shaw balances an agile mystery with a pitch-perfect, droll narrative and cast of lovable misfit characters. These are not your mother’s Dracula or demons.” ―Shelf Awareness

“An appropriately dark breath of fresh air.” ―Booklist

“An imaginative, delightfully droll debut.” ―Kirkus

“Exceptional and delightful.” ―Elizabeth Bear, Hugo Award–winning author

Orbit US senior editor Nivia Evans acquired World English rights from Stephen Barbara at Inkwell Management.

Cover launch: Empire of Exiles by Erin M. Evans

Magic, mystery, and revolution collide in this fantasy epic where an unlikely team of mages, scribes, and archivists must band together to unearth a conspiracy that might topple their empire.

Empire of Exiles by Erin M. Evans is the first installment in the Books of the Usurper series coming to bookstores this November (US)! Take a look at the stunning cover below.

Empire of Exiles by Erin M. Evans

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto & Lisa Marie Pompilio; Map Illustration by Francesca Baerald

Cover launch: The Sapphire Altar by David Dalglish

A usurped prince must master the magic of shadows in order to reclaim his kingdom, his people in the blockbuster second novel in USA Today bestselling author David Dalglish’s latest epic fantasy trilogy.

The Sapphire Altar by David Dalglish is coming to bookstores next January (US | UK)! Take a look at the stunning cover below.

The Sapphire Altar by David Dalglish

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Chase Stone

Cover launch: New hardcover editions of Baptism and Fire and Tower of Swallows by Andrzej Sapkowski

Calling all Witcher fans! We previously announced the release of the complete Witcher series in hardcover this fall, marking the first time that Andrzej Sapkowski’s New York Times bestselling series will be available in hardback! Now, we’re thrilled to share the stunning new covers for Baptism of Fire and The Tower of Swallows, both coming in October.

Baptism of Fire Hardcover
Design by Lauren Panepinto; Illustration by Scott M. Fischer

Preorder Baptism of Fire (US) 

Tower of Swallows
Design by Lauren Panepinto; Illustration by Rovina Cai

Preorder the Tower of Swallows (US)

 

And in case you missed it, check out the gorgeous covers for Blood of Elves and Time of Contempt, both coming in September!

Design by Lauren Panepinto; Illustration by Richard Anderson

Preorder Blood of Elves Hardcover (US)

Time of Contempt
Design by Lauren Panepinto; Illustration by Magali Villeneuve

Preorder The Time of Contempt Hardcover (US)

 

Finally, keep your eyes peeled for our final reveal post which will feature the covers for The Lady of the Lake and Season of Storms, both coming in November! And UK fans, don’t despair—all of these hardbacks will be available in the UK from Gollancz in 2023.

Acquisition Announcement: The Phoenix King by Aparna Verma

Aparna Verma
Photo: Courtesy of the Author

Ready for your next epic fantasy obsession? Orbit is thrilled to announce the acquisition of The Phoenix King by debut author Aparna Verma! The first in a trilogy blazing with mystic fire, political intrigue, and forbidden romance, The Phoenix King follows an assassin who is more than what he seems and a princess with everything to lose as they contend with a prophecy that could remake the world. Set in a kingdom where ancient sands hold ancient secrets and cities are built by flame and blood, full of characters who struggle to find their power even as the burdens of inheritance and legacy become too much to bear, this series is not to be missed!

The Phoenix King was previously self-published as The Boy with Fire in August 2021. Orbit’s newly revised and edited edition—complete with its new title!—will be coming to shelves in summer 2023. Orbit US senior editor Priyanka Krishnan acquired world English rights from Lucienne Diver at The Knight Agency. Orbit UK editorial director Jenni Hill secured UK rights.

Read on for a few words from author Aparna Verma about what inspired this incredible story:

“When writing The Phoenix KingI drew inspiration from the grand Hindu epics—particularly the stories of the goddess Kali Ma. She has often been misconstrued as a vengeful, bloodthirsty deity by Western storytellers and media. But she is so much more than that. Kali Ma does not fit in the simple boxes of good and evil; in fact, she transcends both. Her multidimensionality inspired the female characters in the book, and the reigning goddess in my story.

I also drew inspiration from my lovely home state of Rajasthan. Rajasthan has a long history as a seat of Indian royalty, including the Rajput kings. Said to be made of earth and fire, the Rajputs were fiercely proud and loyal, a quality that’s shared among the nobility of The Phoenix Kingfor better and for worse.

But most of all, I found inspiration in the Rajasthani desert. I’ve always felt a deep connection to the desert and all of its mysterious secrets. It’s hard not to be awed by, and afraid of, the power of the sands.

Altogether, The Phoenix King is a homage to my Indian roots, but it is also an examination of faith and fate: the invisible forces that have dictated our gods and ourselves.”

We’re so excited to be publishing The Phoenix King! And while you wait for it to hit the shelves, be sure to follow Aparna on TwitterInstagram, or TikTok for news and updates!

Aparna Verma was born in India and immigrated with her family to the United States when she was two years old. She graduated from Stanford University with Honors in the Arts and a B.A. in English. The Phoenix King is her first novel. When she is not writing, Aparna likes to ride horses, dance to Bollywood music, and find old cafes in which to read myths about forgotten worlds.

Acquisition Announcement: The Devoured Worlds Trilogy by Megan E. O’Keefe

Megan E. O'Keefe (Photo Credit: Joey Hewitt)
Photo: Joey Hewitt

Known for her bold plot twists, break-neck pacing, and heart-breaking characters, Megan E. O’Keefe is an incredible and undeniable new voice in space opera! Orbit is thrilled to announce the acquisition of Megan E. O’Keefe’s next big thing: a glorious new space opera trilogy that follows two enemies stranded on a dead planet. If you love wide-screen epics about secret identities, space empires and their revolutionaries, alien intelligences, and forbidden love, then The Devoured Worlds trilogy is for you.

When a spy is stranded on a dead planet with her mortal enemy, she must first figure out how to survive before she can uncover the conspiracy that landed them both there in the first place.

She’s a revolutionary. Humanity is running out of options. Habitable planets are being destroyed as quickly as they’re found and Naira Sharp knows the reason why. The all-powerful Mercator family has been controlling the exploration of the universe for decades, and exploiting any materials they find along the way under the guise of helping humanity’s expansion. But Naira knows the truth, and she plans to bring the whole family down from the inside.

He’s the heir to the dynasty. Tarquin Mercator never wanted to run a galaxy-spanning business empire. He just wanted to study rocks and read books. But Tarquin’s father has tasked him with monitoring the mining of a new planet, and he doesn’t really have a choice in the matter.

Disguised as Tarquin’s new bodyguard, Naira plans to destroy his ship before it lands. But neither of them expects to end up stranded on a dead planet.  To survive and keep her secret, Naira will have to join forces with the man she’s sworn to hate. And together they will uncover a plot that’s bigger than both of them.

Make sure to snag the first book The Blighted Stars (US | UK) when it publishes in May 2023! And, in the meantime, say hi to the author on Twitter @MeganEOKeefe, and check out her phenomenal debut space opera series The Protectorate Trilogy!

Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O'Keefe Chaos Vector by Megan E. O'Keefe Catalyst Gate by Megan E. O'Keefe The First Omega by Megan E. O'Keefe

Cover launch: Engines of Chaos by R. S. Ford

From an unmissable voice in epic fantasy comes the second novel in a trilogy where guilds clash, magic fuels machines, and an empire begins a revolution.

Engines of Chaos by R. S. Ford is coming to bookstores next April! Take a look at the stunning cover below.

Engines of Chaos by R. S. Ford

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Magnus Creative

Cover launch: Ethera Grave by Essa Hansen

In the final book of this dark, dangerous, roller coaster of a space opera trilogy, bold new voice Essa Hansen will stretch the limits of your imagination in this mind bending adventure perfect for fans of The Expanse and A Long Way to a Small Angry Planet.

Take a first look at the cover of Ethera Grave by Essa Hansen coming next April!

Ethera Grave by Essa Hansen

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Magnus Creative

Andrzej Sapkowski’s bestselling Witcher series is coming out in hardcover this fall

Witcher fans rejoice! This fall Orbit will release the complete Witcher series in hardcover for the first time. Each edition will feature cover art from a different artist, showcasing a range of stunning visions of the Witcher universe. These editions will be available in the UK  from @gollancz in 2023.

First up will be the hardcover editions of Blood of Elves and The Time of Contempt in September.

Illustration by Richard Anderson

Preorder Blood of Elves Hardcover (US)

Time of Contempt
Illustration by Magali Villeneuve

Preorder The Time of Contempt Hardcover (US)

Hardcover editions of Baptism of Fire and The Tower of Swallows will follow in October, while The Lady of The Lake and Season of Storms will drop in November. Follow Orbit on Twitter to keep up with those upcoming cover reveals!

And this December look out for the illustrated edition of Sword of Destiny. This gorgeous deluxe hardcover will include six brand-new, full-page interior illustrations (one for each story) and is the perfect companion to the hardcover illustrated edition of The Last Wish.

Sword of Destiny
Illustration by Martina Fačková

Preorder Sword of Destiny Hardcover Illustrated Edition (US | UK)

The Last Wish and Sword of Destiny
The Last Wish and Sword of Destiny Illustrated Editions.

Preorder Sword of Destiny Hardcover Illustrated Edition (US | UK)

Order The Last Wish Illustrated Edition (US | UK)