Posts Tagged ‘book cover’

Cover Launch: THE SHADOW SAINT by Gareth Hanrahan

Earlier this year, Gareth Hanrahan’s highly anticipated debut, THE GUTTER PRAYER took the fantasy world by storm, introducing a world of sorcerers and thieves, broken gods and dangerous magic.

The epic tale will continue in THE SHADOW SAINT, the gripping second novel in the Black Iron Legacy and we’re thrilled to reveal the stunning cover below:

 

Shadow Saint

Illustration by Richard Anderson
Design by Steve Panton

 

AS THE GODSWAR DRAWS EVER CLOSER AND TENSIONS WITHIN THE CITY ESCALATE, HOW LONG WILL THE PEOPLE OF GUERDON BE ABLE TO KEEP THEIR ENEMIES AT BAY?

The Shadow Saint will hit the shops in January, so if you haven’t discovered the magic of The Gutter Prayer yet there’s still plenty of time to dive in! It’s available in paperback, ebook and audio, read by the wonderful John Banks.

Praise for The Gutter Prayer:

‘Ground breaking and extraordinary’ Peter McLean
‘Captivating’ Nicholas Eames
‘Mind-blowingly stellar in every respect’ Novel Notions
‘Absolutely stunning’ Michael R. Fletcher
‘We can’t wait to dive in to book two’ SciFiNow
‘A gripping, darkly inventive tale’ James Islington
‘Masterful drama, expert dialogue, brilliant characters’ Fantasy Book Review
‘I await the sequel with the keenest anticipation’ Anthony Ryan
‘A mercurial masterpiece . . . Astounding’ Fantasy Hive
‘Put simply, you need to read this’ The Fantasy Inn
‘A brilliant, imaginative debut’ Fantasy Book Critic
‘Undoubtedly, the debut of the year’ Booknest

 

Gareth Hanrahan’s three-month break from computer programming to concentrate on writing has now lasted fifteen years and counting. He’s written more gaming books than he can readily recall, by virtue of the alchemical transmutation of tea and guilt into words. He lives in Ireland with his wife and twin sons.

Follow him on Twitter at @mytholder.

Cover Launch: THE GAMESHOUSE by Claire North

A new Claire North novel is always a cause for excitement – and this year, we are publishing not one, but two books from the author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August! First up is THE GAMESHOUSE (UK|US|ANZ), which will hit shops in May. It’s a mesmerising tale of a mystical gambling house whose deadly games of chance and skill control the fate of empires.

The lovely people at Fantasy Hive revealed the stunning cover earlier this week. Click here to take a look, or  feast your eyes on it below.

 

Gameshouse

Cover design by Lisa Marie Pompilio 

Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

Everyone has heard of the Gameshouse. But few know all its secrets . . .

It is the place where fortunes can be made and lost though chess, backgammon – every game under the sun.

But those whom fortune favours may be invited to compete in the higher league where the games played are of politics and nations, of economics and kings. It is a contest where Capture the Castle involves real castles and where hide and seek takes place on the scale of a continent.

Among those worthy of competing in the higher league, three unusually talented contestants play for the highest stakes of all . . .

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS THREE DIGITAL-ONLY INSTALMENTS: THE SERPENT, THE THIEF AND THE MASTER.

 

Praise for Claire North:

‘North’s talent shines out’  Sunday Times

‘Claire North goes from strength to strength’  Guardian

‘An original and even dazzling writer’  Kirkus

‘Claire North is a true original, a master of ingenious plotting and feats of imagination’  Alex Marwood

‘Claire North’s writing is terrific, smart and entertaining’  Patrick Ness

 

Cover Launch: SPLINTERED SUNS by Michael Cobley

Here at Orbit we love an action-packed, galaxy-spanning space opera, and Michael Cobley’s new Humanity’s Fire novel, SPLINTERED SUNS (UK|US|ANZ), ticks all the boxes! With a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, this latest offering from the author of Seeds of Earth is perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or Farscape  Feast your eyes on the recently revealed cover below:

 

Splintered SunsIllustration by Steve Stone. Design by Charlotte Stroomer.

 

Splintered Suns will hit the shops in December. Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

For Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet’s vast and trackless sandy wastes.
Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke’s, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Cover Reveal: THE CHAOS OF LUCK

Below is the out-of-this-world cover for THE CHAOS OF LUCK by Catherine Cerveny. The Chaos of Luck is the sequel to The Rule of Luck, an exhilarating science fiction romance from our sister imprint Redhook. Cover design by Wendy Chan. Cerveny_ChaosOfLuck_EB.jpg

Felicia Sevigny makes her own luck. So it’s no surprise that her new life on the Red Planet is off to a good start. She’s making a living reading the fortunes of the fabulously wealthy, and making a home with Alexei, the dangerous, handsome love of her life. 

Then Alexei is called off planet expectedly, mines in the astroid belt start collapsing, and an ex-lover walks back into Felicia’s life. Felicia’s readings predict that there is something bigger going on. Something darker and far more insidious that threatens everything she has come to love. 

And as luck would have it, the cards are right for things to go horribly wrong.

The Chaos of Luck will be publishing this fall in ebook ($2.99). And if you haven’t already met Felicia and Alexei, pick up The Rule of Luck and fall in love with this series today.

“A fascinating premise. Cerveny’s future world is richly drawn, and Felicia’s and Alexei’s adventure is definitely an edge-of-your-seat ride.” — Linnea Sinclair, award-winning author of the Dock Five Universe series

Cover launch: FELLSIDE by M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

Orbit is very pleased to reveal the cover for the haunting and heartbreaking new thriller from M. R. Carey, author of the word-of-mouth bestseller THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS (UK | US | ANZ). FELLSIDE will be released worldwide in hardback, ebook and audiobook in April 2016.

FELLSIDE by M R Carey author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors. It’s not the kind of place you’d want to end up. But it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life.

It’s a place where even the walls whisper.

And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess.

Will she listen?

Praise for THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS:

‘Original, thrilling and powerful’ – Guardian

‘Haunting, heartbreaking’ – Vogue

‘A great read that takes hold of you and doesn´t let go’ – John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

‘Scary, tense and fast-paced . . . but with a heart-warming tenderness’ – Marie Claire

‘So surprising, so warm and yet so chilling . . . As fresh as it is terrifying’ – Joss Whedon

Cover Launch: FIREBORN by David Dalglish

Today, we’re very excited to unveil the newest novel in the the Seraphim series by USA Today bestselling author, David Dalglish.  If you like aerial combat, swords on fire and more than a touch of mayham and war, then this is the series for you.

Dalglish_Fireborn_TP
Art by Tommy Arnold, Design by Kirk Benshoff

Bree and Kael Skyborn have seen their island invaded, their Seraphim disbanded, and their royal family imprisoned.

A rebellion grows from the ashes, demanding Bree to be their Phoenix, their symbol against Center’s tyranny, and for Kael to find the doomsday prophet Johan and sway his cult to their side.

Should they fail, the hope of their rebellion fails with them.

This is the second novel in the trilogy and follows Skyborn, (US | UK | ANZ) which is out this November and it is available for pre-order now. To read more about the cover design process and the art of Tommy Arnold, check out this article.

Dalglish_Skyborn-TP.jpg“David Dalglish’s Skyborn is a compelling story. More than anything it reminds me of the best aspects of the Final Fantasy (ital or no?) games with their flying islands, fast pacing, and tonal mix of sunlight and shadow. Once you pick up Skyborn you won’t want to put it down, as the story carries you along from one high contrast moment to the next. Dalglish has really mastered the art of focusing the reader’s attention. I expect this series to fly off the shelves.”
—Kelly McCullough

“A soaring tale that nails the high notes. Skyborn had me gazing heavenward, imagining what could be.”
—Jay Posey