Posts Tagged ‘dystopian fiction’

Introducing OUR WAR by Craig DiLouie

OUR WAR by Craig DiLouie is a powerful novel about the next American civil war, and the children forced to fight in the conflict. Taking a look at all sides, the novel is a prescient and gripping view on a war where not even the youngest among us are exempt.

Below is the striking cover designed by Lisa Marie Pompilio, featuring one of the protagonists, 10-year-old Hannah Miller.

Our children are our soldiers.

After his impeachment, the president of the United States refuses to leave office, and the country erupts into a fractured and violent war. Orphaned by the fighting and looking for a home, 10-year-old Hannah Miller joins a citizen militia in a besieged Indianapolis.

In the Free Women militia, Hannah finds a makeshift family. They’ll teach her how to survive. They’ll give her hope. And they’ll show her how to use a gun.

Hannah’s older brother, Alex, is a soldier too. But he’s loyal to other side, and has found his place in a militant group of fighters who see themselves as the last bastion of their America. By following their orders, Alex will soon make the ultimate decision behind the trigger.

On the battlefields of America, Hannah and Alex will risk everything for their country, but in the end they’ll fight for the only cause that truly matters — each other.

Praise for Craig DiLouie and ONE OF US (US | UK):

Praise for Craig DiLouie and One of Us:

“DiLouie continues to be the master of writing the human heart and all the terrors it contains.” — Peter Clines

“Craig DiLouie is fearless as he explores the dark territory of the human heart.” — Jonathan Maberry

“Its portrayal of hatred feels all too real — and will stay with you long after the book is done.” — The Washing Post

“One of Us is a stunning achievement in speculative fiction.” — Shelf Awareness

Cover Launch: EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU by Heather Child

We’re beyond excited to share the cover for Heather Child’s cutting-edge debut novel EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU (UK|AUS). Gripping, heartrending and quietly terrifying, this  novel imagines a world where people can be recreated as data ghosts and lives can be changed by the information they’ve left behind. It’s perfect for fans of Black Mirror and Margaret Atwood.

 

Everything About You

Cover designed by Ellen Rockell at Little, Brown Book Group

Read on for a taste of what’s in store:

Freya has a new virtual assistant. It knows what she likes, knows what she wants and knows whose voice she most needs to hear: her missing sister’s.

It adopts her sister’s personality, recreating her through a life lived online. This data ghost knows everything about Freya’s sister: every date she ever went on, every photo she took, every secret she ever shared.

In fact it knows things it shouldn’t be possible to know. It’s almost as if her sister is still out there somewhere, feeding fresh updates into the cloud. But that’s impossible. Isn’t it?

EVERYTHING ABOUT YOU will be available in hardback, ebook and audio from 26 April.

Welcome Antonia Honeywell!

Orbit US has uncovered a hidden gem with the debut novel THE SHIP by Antonia Honeywell. Gorgeous writing and a thrilling coming-of-age story combine in one of the most highly praised books in the UK last year. Elle called it “Addictive,” Harper’s Bazaar said it “…will send shivers up your spine,” and M. R. Carey called it “a beautiful futuristic fable with huge power.” THE SHIP will be making her maiden voyage across the Atlantic, reaching US audiences for the first time in April 2017, and in paperback in November 2017. You can also find Antonia on twitter at @antonia_writes

antonia-honeywell

London burned for three weeks. And then it got worse…

Lalla has grown up sheltered from the chaos amid the ruins of civilization. But things are getting more dangerous outside. People are killing each other for husks of bread, and the police are detaining anyone without an identification card. On her sixteenth birthday, Lalla’s father decides it’s time to use their escape route–a ship big enough to save five hundred people.

Aboard, her father is the beloved king of their band of survivors and she is their treasured princess. But the utopia her father has created isn’t everything it appears. There’s more food than anyone can eat, but nothing grows; more clothes than anyone can wear, but no way to mend them; and no-one can tell her where they are going.