Archive for Covers

Cover Launch: FORBIDDEN SUNS by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the fantastic cover for FORBIDDEN SUNS by D. Nolan Clark, the explosive conclusion to the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of fighting against impossible odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the unforgiving vastness of space.

 

In the cold of space, the fire of revenge still burns.

Aleister Lanoe has been on a mission since before he can remember. Honing his skills as a fighter pilot and commander through three centuries of constant warfare, he has never met a foe he cannot best.

But now he faces a mission which may be his last: take vengeance on the alien race who has coldly and systematically erased all the sentient life in its path.

In all his years at war, the stakes have never been higher…

Praise for the Silence trilogy:

“No less intriguing and action-packed than its predecessor. Here, sci-fi tropes such as AI and space aliens are turned into something entirely thoughtful and original.”— RT Book Reviews on Forgotten Worlds

“Unforgettable characters and is jam-packed with action [and] adventure… one readers will not want to miss.” —Booklist on Forsaken Skies

“About as exciting an action story set in space as any this reviewer has seen in print in quite some time. It is worth the read… a terrific and thrilling novel.” —SciFi Magazine on Forsaken Skies

“Gripping writing, a brilliantly realized future culture and sympathetic characters… an entertaining and compelling read.” —SFX Magazine on Forsaken Skies

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Victor Mosquera

 

Cover launch: SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE by Trudi Canavan

If you’re already a fan of Trudi Canavan, then you’ll know what kind of a thrill ride you can expect from her latest series, Millennium’s Rule. Judging from the awesome reader reviews, fantasy fans around the world have been enthralled by the first two books in the series THIEF’S MAGIC and ANGEL OF STORMS.

And now the time is here to unveil the cover for the third book, SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE.

Successor's promise by Trudi Canavan, book 3 of Millennium's Rule

This dramatic third novel is set in a time of chaos. Worlds are at war, torn apart by deadly machines and power-hungry sorcerers. And the loyalties of Rielle and Tyen will be tested to their limits. Trust us fantasy fans – you do not want to miss this one. Look out for this thrilling new novel in September 2017.

Pre-order SUCCESSOR’S PROMISE now

Cover Launch: THE LEGION OF FLAME by Anthony Ryan

As you may have guessed from our recent ‘Guide to Making an Awesome Dragon Cover’, we love a good dragon here at Orbit. So we’re especially delighted to present the dragon-tastic cover for Anthony Ryan’s THE LEGION OF FLAME [UK/ANZ], designed by our in-house designer Nico Taylor with art by Christian Bravery.

 

THE LEGION OF FLAME, book two of Draconis Memoria, is the thrilling follow-up to THE WAKING FIRE [UK/ANZ] and continues this epic tale of exploration and adventure, spies and assassins, explosive magic and the furious battle to forge an empire. We publish in hardback, trade format, ebook and audio in July.

Praise for Draconis Memoria:

‘Fabulous . . . Sure to be another fantasy classic’ Huffington Post UK

‘The world Ryan has created for his new dragon adventure is a joy to visualise’ SciFiNow

‘A fascinating world packed with dragons, pirates, political machinations and an interesting magic system to boot’ Fantasy Faction

‘A marvellous piece of imagination with plenty of twists, a refreshingly different setting, and excellent world-building’ Mark Lawrence

‘Memorable characters and great action’ Django Wexler

‘Excellent epic fantasy’ BookBag

Find Anthony Ryan online at his website or on Twitter.

Cover Launch: Age of Assassins by RJ Barker

It’s a game of
ASSASSIN VERSUS ASSASSIN
when Girton Club-Foot and his master are hired by a queen to catch the killer who’s coming for her son.

Set in a world ravaged by magic and the ambition of noblemen, this debut epic fantasy features a cast of assassins, knights and fools which will delight any fan of Brent Weeks, Robin Hobb or Assassin’s Creed. AGE OF ASSASSINS is coming to Orbit this August.

Our fantastic cover has been designed by Tom Sanderson, at the-parish.com.

If you’d like to know more about RJ Barker, watch our 2017 debut author video  (skip to 1:17 for RJ’s section) or follow him on twitter at @dedbutdrmng.

THE FIFTH WARD: FIRST WATCH by Dale Lucas

LIVE BY THE LAW OR DIE BY THE SWORD.

The Fifth Ward series by Dale Lucas gives us a rare glimpse into a fantasy city at a time when a hero isn’t on a journey and a dark lord isn’t threatening to destroy the world. Instead, we meet two reluctant partners on the Wardwatch – Rem, a human trying to escape his past, and Torval, a dwarf with a maul who hits first and asks questions later.

As members of the Wardwatch, they’re responsible for keeping the peace in a city teeming with drug dealing orcs, mind-controlling elves, uncooperative mages, and humans being typical humans.

The Fifth Ward is every buddy cop movie you’ve ever loved mixed with your favorite fantasy setting. I promise, you are not too old for this sh*t.

First Watch

 

Cover by Sammy Yuen

Cover Launch: THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS

Witness the spectacular cover for THE DRAGON LORDS: FALSE IDOLS (US | UK | AUS), the second novel in this rollicking fantasy adventure series that takes us to a world where dragons run the show. Look for it in August!

The Dragons who once ruled over the land are dead. 

The motley crew that stumbled through that revolution are rich and praised as saviors. 

Everyone gets to live happily ever after, right? 

Right? 

Well, it might have worked out that way if the dragons in Kondorra had been the only ones. If they hadn’t been just the tip of the spear about to fall upon the whole world…

Praise for THE DRAGON LORDS: FOOL’S GOLD (US | UK | AUS):

“Ideal for fans of humorous capers and heist stories – such as Ocean’s 11, Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence series, and Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga.”—Booklist

“Hollins ladles on the humor while hardly skimping on the action, the unexpected plot swerves, or the glorious feels.”—B&N Science Fiction & Fantasy Blog

“Hollins’s seat-of-the-pants fantasy comedy snowballs wildly into a glorious disaster of fire, magic, multiple threats to people’s intestines, and fun — for the reader, if not the characters.”—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Crystal Sully

 

Cover Launch: AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME by James Islington

James Islington exploded onto the fantasy scene last year with his blockbuster debut THE SHADOW OF WHAT WAS LOST [UK/US/ANZ]. Now this epic tale of adventure continues in AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME [UK/US] – and we’re delighted to share the amazing cover with you!

Jacket design: Lauren Panepinto / illustration by Dominick Saponaro

DARKNESS FALLS ACROSS A LAND IN DESPERATE NEED OF HEROES

An amnesty has been declared for all Augurs – finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against Andarra. However, as Davian and his new allies hurry north towards the ever-weakening Boundary, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

Meanwhile, Caeden continues to wrestle with the impossibly heavy burdens of his past. Yet as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realise that the motivations of the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed . . .

AN ECHO OF THINGS TO COME will be published in August!

Praise for the Licanius trilogy

‘A storytelling assurance rare for a debut . . . Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire’ Guardian

‘Wonderful worldbuilding and terrific characters’ Boingboing.net

‘Will appeal to anybody looking for a coming-of-age fantasy tale with likeable characters and strong worldbuilding’ Fantasy Faction

‘Love the Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favourite series’ Barnes & Noble SF and Fantasy Blog

Cover Launch: SOUL OF THE WORLD by David Mealing

Here, darkness looms on the horizon. An army marches towards war. And a figure stands on the precipice of destruction. Intrigued yet? Rich. Complex. Brilliant. SOUL OF THE WORLD (US | UK | AUS)  is a masterwork of world-building—an epic of intricate magics, world-ending battles, and matters of empire. Make sure to check out David Mealing’s breathtaking debut June 2017!


Three must fight. Three must die. Three must rise.

It is a time of revolution. In the cities, food shortages stir citizens to riots against the crown. In the wilds, new magic threatens the dominance of the tribes. And on the battlefields, even the most brilliant commanders struggle in the shadow of total war. Three lines of magic must be mastered in order to usher in a new age, and three heroes must emerge.

Erris is a brilliant cavalry officer trying to defend New Sarresant from an enemy general armed with magic she barely understands.

Arak’Jur wields the power of beasts to keep his people safe, but his strength cannot protect them from war amongst themselves.

Sarine is an artist on the streets of New Sarresant whose secret familiar helps her uncover bloodlust and madness where she expected only revolutionary fervor.

Each must learn the secrets of their power in time to guide their people through ruin. But a greater evil may be trying to stop them.

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Art © Arcangel-Images

Cover Launch: FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark

Behold, the marvelous cover for FORGOTTEN WORLDS by D. Nolan Clark, the action-packed second novel in the Silence trilogy, an epic space adventure tale of fighting against terrible odds – and the terror of realizing that we’re no longer alone in the unforgiving dark of the universe.

Forgotten Worlds

Aleister Lanoe has won a stunning victory against the alien armada that threatened Niraya, but it’s not enough to satisfy his desire for vengeance. He won’t rest until he’s located the armada’s homeworld and reduced it to ashes.

Yet his personal vendetta will have to wait. Lanoe now faces a desperate race against time, and the merciless Centrocor corporation, if he’s to secure the Earth’s future – and discover the truth he seeks.

The battle is over. But the war has only just begun.

Praise for FORSAKEN SKIES (US | UK | AUS):

“Unforgettable characters and is jam-packed with action [and] adventure… one readers will not want to miss.”—Booklist

“About as exciting an action story set in space as any this reviewer has seen in print in quite some time. It is worth the read… a terrific and thrilling novel.”—SciFi Magazine

“Gripping writing, a brilliantly realized future culture and sympathetic characters . . . an entertaining and compelling read.”—SFX Magazine

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Illustration by Victor Mosquera

Cover Launch: THE FALL OF DRAGONS by Miles Cameron

Miles Cameron is back again with the dark, deadly, and much anticipated final volume in the Traitor Son Cycle that began with THE RED KNIGHT. With a cover as exciting as the book, look out for THE FALL OF DRAGONS in October 2017.

The blood-thirsty, epic Traitor Son Cycle comes to its gripping conclusion in this fifth and final book.

Battle cries ring out from every corner of the world, and the cost of unending war begins to fracture every alliance. The Red Knight must hold his allies to their pacts and win every skirmish and every battle to preserve the world they share, even as it becomes evident that this is not the first time.

Can the Alliance seize control of Destiny? Or will they war among themselves and fall?

Not caught up? There’s still time to check out the first four books!

Design by Lauren Panepinto
Lettering by Zelda Devon
Illustration by Epica Prima/Alejandro Colucci