Posts Tagged ‘Fortuna’

Cover Launch: FORTUNA by Kristyn Merbeth

Every so often, we look at a cover and say, “Wow, that’s awesome,” and then we think about it some more and realize we could make it even more awesome. Case in point below. Check out the terrific, neon-drenched, absolutely rad cover update for FORTUNA that reflects the characters, adventure, and high-octane energy of Kristyn Merbeth’s new space opera.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Illustrations by Arcangel / Shutterstock

Fortuna publishes on November 05, 2019. We can’t wait for you to meet Scorpia, Corvus, and the rest of the Kaiser family in this new trilogy that will hook you from the first crash landing.

Scorpia Kaiser has always stood in Corvus’s shadow until the day her older brother abandons their family to participate in a profitless war. However, becoming the heir to her mother’s smuggling operation is not an easy transition for the always rebellious, usually reckless, and occasionally drunk pilot of the Fortuna, an aging cargo ship and the only home Scorpia has ever known.

But when a deal turns deadly and Corvus returns from the war, Scorpia’s plans to take over the family business are interrupted, and the Kaiser siblings are forced to make a choice: take responsibility for their family’s involvement in a devastating massacre or lay low and hope it blows over.

Too bad Scorpia was never any good at staying out of a fight.

Perfect for fans of Becky Chambers and Catherynne M. Valente, Fortuna introduces a dazzling new voice in science fiction.

PRAISE:

“A voice to watch in space opera!” — K. B. Wagers, author of There Before the Chaos

“The narrative is powered by a cast of deeply developed characters . . . . The nonstop action and varying levels of tension make this an unarguable page-turner.” — Kirkus

Cover Launch: FORTUNA by Kristyn Merbeth

Space is filled with smugglers. People who live on the fringes of civilized society, making their money by trading and selling items that are…less than legal. Except sometimes you make a back alley deal with a corrupt government, and all of a sudden you’re wrapped up in a web of conspiracies that might just ignite a war between every habitable planet in the galaxy.

That’s where Scorpia Kaiser finds herself in Kristyn Merbeth’s new space opera, FORTUNA. It’s epic in scope, and tells the story of a family of smugglers who are in way over their heads. If they can’t save the galaxy, (and how can they when they can barely get along?) then humanity may be headed for a war that will not end well.

Check out the striking cover below. The stars are her destination.

Design by Lisa Marie Pompilio; Illustrations by Arcangel / Shutterstock

The first book in a fast-paced space opera trilogy where a young woman leads a family of smugglers who become unwittingly involved in a galactic war.

There’s only one thing Scorpia Kaiser wants in the whole galaxy: to finally own Fortuna, the ship she pilots and the only home she’s ever known. But when it becomes clear her predecessor – the family matriarch – has been secretly dealing with various planetary governments, Scorpia realizes that her own family may be the reason the system’s five planets are headed toward a devastating war.

Lies, manipulation, and profit are all she’s ever been taught, but as she ascends into her new position, Scorpia finds she has the chance to change everything. Yet even as she takes on more responsibility for the family’s fate, fortune and influence, she is not at all sure she’s ready for it –  even worse, she may not have the support of her crew, particularly her brother and rival, Corvus.

To stop the war, she’ll have to unite her family and unravel the chaos they’ve left in their wake.

Fortuna publishes in Fall 2019.

New Acquisition: FORTUNA by Kristyn Merbeth

Orbit has acquired world English rights to science fiction author Kristyn Merbeth’s galaxy-spanning space opera trilogy about a family of interplanetary smugglers. In the far future, five generation ships travel to a distant galaxy to settle on five habitable planets. As each planet develops, new customs and traditions arise. And the longer these planets go without communication, the more hate and fear shut them off from each other, until eventually, the system is on the brink of all-out war.

Book One, FORTUNA, follows Scorpia Kaiser, a young woman who must assume leadership of her family’s space-faring black-market business dealings after her mother, the matriarch, steps down. Now, she discovers that she has inherited far more than a ship and a crew, and her decisions will have dire ramifications for all of humanity’s newest homes.

The trilogy has the vast scope of your favorite space operas, and an action-packed pace to keep the pages turning. FORTUNA is scheduled for Fall 2019.