Archive for Orbit US

Cover Launch: THE TRIUMPH OF THE DWARVES by Markus Heitz

The Dwarves are back! Orbit has acquired three new books in Markus Heitz’s internationally bestselling fantasy series The Dwarves. Even better news, THE TRIUMPH OF THE DWARVES is available now in ebook and the paperback edition releases August 7, 2018.

Cover illustration by Bob Lea.

International bestselling fantasy author Markus Heitz returns to his best-loved series.

After decades of occupation by the älfar, the dark elves have been defeated and peace has finally been declared.

But the nations still distrust each other, and when a child is found in the Grey Mountains who speaks the language of the älfar, the dwarves believe this little girl heralds a new threat. And they will be right – just not in the way they thought.

Under the orders of Ireheart, now High King of the dwarves, a small delegation is sent to search for Tungdil Goldhand, the true High King, who many believe dead. Against all odds, Tungdil has survived his mission to the terrifying realm of Phondrasôn. But is he truly the legendary hero of the dwarves, or an impostor at the heart of a deeper conspiracy?

And does he realise that the fiends from Phondrasôn themselves aren’t far behind . . . ?

The action never lets up in this next exciting story in the saga of the dwarves!

And don’t miss the previous entries in the saga of the Dwarves:

 

 

 

 

THE STONE SKY wins the 2018 Locus Award for Best Fantasy Novel

The winners of the 2018 Locus Awards were announced this weekend and we’re happy to announce that THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin [US | UK | ANZ] won for Best Fantasy Novel!

There was a strong lineup of nominees for the Best Fantasy award this year, including Orbit’s own JADE CITY by Fonda Lee [US | UK | ANZ], and THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charles Stross [UK | ANZ]. Orbit was also represented in other categories: PERSEPOLIS RISING by James S. A. Corey [US | UK | ANZ], PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie [US | UK | ANZ], and NEW YORK 2140 by Kim Stanley Robinson [US | UK | ANZ] were nominated for Best Science Fiction, and AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz [UK | ANZ] was nominated for Best First Novel.

You can find the full list of nominees and winners here.

Congratulations to all the nominees and to N. K. Jemisin for her win!

Coming Soon: The Broken Earth Trilogy Boxed Set

Maybe you’ve heard of a little book called THE FIFTH SEASON (US | UK) book one of the Broken Earth Trilogy. When it published in 2015, it blew everyone away with its incredible world building and beautiful prose. Maybe you saw that it earned a Hugo Award and rave reviews from NPR, the New York Times, SFF World and a spot on many “Best Books” lists. Or maybe you’ve heard of the Hugo Award winning sequel, THE OBELISK GATE (US | UK) and the Nebula Award winning third book, THE STONE SKY (US | UK).

Maybe you’ve heard of the author of the Broken Earth Trilogy, N. K. Jemisin. John Scalzi called her “arguably the most important speculative writer of her generation.” And this year, she was the first author of speculative fiction to win the Best of Brooklyn award at the Brooklyn Book Festival.

Or maybe this is the very first time you’ve heard any of this. (By the way, are you okay? Where have you been? Are you hiding under a rock? We miss you.)

But whatever you’ve heard, we have good news for you! We are publishing a beautiful, brand new boxed set of the Broken Earth Trilogy so you can binge read the whole series.

Whether you’ve already read the books or just want to see what all the fuss is about, keep your eye out for the boxed set of The Broken Earth Trilogy coming out on October 2, 2018. And if you just can’t wait, you can even pre-order your boxed set now!

Pre-order Now: 

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Indiebound| Chapters

New Acquisition: THE GUTTER PRAYER by Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan

The Gutter Prayer

It’s time to start getting excited, because Orbit has acquired a gripping new epic fantasy from debut author Gareth Ryder-Hanrahan.

THE GUTTER PRAYER is a visceral tale of revenge and betrayal, set in a world of dark gods and dangerous magic.

It follows the story of three friends, who find themselves betrayed by the thieves’ brotherhood – set up to take the fall for a crime they didn’t commit. Their quest for revenge finds them at the heart of a conspiracy to reignite a centuries-old magical war. A war that would bring devastation to their city. And the world beyond.

Buzz is already building for this wildly original debut with some fantastic early reviews:

‘A ground breaking and extraordinary novel . . . Ryder-Hanrahan has an astonishing imagination’
Peter McLean, author of Priest of Bones

‘Beautifully written. Gripping. Guerdon is the city of my dreams’
Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives

‘Laced with the blackest of humour and packed with magic and mayhem, this is fantasy turned up to 11’
Anna Stephens, author of Godblind

THE GUTTER PRAYER will hit shelves in January 2019, with the second book in the series following a year later. We’re thrilled to welcome Gareth to the Orbit family! Say hello to him on twitter @Mytholder.

Author photo by Edel Ryder-Hanrahan.

Cover launch for A BAD DEAL FOR THE WHOLE GALAXY and THE WORST OF ALL POSSIBLE WORLDS

Alex White’s first book in The Salvagers series A BIG SHIP AT THE EDGE OF THE UNIVERSE is already getting a lot of attention:

“White combines magic and space opera to create a fast-paced adventure with charismatic characters and formidable enemies in a realized universe of greed and power.” -ALA Booklist Starred Review

“[…] the bold start of a brand-new science fiction adventure” June Pick for Kirkus Reviews

 “Racing! Treasure and smuggling! A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe is a gripping quest for justice among salvage and magic–I really loved it.”—Mur Lafferty

“A Big Ship at the Edge of the Universe is perfectly paced, full of intense, inventive action and refreshingly honest characters. It’s the seamless hybrid of fantasy and sci-fi that you didn’t know you always needed.”—Nicholas Eames

And we’re just getting so carried away with the excitement that we thought we’d release the covers for books two and three early! Check them out below and be sure to pre-order A BIG SHIP AT THE EDGE OF THE UNIVERSE which will be publishing in the US on June 26th.

A BAD DEAL FOR THE WHOLE GALAXY will be publishing this winter, and THE WORST OF ALL POSSIBLE WORLDS will be publishing in Summer 2019.

 

Cover design Lisa Marie Pompilio; Cover art Shutterstock

Cover Launch: the Illustrated Edition of SOULLESS by Gail Carriger

My, my! What’s that gorgeous confection I see over there? Is it.. No. Can it really be??

It is! It’s the cover for the SOULLESS Illustrated edition. And what a charming cover it is, too.

Soulless is a sheer delight of a book, and adding ten darling illustrations by Jensine Eckwell is just icing on the cake.

As a special bonus, Ms. Carriger will be signing the entire first US print run, so make sure to pre-order your copy today!

Pre-order SOULLESS now:

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Indiebound | More Stores

Illustration by Jensine Eckwell. Design by Lauren Panepinto.

Cover Launch: SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK by Sam Sykes

We’re delighted to unveil the stunning cover for the new novel by Sam Sykes, SEVEN BLADES IN BLACK, an unforgettable epic fantasy that introduces an outcast magician caught between two warring empires.
Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jeremy Wilson

 

Among humans, none have power like mages. And among mages, none have will like Sal the Cacophony. Once revered, now vagrant, she walks a wasteland scarred by generations of magical warfare.

 

The Scar, a land torn between powerful empires, is where rogue mages go to disappear, disgraced soldiers go to die and Sal went with a blade, a gun and a list of names she intended to use both on.

 

But vengeance is a flame swift extinguished. Betrayed by those she trusted most, her magic torn from her and awaiting execution, Sal the Cacophony has one last tale to tell before they take her head.

 

All she has left is her name, her story and the weapon she used to carved both.

 

Vengeance is its own reward.

 

Preorder Now!

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Indiebound | Kobo | Google Play | iBooks | Other retailers

 

Lambda Award for Annalee and Audie Award for Ann!

Last night Orbit UK author Annalee Newitz won a Lambda Award for LGBTQ science fiction and fantasy, with her debut novel AUTONOMOUS (UK|ANZ).

AUTONOMOUS has also been shortlisted for the Nebula and Locus Awards this year. Huge congratulations to Annalee (and happy Pride month all)!

It’s a good time for awards as Ann Leckie and reader Adjoa Andoh also won an Audie Award for PROVENANCE (UK|ANZ|US) last weekend, for best science fiction audiobook! The awards were presented at the 23rd Annual Audies Gala at the New York Historical Society, where the Orbit team and Ann herself were in attendance. N. K. Jemisin also presented several awards on the night, too!

Listen to a sample of PROVENANCE here.

Coming Soon: THE WINTER ROAD by Adrian Selby

We’re delighted to share the cover for Adrian Selby’s forthcoming novel, THE WINTER ROAD (US | UK | ANZ). A gritty and epic adventure for fans of Mark Lawrence, Andrzej Sapkowski and Joe Abercrombie, The Winter Road is a fantasy novel which remembers that battles leave all kinds of scars.

The greatest empire of them all began with a road.

The Circle – a thousand miles of perilous forests and warring clans. No one has ever tamed such treacherous territory before, but ex-soldier Teyr Amondsen, veteran of a hundred battles, is determined to try.

With a merchant caravan protected by a crew of skilled mercenaries, Amondsen embarks on a dangerous mission to forge a road across the untamed wilderness that was once her home. But a warlord rises in the wilds of the Circle, uniting its clans and terrorising its people. Teyr’s battles may not be over yet . . .

All roads lead back to war.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Jaime Jones

THE STONE SKY wins the 2017 Nebula Award for Best Novel

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America announced the winners of the 2017 Nebula Awards this past weekend and we are thrilled to announce that N. K. Jemisin won the Nebula Award for Best Novel for THE STONE SKY (US | UK | ANZ)! This was Jemisin’s sixth nomination for the award and her first win.

There was a strong lineup of nominees for the Best Novel award this year, including Orbit’s own JADE CITY by Fonda Lee (US | UK | ANZ), SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (US), and AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz (UK | ANZ).

Congratulations to all the nominees and to N. K. Jemisin for her win!