Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Category: Orbit US

Claire North wins the World Fantasy Award!

The winners of the 2017 World Fantasy Awards were announced last night — including THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE (Redhook US | Orbit UK | Orbit ANZ), by Orbit’s own Claire North! Congratulations to all of the winners and nominees. You can see the full list here.

If you’re new to North’s work, also be sure to check out THE END OF THE DAY (US | UK | ANZ), TOUCH (US | UK | ANZ), and THE FIRST FIFTEEN LIVES OF HARRY AUGUST (US | UK | ANZ).

Congratulations go, too, to Terry Brooks, who was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award at the World Fantasy Convention this weekend. His most recent book is THE BLACK ELFSTONE (UK).

Cover Launch: BLOODY ROSE by Nicholas Eames

Nicholas Eames took the fantasy world by storm with his stellar debut KINGS OF THE WYLD (US | UK | AUS) about a band of mercenaries getting back together for one last impossible mission. Now, we’re excited to reveal the stunning cover to his follow up, BLOODY ROSE  where he’s introducing us to a brand new band. Art by Richard Anderson, cover design by Lisa Marie Pompilio.

Live fast, die young.

Tam Hashford has always dreamed of living through glory days of her own. With a renowned mercenary for a mother and an illustrious bard for a father, battles and adventure seem the only way to really live.

So when she learns that the most revered mercenary crew in Grandual is in need of a bard, she grabs her lute and goes on tour. Led by the infamous Bloody Rose, Tam and her new band embark on a mission that will earn them everlasting fame — or certain death.

It’s time to take a walk on the wyld side.

 

KINGS OF THE WYLD is also up for the Best Fantasy award in the Goodreads Choice Awards. Congratulations, Nicholas Eames!

Praise for Kings of the Wyld:

“A rollicking, page-turning, edge-of-your-seat road-trip of a book. Great characters, loveable rogues that I genuinely cared about and all manner of fantastical monsters.” – John Gwynne

“Fantastic, funny, ferocious. Hugely recommended. Read it now.” – Sam Sykes

“In short: it rocks.” – B&N SF & Fantasy Blog

“Absolutely awesome . . . Full of heroes, humor, and heart.” – Jon Hollins

“Nicholas Eames brings brazen fun and a rock & roll sensibility to the fantasy genre.” – Sebastien de Castell

“An outstanding debut which will make you laugh and cry and hold your breath.” – K. J. Parker

Goodreads Choice Awards 2017: Opening Round

Voting for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards is now under way. We’re proud to announce that seven Orbit titles are in the first round of nominations! Want to see your favorite Orbit authors and books make it to the second round? Cast your vote!

Voting for opening round ends November 5.

Fantasy – VOTE NOW

SINS OF EMPIRE by Brian McClellan (US | UK | AUS)

KINGS OF THE WYLD by Nicholas Eames (US | UK | AUS)

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin (US | UK | AUS)

Horror – VOTE NOW

THE BOY ON THE BRIDGE by M. R. Carey (US | UK | AUS)

THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charlie Stross (UK)

 

Science Fiction – VOTE NOW

PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie (US | UK | AUS)

BABYLON’S ASHES by James S. A. Corey (US | UK | AUS)

If your favorite Orbit title of 2017 isn’t listed, you can also enter a write-in vote at the bottom of each genre page.

 

Claire North shortlisted for Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award!

We’re delighted to say that Claire North has been shortlisted for the Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award for her novel THE END OF THE DAY (UK|US|ANZ)!

Claire North Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year award

The prize honours a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35, and Claire is one of five authors shortlisted for the award.

Andrew Holgate, Sunday Times literary editor and one of the judges on the panel, said that “The fact that the judges decided to nominate five instead of the usual four authors speaks volumes about the strength of this year’s shortlist – diverse, adventurous, immensely mature and confident”.

The shortlist was announced in the Sunday Times yesterday, with THE END OF THE DAY being described by the paper as:

‘Funny, ambitious, immensely humane and full of philosophical panache’

The shortlist was also discussed on Radio 4’s Open Book show yesterday, with judge Lucy Hughes-Hallett saying about THE END OF THE DAY: 

This is a book which is busting out with invention…it’s extraordinary, and its premise is wonderfully mad. The protagonist is the Harbinger of Death, but actually this harbinger is a sort of sweaty-handed young man, making the best of a rather weird job and getting a bit flustered about it. That combination of very downbeat humour and very grand visions of the end of the world are so at once wildly impressive and deliciously ordinary”

You can hear from all the authors shortlisted at a special event on Tuesday 28th November at Waterstones, Trafalgar Square. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the London Library on 7th December.

Please join us in congratulating Claire North on Twitter!

Cover Launch: ONE WAY by S. J. Morden

We are currently in the middle of the next space race. No, not to the moon, but to Mars. And our latest acquisition, by bona fide rocket scientist S.J. Morden, posits what happens when you take that space race and add a little bit of corporate greed: Budget cuts and some dangerously slim margins for success. In ONE WAY, the corporation in charge decides the cheapest option is to send prisoners with certain skills on a one way trip to Mars to help build the first human settlement on Mars. But the landscape of Mars is a hostile one, and when you send untrained civilians to space, bad things can happen…

We’re so excited for this book that we already have a cover for it. Take a look below and make sure to say hello to the author on twitter at @ComradeMorden.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio
Art by Shutterstock

Cover Launch: Wrath of Empire by Brian McClellan

When the sins of empire have been revealed, the empire’s wrath will surely follow…

Following the acclaimed release of Brian McClellan’s epic fantasy novel, SINS OF EMPIRE (US | UK | ANZ) comes WRATH OF EMPIRE (US | UK | ANZ). And the cover looks just as epic as we hoped it would. Check out the cover by Thom Tenery and designed by Lauren Panepinto below. And catch up on Brian McClellan’s incredible series before the sequel comes out in March 2018.

Need to catch up? Purchase Sins of Empire today!

US:Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

UK: Amazon | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Waterstones | More Stores

2017 New York Comic Con Schedule!

Attention all NYCC attendees: come visit us this weekend at booth #2218! We have a ton of FREE goodies for you to take home and some terrific show specials happening all weekend long.

See the schedule below for a list of where you can find our others this weekend. See you at the show!

Thursday, October 5

2:45 PM: PANEL: Jon Hollins, “Here Lie Dragons & Eternal Beasties”

Friday, October 6

1:30 PM: PANEL: D. Nolan Clark, “The End of the World and Questionable Futures”

2:45 PM: PANEL: Jordanna Max Brodsky, “How Do I Put This on a Resume?”

Saturday, October 7

5:15 PM: PANEL: Ann Leckie and N.K. Jemisin, “The New Classics of SF/F”

Sunday, October 8

10:30 AM: SIGNING: Lila Bowen @ Orbit booth

Acquisitions Announcement: THERE BEFORE THE CHAOS by K. B. Wagers

Orbit has acquired World rights to K. B. Wagers’s brand new science fiction trilogy, the Farian War, from Andrew Zack at The Zack Company. Hail Bristol—former interplanetary gunrunner, now Empress—must prevent a catastrophic war between two alien empires.

Look out for the first book, THERE BEFORE THE CHAOS, in Fall 2018. Meanwhile, make sure you’ve checked out the Indranan War trilogy, and say hi to the author on Twitter at @kbwagers.

The battle for the throne is over. The war for the galaxy is just beginning.

Hail Bristol, former gunrunner and newly-crowned Empress of Indrana, looks forward to retiring her gun and rebuilding her Empire in peace. After a bloody civil war laced with regicide, betrayal, and foreign plots, Hail and her people are braced for years of necessary reconstruction and reform.

But when Indrana’s closest ally asks Hail to intervene in an interstellar military crisis, she must instead embark on the highest stakes diplomatic mission the Empire has ever faced. Caught between two alien civilizations at each other’s throats, she must uncover each side’s true intentions before all of humanity becomes collateral damage in a full-blown galactic war.

 

Cover Launch: THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS by James Islington

Hot on the heels of AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME [UK/US/ANZ], the bestselling second novel in James Islington’s Licanius trilogy which published last month, we’re delighted to reveal the cover for the final volume – THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS.

Illustration by Dominick Saponaro, cover design by Lauren Panepinto

We’ll be publishing THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS in 2018, so if you haven’t yet plunged headlong into this remarkable adventure of powerful magic, ancient secrets and memorable characters, there’s still plenty of time for you to get up to speed!

Praise for James Islington’s Licanius trilogy:

‘Action-packed epic fantasy’ Bookbag

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian 

‘A traditional saving-the-world epic fantasy [with] the flavour of something new . . . You’ll be left wanting more’ SFX

‘Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty’ SCIFINOW

‘Will appeal not only to Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Like the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF & Fantasy Blog 

 

SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE: A message from Trudi Canavan

Succesors Promise, book 3 of Millennium's Rule by Trudi Canavan

SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE (UK|US|ANZ), the third instalment in Trudi Canavan’s Sunday Times bestselling Millennium’s Rule series is out now.

Following THIEF’S MAGIC (UK|US|ANZ) and ANGEL OF STORMS (UK|US|ANZ), this dramatic fantasy novel is set in a time of chaos – where worlds are at war, torn apart by magic and power-hungry sorcerers.

For us and legions of fantasy fans around the world, the release of this new book is a very exciting event!

Trudi filmed the video below to tell readers just what they can expect from this series and SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE – and to send a big thank you to her fans all around the world for everything they do to support her books!

You are currently browsing the archives for the Orbit US category.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.