Archive for Orbit US

Claire North shortlisted for Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award!

We’re delighted to say that Claire North has been shortlisted for the Sunday Times/PFD Young Writer of the Year Award for her novel THE END OF THE DAY (UK|US|ANZ)!

Claire North Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year award

The prize honours a work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry by a British or Irish author aged between 18 and 35, and Claire is one of five authors shortlisted for the award.

Andrew Holgate, Sunday Times literary editor and one of the judges on the panel, said that “The fact that the judges decided to nominate five instead of the usual four authors speaks volumes about the strength of this year’s shortlist – diverse, adventurous, immensely mature and confident”.

The shortlist was announced in the Sunday Times yesterday, with THE END OF THE DAY being described by the paper as:

‘Funny, ambitious, immensely humane and full of philosophical panache’

The shortlist was also discussed on Radio 4’s Open Book show yesterday, with judge Lucy Hughes-Hallett saying about THE END OF THE DAY: 

This is a book which is busting out with invention…it’s extraordinary, and its premise is wonderfully mad. The protagonist is the Harbinger of Death, but actually this harbinger is a sort of sweaty-handed young man, making the best of a rather weird job and getting a bit flustered about it. That combination of very downbeat humour and very grand visions of the end of the world are so at once wildly impressive and deliciously ordinary”

You can hear from all the authors shortlisted at a special event on Tuesday 28th November at Waterstones, Trafalgar Square. The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the London Library on 7th December.

Please join us in congratulating Claire North on Twitter!

Cover Launch: ONE WAY by S. J. Morden

We are currently in the middle of the next space race. No, not to the moon, but to Mars. And our latest acquisition, by bona fide rocket scientist S.J. Morden, posits what happens when you take that space race and add a little bit of corporate greed: Budget cuts and some dangerously slim margins for success. In ONE WAY, the corporation in charge decides the cheapest option is to send prisoners with certain skills on a one way trip to Mars to help build the first human settlement on Mars. But the landscape of Mars is a hostile one, and when you send untrained civilians to space, bad things can happen…

We’re so excited for this book that we already have a cover for it. Take a look below and make sure to say hello to the author on twitter at @ComradeMorden.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio
Art by Shutterstock

Cover Launch: Wrath of Empire by Brian McClellan

When the sins of empire have been revealed, the empire’s wrath will surely follow…

Following the acclaimed release of Brian McClellan’s epic fantasy novel, SINS OF EMPIRE (US | UK | ANZ) comes WRATH OF EMPIRE (US | UK | ANZ). And the cover looks just as epic as we hoped it would. Check out the cover by Thom Tenery and designed by Lauren Panepinto below. And catch up on Brian McClellan’s incredible series before the sequel comes out in March 2018.

Need to catch up? Purchase Sins of Empire today!

US:Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

UK: Amazon | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Waterstones | More Stores

2017 New York Comic Con Schedule!

Attention all NYCC attendees: come visit us this weekend at booth #2218! We have a ton of FREE goodies for you to take home and some terrific show specials happening all weekend long.

See the schedule below for a list of where you can find our others this weekend. See you at the show!

Thursday, October 5

2:45 PM: PANEL: Jon Hollins, “Here Lie Dragons & Eternal Beasties”

Friday, October 6

1:30 PM: PANEL: D. Nolan Clark, “The End of the World and Questionable Futures”

2:45 PM: PANEL: Jordanna Max Brodsky, “How Do I Put This on a Resume?”

Saturday, October 7

5:15 PM: PANEL: Ann Leckie and N.K. Jemisin, “The New Classics of SF/F”

Sunday, October 8

10:30 AM: SIGNING: Lila Bowen @ Orbit booth

Acquisitions Announcement: THERE BEFORE THE CHAOS by K. B. Wagers

Orbit has acquired World rights to K. B. Wagers’s brand new science fiction trilogy, the Farian War, from Andrew Zack at The Zack Company. Hail Bristol—former interplanetary gunrunner, now Empress—must prevent a catastrophic war between two alien empires.

Look out for the first book, THERE BEFORE THE CHAOS, in Fall 2018. Meanwhile, make sure you’ve checked out the Indranan War trilogy, and say hi to the author on Twitter at @kbwagers.

The battle for the throne is over. The war for the galaxy is just beginning.

Hail Bristol, former gunrunner and newly-crowned Empress of Indrana, looks forward to retiring her gun and rebuilding her Empire in peace. After a bloody civil war laced with regicide, betrayal, and foreign plots, Hail and her people are braced for years of necessary reconstruction and reform.

But when Indrana’s closest ally asks Hail to intervene in an interstellar military crisis, she must instead embark on the highest stakes diplomatic mission the Empire has ever faced. Caught between two alien civilizations at each other’s throats, she must uncover each side’s true intentions before all of humanity becomes collateral damage in a full-blown galactic war.

 

Cover Launch: THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS by James Islington

Hot on the heels of AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME [UK/US/ANZ], the bestselling second novel in James Islington’s Licanius trilogy which published last month, we’re delighted to reveal the cover for the final volume – THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS.

Illustration by Dominick Saponaro, cover design by Lauren Panepinto

We’ll be publishing THE LIGHT OF ALL THAT FALLS in 2018, so if you haven’t yet plunged headlong into this remarkable adventure of powerful magic, ancient secrets and memorable characters, there’s still plenty of time for you to get up to speed!

Praise for James Islington’s Licanius trilogy:

‘Action-packed epic fantasy’ Bookbag

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian 

‘A traditional saving-the-world epic fantasy [with] the flavour of something new . . . You’ll be left wanting more’ SFX

‘Numerous surprises . . . action aplenty’ SCIFINOW

‘Will appeal not only to Wheel of Time readers, but to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Like the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF & Fantasy Blog 

 

SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE: A message from Trudi Canavan

Succesors Promise, book 3 of Millennium's Rule by Trudi Canavan

SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE (UK|US|ANZ), the third instalment in Trudi Canavan’s Sunday Times bestselling Millennium’s Rule series is out now.

Following THIEF’S MAGIC (UK|US|ANZ) and ANGEL OF STORMS (UK|US|ANZ), this dramatic fantasy novel is set in a time of chaos – where worlds are at war, torn apart by magic and power-hungry sorcerers.

For us and legions of fantasy fans around the world, the release of this new book is a very exciting event!

Trudi filmed the video below to tell readers just what they can expect from this series and SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE – and to send a big thank you to her fans all around the world for everything they do to support her books!

Welcome to the Orbit family, Rowenna Miller!

Orbit has acquired World rights to debut author Rowenna Miller’s enchanting epic fantasy novel, TORN, and two sequels, from Jessica Sinsheimer at the Sarah Jane Freymann Agency. Torn features Sophie Balstrade, a magic-casting seamstress, and the mounting anti-monarchist uprising that forces her to choose between her community and her ambitions.

Look out for Torn in Spring 2018! Meanwhile, you can find Rowenna on Twitter at @RowennaM. Please give her a warm welcome to Orbit!

In a time of revolution, everyone must take a side.

Sophie is a young dressmaker who, with hard work, talent, and a rare proficiency in sewing spells into cloth, has managed to open her own shop and lift herself and her brother, Kristos, out of the poverty that plagues their immigrant community. Her reputation for beautiful ball gowns and discreetly-embroidered charms for luck, love, and protection secures her a commission from the royal family itself—and the commission earns her the attentions of a dashing but entirely unattainable duke.

Meanwhile, her brother, a day laborer with a keen mind and a thirst for justice, rises to prominence in the growing anti-monarchist movement. Their worlds collide when the revolution’s shadow leader takes Kristos hostage and demands that Sophie place a curse on the queen’s new Midwinter costume—or Kristos will die at their hand.

As the proletariat uprising comes to a violent climax, Sophie must choose: between her brother and the community of her birth, and her lover and the life she’s striven to build.

 

Welcome to the Orbit family, Tyler Whitesides!

Orbit has acquired a rollicking new fantasy, THE THOUSAND DEATHS OF ARDOR BENN, and two sequels from bestselling children’s author, Tyler Whitesides. The Thousand Deaths of Ardor Benn is Tyler’s adult debut and introduces expert thief and con artist, Ardor Benn, and a one-of-a-kind magic centered around the world’s few remaining dragons.

You can meet Ard and his gang in Spring 2018. In the meantime, please join us in welcoming Tyler to Orbit. You can find him on Twitter as @TWhitesides.

“I’m hiring you to steal the king’s crown.”

Ardor Benn is no ordinary thief. Rakish, ambitious, and master of wildly complex heists, he styles himself a Ruse Artist Extraordinaire.

When a priest hires him for the most daring ruse yet, Ardor knows he’ll need more than quick wit and sleight of hand. Assembling a dream team of forgers, disguisers, schemers, and thieves, he sets out to steal from the most powerful king the realm has ever known.

But it soon becomes clear there’s more at stake than fame and glory –Ard and his team might just be the last hope for human civilization.

 

Cover Launch: THE TOWER OF LIVING AND DYING by Anna Smith Spark

Anna Smith Spark brings even more murder, chaos, and violence to the forefront in the sequel to her brilliantly bloody debut novel, THE COURT OF BROKEN KNIVES. In THE TOWER OF LIVING AND DYING, we once again follow Marith on his quest for power. But now that he no longer fears death, there may be nothing to stop him. While you’re eagerly anticipating Anna’s next book, take a look at the incredible new cover:

Marith has been a sellsword, a prince, a murderer, a demon, and dead. But something keeps bringing him back to life, and now there is nothing stopping him from taking back the throne that is rightfully his.

Thalia, the former high priestess, remains Marith’s only tenuous grasp to whatever goodness he has left. His left hand and his last source of light, Thalia still believes that the power that lies within him can be used for better ends. But as more forces gather beneath Marith’s banner, she can feel her influence slipping.

Read the second book in this “gritty and glorious!” (Miles Cameron) epic fantasy series reminiscent of Joe Abercrombie and Mark Lawrence where the exiled son of a king fights to reclaim his throne no matter the cost. 

Design by Lauren Panepinto; Art by Gene Mollica