Posts Tagged ‘Adrian Tchaikovsky’

Acquisition Announcement: Children of Memory by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Orbit is thrilled to announce our acquisition of Children of Memory (US), the unmissable follow-up to the highly acclaimed Children of Time and Children of Ruin, by Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author Adrian Tchaikovsky. In this modern classic of space opera, humanity continues to battle for survival in the stars.Children of Memory by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Earth failed. In a desperate bid to escape, the spaceship Enkidu carried its precious human cargo to a potential new paradise. Generations later, this fragile colony has managed to survive, eking out a hardy existence. Yet life is tough, and much technological knowledge has been lost.

 Then strangers appear. They possess unparalleled knowledge and thrilling technology—and they’ve arrived from another world—to help humanity’s colonies. But not all is as it seems, and the price of the strangers’ help may be the colony itself.

 

Children of Memory (US) will be on shelves in January 2023. While you wait, check out Children of Time and Children of Ruin. And if you want more Adrian Tchaikovsky, look no further than his new space opera trilogy, The Final Architecture—Shards of Earth and Eyes of the Void available now.

Children of Time by Adrian TchaikovskyChildren of Ruin by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Shards of Earth by Adrian TchaikovskyEyes of the Void by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Praise for Adrian Tchaikovsky:

“Brilliant science fiction and far-out worldbuilding.” —James McAvoy on Children of Time

“One of the most interesting and accomplished writers in speculative fiction.” —Christopher Paolini

“A novel of sublime plot twists and spectacular set pieces, all underpinned by great ideas.” —Stephen Baxter on Children of Ruin

Children of Time is a joy from start to finish. Entertaining, smart, surprising, and unexpectedly human.” —Patrick Ness

 

*Children of Memory is published by Pan Macmillan in the UK.

Cover Launch: SHARDS OF EARTH by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Arthur C. Clarke award-winning author, Adrian Tchaikovsky has written his most visionary and exciting space opera yet. The start of a new series, SHARDS OF EARTH is a tale of ancient alien enemies, heroes long forgotten, and a strange artifact buried on the far outskirts of space that could harbinger a new intergalactic war. This sparkling, inventive novel for fans of James S. A. Corey and John Scalzi is a joy from start to finish and sure to be on your shelf of all-time space opera greats! While you wait for it to publish on August 3rd, check out the book’s incredible cover!

Cover Design © Steve Stone

The war is over. Its heroes forgotten. Until one chance discovery . . .

Idris has neither aged nor slept since they remade him in the war. And one of humanity’s heroes now scrapes by on a freelance salvage vessel, to avoid the attention of greater powers.

After earth was destroyed, mankind created a fighting elite to save their species, enhanced humans such as Idris. In the silence of space they could communicate, mind-to-mind, with the enemy. Then their alien aggressors, the Architects, simply disappeared – and Idris and his kind became obsolete.

Now, fifty years later, Idris and his crew have discovered something strange abandoned in space. It’s clearly the work of the Architects – but are they returning? And if so, why? Hunted by gangsters, cults and governments, Idris and his crew race across the galaxy hunting for answers. For they now possess something of incalculable value, that many would kill to obtain.

Acquisition News: Orbit to publish a new science fiction trilogy from Adrian Tchaikovsky!

We are thrilled to announce that we have acquired three new science fiction novels by Adrian Tchaikovsky, the Arthur C. Clarke Award-winning author of CHILDREN OF TIME and CHILDREN OF RUIN, for publication in the US. The books were acquired from Pan Macmillan, who will publish the novels on the Tor imprint in the UK, by Orbit senior editor Brit Hvide.

The new far-future science fiction trilogy begins with SHARDS OF EARTH, which will be published worldwide in spring 2021. The novel is set fifty years after a war that nearly extinguished humanity, when the enemies of the human race reappear after a long silence.

Adrian Tchaikovsky says: “I am absolutely delighted to launch this new space opera. I had a blast writing the first volume and I’m looking forward to everywhere the series is going to go.”

Tchaikovsky’s next work is THE DOORS OF EDEN, which will be published by Orbit in the US on September 22, 2020.

Praise for Adrian Tchaikovsky: 

“Children of Time is a joy from start to finish. Entertaining, smart, surprising and unexpectedly human.” —Patrick Ness

“Brilliant science fiction and far out world building” —James McAvoy

“A refreshingly new take on post-dystopia civilizations, with the smartest evolutionary worldbuilding you’ll ever read” — Peter F Hamilton

“A magnificently imaginative space opera.” — B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

“Like a Stephen Baxter novel with an epic sweep of history, added to a broad cast of a Peter Hamilton Space Opera and the narrative drive of, say, a David Brin or a Greg Bear old style SF novel, Children of Time soon got me hooked.” SFF World

“Children of Time has that essence of the classic science fiction novels, that sense of wonder and unfettered imagination but combined with this is the charm of a writer who really knows how to entertain, how to spin a good story. Essential science fiction, a book not to be missed.” — SF Book

“The novel’s clever interrogation of the usual narrative of planetary conquest, and its thoughtful depiction of two alien civilisations attempting to understand each other, is an exemplar of classic widescreen science fiction.” —New Scientist

“This is superior stuff, tackling big themes – gods, messiahs, artificial intelligence, alienness – with brio.” —Financial Times

“An entertaining and thought provoking novel of post humanity, survival and legacy.” — SF Signal

“Tchaikovsky’s prose is superb, and his world-building was exceptional, brilliantly realized on the page, and both fascinating and original.” — Civilian Reader

Cover Launch: CHILDREN OF RUIN by Adrian Tchaikovsky

Orbit is proud to be the US home for Adrian Tchaikovsky’s Arthur C. Clarke’s award-winning novel CHILDREN OF TIME and its sequel CHILDREN OF RUIN. Ambitious, thought provoking, and immersive, it’s a modern classic perfect for fans of SF giants like Iain M. Banks, Peter F. Hamilton and Alastair Reynolds.

Everyone from author/screenwriter Peter Ness to actor James McAvoy has praised this epic story of humanity’s battle for survival on a terraformed planet. And Lionsgate has optioned it for film adaptation.

The US edition of Children of Time just came out this week, and Children of Ruin will be on US bookshelves in May 2019.

 

“Children of Time is a joy from start to finish. Entertaining, smart, surprising and unexpectedly human.”—Patrick Ness

“Brilliant science fiction and far out world building.” — James McAvoy

“The smartest evolutionary worldbuilding you’ll ever read.” —Peter F Hamilton

“This is superior stuff, tackling big themes – gods, messiahs, artificial intelligence, alienness – with brio.” —Financial Times

“Packed with ingenious ideas … classic widescreen space opera.”—New Scientist

*Children of Time and Children of Ruin are published by Pan Macmillan in the UK.

Images by Shutterstock