Posts Tagged ‘cover art’

Cover Launch: THE PURSUIT OF WILLIAM ABBEY by Claire North

We’re thrilled to reveal the stunning cover for THE PURSUIT OF WILLIAM ABBEY (UK|US|ANZ) by Claire North, the award-winning and bestselling author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August and 84K.

 

William Abbey

Design by Steve Panton

 

Coming this autumn, THE PURSUIT OF WILLIAM ABBEY is a hauntingly powerful novel about how the choices we make can stay with us forever.

Read on to find out more:

South Africa, 1884. A young and naive English doctor by the name of William Abbey witnesses the lynching of a local boy by white colonists. He’s guilt-struck, but too cowardly to stand up against this horrific act. And as the child dies, his mother curses William.

William begins to understand when what the curse means when the shadow of the dead boy starts following him across the world. It never stops, never rests. It can cross oceans and mountains. And if it catches him, the person he loves most in the world will die . . .

Moving, thought-provoking and utterly gripping, Claire North’s stunning new novel proves again that she is one of the most original and innovative voices in modern fiction.

 

And if you can’t wait until November for your next Claire North fix, never fear! Her latest book has just hit the shops: THE GAMESHOUSE is a mesmerising tale of a mystical gambling house whose deadly games of chance and skill control the fate of empires.

Gameshouse

 

Praise for Claire North:

‘North’s talent shines out’ Sunday Times

‘Claire North goes from strength to strength’ Guardian

‘An original and even dazzling writer’ Kirkus

‘North is a true original, a master of ingenious plotting and feats of imagination’ Alex Marwood

‘Claire North’s writing is terrific, smart and entertaining’ Patrick Ness

The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North

THE SUDDEN APPEARANCE OF HOPE cover

84k, a science fiction dystopian novel by Claire North

Cover Launch: THE SHADOW SAINT by Gareth Hanrahan

Earlier this year, Gareth Hanrahan’s highly anticipated debut, THE GUTTER PRAYER took the fantasy world by storm, introducing a world of sorcerers and thieves, broken gods and dangerous magic.

The epic tale will continue in THE SHADOW SAINT, the gripping second novel in the Black Iron Legacy and we’re thrilled to reveal the stunning cover below:

 

Shadow Saint

Illustration by Richard Anderson
Design by Steve Panton

 

AS THE GODSWAR DRAWS EVER CLOSER AND TENSIONS WITHIN THE CITY ESCALATE, HOW LONG WILL THE PEOPLE OF GUERDON BE ABLE TO KEEP THEIR ENEMIES AT BAY?

The Shadow Saint will hit the shops in January, so if you haven’t discovered the magic of The Gutter Prayer yet there’s still plenty of time to dive in! It’s available in paperback, ebook and audio, read by the wonderful John Banks.

Praise for The Gutter Prayer:

‘Ground breaking and extraordinary’ Peter McLean
‘Captivating’ Nicholas Eames
‘Mind-blowingly stellar in every respect’ Novel Notions
‘Absolutely stunning’ Michael R. Fletcher
‘We can’t wait to dive in to book two’ SciFiNow
‘A gripping, darkly inventive tale’ James Islington
‘Masterful drama, expert dialogue, brilliant characters’ Fantasy Book Review
‘I await the sequel with the keenest anticipation’ Anthony Ryan
‘A mercurial masterpiece . . . Astounding’ Fantasy Hive
‘Put simply, you need to read this’ The Fantasy Inn
‘A brilliant, imaginative debut’ Fantasy Book Critic
‘Undoubtedly, the debut of the year’ Booknest

 

Gareth Hanrahan’s three-month break from computer programming to concentrate on writing has now lasted fifteen years and counting. He’s written more gaming books than he can readily recall, by virtue of the alchemical transmutation of tea and guilt into words. He lives in Ireland with his wife and twin sons.

Follow him on Twitter at @mytholder.

Cover Launch: THE GAMESHOUSE by Claire North

A new Claire North novel is always a cause for excitement – and this year, we are publishing not one, but two books from the author of The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August! First up is THE GAMESHOUSE (UK|US|ANZ), which will hit shops in May. It’s a mesmerising tale of a mystical gambling house whose deadly games of chance and skill control the fate of empires.

The lovely people at Fantasy Hive revealed the stunning cover earlier this week. Click here to take a look, or  feast your eyes on it below.

 

Gameshouse

Cover design by Lisa Marie Pompilio 

Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

Everyone has heard of the Gameshouse. But few know all its secrets . . .

It is the place where fortunes can be made and lost though chess, backgammon – every game under the sun.

But those whom fortune favours may be invited to compete in the higher league where the games played are of politics and nations, of economics and kings. It is a contest where Capture the Castle involves real castles and where hide and seek takes place on the scale of a continent.

Among those worthy of competing in the higher league, three unusually talented contestants play for the highest stakes of all . . .

 

ORIGINALLY PUBLISHED AS THREE DIGITAL-ONLY INSTALMENTS: THE SERPENT, THE THIEF AND THE MASTER.

 

Praise for Claire North:

‘North’s talent shines out’  Sunday Times

‘Claire North goes from strength to strength’  Guardian

‘An original and even dazzling writer’  Kirkus

‘Claire North is a true original, a master of ingenious plotting and feats of imagination’  Alex Marwood

‘Claire North’s writing is terrific, smart and entertaining’  Patrick Ness

 

Cover Launch: SPLINTERED SUNS by Michael Cobley

Here at Orbit we love an action-packed, galaxy-spanning space opera, and Michael Cobley’s new Humanity’s Fire novel, SPLINTERED SUNS (UK|US|ANZ), ticks all the boxes! With a spaceship crewed by rogues and scoundrels, this latest offering from the author of Seeds of Earth is perfect for fans of Star Wars, Firefly or Farscape  Feast your eyes on the recently revealed cover below:

 

Splintered SunsIllustration by Steve Stone. Design by Charlotte Stroomer.

 

Splintered Suns will hit the shops in December. Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

For Pyke and his crew it should have been just another heist. Travel to a backwater desert planet, break into a museum, steal a tracking device then use it to find a ship buried in the planet’s vast and trackless sandy wastes.
Except that the museum vault is a bio-engineered chamber, and the tracking device is sought after by another gang of treasure hunters led by an old adversary of Pyke’s, the devious Raven Kaligara. Also, the ship is a quarter of a million years old and about two kilometres long and somewhere aboard it is the Essavyr Key, a relic to unlock all the treasures and technologies of a lost civilisation . . .

Cover Launch: INTO THE FIRE by Elizabeth Moon

We’re delighted to reveal the stunning cover for INTO THE FIRE (UK|ANZ), the thrilling second book in the Vatta’s Peace series by Nebula-Award-winning author Elizabeth Moon.

Into the Fire

Cover design by Sean Garrehy
Illustration by Steve Stone @ Artist partners

INTO THE FIRE will be hitting shops in February 2018 and is available for pre-order now! Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

When Admiral Kylara Vatta and a ship full of strangers were marooned on an inhospitable arctic island, they uncovered secrets that someone on Ky’s planet was ready to kill to keep hidden. Now, the existence of the mysterious arctic base has been revealed, but the organisation behind it still lurks in the shadows, doing all it can to silence her.

It is up to the intrepid Ky to force the perpetrators into the light, and uncover decades’ worth of secrets – some of which lie at the very heart of her family’s greatest tragedy.

Praise for Elizabeth Moon:

‘Sheer delight’ – Anne McCaffrey
‘Absolutely compelling’ – Greg Bear
‘Full of thrills’ – Locus
‘Unforgettable’ – Jack McDevitt
‘Hard to put down’ – SFSite.com
‘Continues to get better with every volume’ – Guardian
‘Superlative’ – Booklist
‘She deserves all her success – and more’ – SciFi.com

Cover launch: FELLSIDE by M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

Orbit is very pleased to reveal the cover for the haunting and heartbreaking new thriller from M. R. Carey, author of the word-of-mouth bestseller THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS (UK | US | ANZ). FELLSIDE will be released worldwide in hardback, ebook and audiobook in April 2016.

FELLSIDE by M R Carey author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS

Fellside is a maximum security prison on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors. It’s not the kind of place you’d want to end up. But it’s where Jess Moulson could be spending the rest of her life.

It’s a place where even the walls whisper.

And one voice belongs to a little boy with a message for Jess.

Will she listen?

Praise for THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS:

‘Original, thrilling and powerful’ – Guardian

‘Haunting, heartbreaking’ – Vogue

‘A great read that takes hold of you and doesn´t let go’ – John Ajvide Lindqvist, author of Let the Right One In

‘Scary, tense and fast-paced . . . but with a heart-warming tenderness’ – Marie Claire

‘So surprising, so warm and yet so chilling . . . As fresh as it is terrifying’ – Joss Whedon