Posts Tagged ‘Egyptian fantasy’

Cover Launch: THE DAUGHTERS OF IZDIHAR by Hadeer Elsbai

We’re thrilled to reveal the cover of the UK edition of THE DAUGHTERS OF IZDIHAR by Hadeer Elsbai, a powerful debut fantasy set in an Egyptian-inspired world featuring breathtaking elemental magic and sapphic romance.

Feast your eyes on this beautiful cover, designed by Ella Garrett at Little, Brown Book Group, and read on for a taste of what’s in store. . .

An image of the book cover of the UK edition of The Daughters of Izdihar, showing a dark blue and vibrant orange patterning with a cityscape silhouetted in bronze around the border.

Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water to her will, and pursue a glorious future on the battlefield with the first all-female military regiment. Her husband, indifferent and secretive, is in love with another woman, a poor bookseller named Giorgina.

Giorgina has her own secret. She is an earthweaver with dangerously uncontrollable powers. Her only solace comes from meetings with the Daughters of Izdihar, a women’s rights group fighting for freedom. They come from very different means, yet Nehal and Giorgina have more in common than they think.

Enticed by the group’s enigmatic leader Malak Mamdouh, the two women are drawn into a web of politics, violence and threats of war as they find themselves fighting to earn – and keep – a lasting freedom.

Praise for The Daughters of Izdihar:

‘A gorgeous, clever feminist fantasy novel rich with magic, politics, hunger and fire. An absolute must-read’ Tasha Suri, author of The Jasmine Throne

‘Hadeer Elsbai has written a powerful story of sisterhood, love, and struggle within a rich, vibrant world with complicated characters that leap from the page to smash the patriarchy!’ P. Djèlí Clark, author of A Master of Djinn

‘A wondrously rich fantasy. . . a debut not to be missed’ Shannon Chakraborty, author of The City of Brass

‘Action-packed, magic-filled, and led by two fierce, vividly-rendered women, The Daughters of Izdihar is a compelling and empowering debut’ Ava Reid, author of Juniper and Thorn

‘A thrilling tale of two women’s fight for rights in their patriarchal society, peppered with elemental magic, politics, and a relentless desire for that which is wrongly forbidden.’ Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

You can pre-order The Daughters of Izdihar now!

Acquisition Announcement: THE DAUGHTERS OF IZDIHAR by Hadeer Elsbai

Orbit UK is delighted to announce that we’ve acquired The Daughters of Izdihar by debut author Hadeer Elsbai, a powerful feminist fantasy set in an Egyptian-inspired world with breathtaking elemental magic and Sapphic romance, perfect for fans of The Jasmine Throne and The Once and Future Witches.

The Daughters of Izdihar hits shelves in January 2023, with the second book in the Alamaxa duology coming the following year!

Orbit UK assistant editor Nadia Saward acquired UK and Commonwealth rights from Caspian Dennis at Abner Stein on behalf of DongWon Song at the Howard Morhaim Literary agency, Harper Voyager will be publishing in the US. Find out more about The Daughters of Izdihar below and make sure to follow Hadeer Elsbai on Twitter for updates: @HadeerElsbai!

Photo of the author, Hadeer Elsbai

Trapped in an arranged marriage to a man she does not love, Nehal dreams of attending the Weaving Academy. There, she can take control of her powers, bending any water to her will, and pursue a glorious future on the battlefield with the first all-female military regiment. Her husband, indifferent and secretive, is in love with another woman, a poor bookseller named Giorgina.

Giorgina has her own secret. She is an earthweaver with dangerously uncontrollable powers. Her only solace comes from meetings with the Daughters of Izdihar, a women’s rights group fighting for freedom. They come from very different means, yet Nehal and Giorgina have more in common than they think.

Enticed by the group’s enigmatic leader Malak Mamdouh, the two women are drawn into a web of politics, violence and threats of war as they find themselves fighting to earn – and keep – a lasting freedom.