Posts Tagged ‘h. g parry’

Acquisition Announcement: THE MAGICIAN’S DAUGHTER by H. G. Parry

Redhook is thrilled to announce the acquisition of H. G. Parry’s charming new historical fantasy novel, THE MAGICIAN’S DAUGHTER. Perfect for fans of Alix E. Harrow and Naomi Novik, The Magician’s Daughter follows a young woman raised on an isolated island who discovers things aren’t as they seem as she ventures into early 1900s England to help return magic to the world. Do you want to know more? I bet you do!

You can read more about the book below, and while you wait for it to arrive at your nearest bookstore in fall 2022, follow Hannah on Twitter @hg_parry and check out her previous novels, THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP (US | UK)  and The Shadow Histories duology!

 

It is 1912, and for the last seventy years magic has all but disappeared from the world. Yet magic is all Biddy has ever known.

Orphaned in a shipwreck as a baby, Biddy grew up on Hy-Brasil, a legendary island off the coast of Ireland hidden by magic and glimpsed by rare travelers who return with stories of wild black rabbits and a lone magician in a castle. To Biddy, the island is her home, a place of ancient trees and sea-salt air and mysteries, and the magician, Rowan, is her guardian. She loves both, but as her seventeenth birthday approaches, she is stifled by her solitude and frustrated by Rowan’s refusal to let her leave. He himself leaves almost every night, transforming into a raven and flying to the mainland, and never tells her where or why he goes.

One night, Rowan fails to come home from his mysterious travels. When Biddy ventures into his nightmares to rescue him, she learns not only where he goes every night, but the terrible things that happened in the last days of magic that caused Rowan to flee to Hy-Brasil. Rowan has powerful enemies who threaten the safety of the island. Biddy’s determination to protect her home and her guardian takes her away from the safety of the island, to the poorhouses of Whitechapel, a secret castle beneath London streets, the ruins of an ancient civilization, and finally to a desperate chance to restore lost magic. But the closer she comes to answers, the more she comes to question everything she has ever believed about Rowan, her origins, and the cost of bringing magic back into the world.

Orbit US editor Nivia Evans acquired World English rights from Hannah Bowman at Liza Dawson Associates.

Cover Launch: A RADICAL ACT OF FREE MAGIC by H. G. Parry

Enjoy history as you’ve never seen it before! A RADICAL ACT OF FREE MAGIC is the ambitious sequel to H. G. Parry’s A DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF MAGICIANS (US | UK), which Publishers Weekly gave a starred review and called a “poetic tale of justice, liberation, and dark magic.” While you wait in anticipation for its July 2021 release, feast your eyes on the brilliant cover designed by Orbit’s own Lisa Marie Pompilio.

The Concord has been broken, and a war of magic engulfs the world.

In France, the brilliant young battle-mage Napoleon Bonaparte has summoned a kraken from the depths, and under his command the Army of the Dead have all but conquered Europe. Britain fights back, protected by the gulf of the channel and powerful fire-magic, but Wilberforce’s own battle to bring about free magic and abolition has met a dead end in the face of an increasingly fearful and repressive government. In Saint Domingue, Fina watches as Toussaint Louverture navigates these opposing forces to liberate the country.

But there is another, even darker war being fought beneath the surface: the first vampire war in hundreds of years. The enemy blood magician who orchestrated Robespierre’s downfall is using the Revolutionary Wars to bring about a return to dark magic to claim all of Europe. Across the world, only a few know of his existence and the choices they make will shape the new age of magic.

Praise for A DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF MAGICIANS

“A rich, sprawling epic full of history and magic, Declaration is Jonathan Strange with international politics and vampires. I loved it.”  —Alix E. Harrow, author of The Ten Thousand Doors of January

“A witty, riveting historical fantasy…. Parry has a historian’s eye for period detail and weaves real figures from history-including Robespierre and Toussaint L’Ouverture-throughout her poetic tale of justice, liberation, and dark magic. This is a knockout.”  —Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“Impeccably researched and epically written, this novel is a stellar start to what promises to be a grand new fantasy series.”  —Booklist (starred review)

“I absolutely loved it. It held my attention from the beginning and throughout. It’s a beautiful tapestry of words, a combination of carefully observed and researched history and a well-thought-out and fascinating system of magic. An absolute delight to read; splendid and fluid, with beautiful and complex use of language.”  —Genevieve Cogman, author of The Invisible Library

“Magnificent…[turns] the part of history class you might have slept through into something new, exciting and deeply magical.” —BookPage

“Fans of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell will be enchanted by this sprawling epic of revolution and dark magic.”   —Locus

“It’s no simple task to wrangle fifteen years of tumult in a few hundred pages, but Parry manages it with a deft hand. Her alternate history puts a human face on the titans of the past, while weaving in supernatural elements that add a whole new dimension. I stayed up well past my bedtime to find out what happens next.” —Marie Brennan, author of the Memoirs of Lady Trent series

“Impressively intricate; fans of the magic-and-history of Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell will be delighted.”  —Alexandra Rowland, author of A Conspiracy of Truths

Cover Launch: A DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF MAGICIANS by H. G. Parry

If you loved Susanna Clarke’s Jonathan Strange & Mr Norell or Zen Cho’s Sorcerer to the Crown, we have great news! A DECLARATION OF THE RIGHTS OF MAGICIANS, H.G. Parry’s Age of Enlightenment-set story of magic, war, and the struggle for freedom, is coming June 2020. In the meantimeyou can behold its enchanting cover designed by Orbit’s own Lisa Marie Pompilio.

A sweeping tale of revolution and wonder in a world not quite like our own.

It is the Age of Enlightenment — of new and magical political movements, from the necromancer Robespierre calling for revolution in France to the weather mage Toussaint L’Ouverture leading the slaves of Haiti in their fight for freedom, to the bold new Prime Minister William Pitt weighing the legalization of magic amongst commoners in Britain and abolition throughout its colonies overseas. 

But amidst all of the upheaval of the early modern world, there is an unknown force inciting all of human civilization into violent conflict. And it will require the combined efforts of revolutionaries, magicians, and abolitionists to unmask this hidden enemy before the whole world falls to darkness and chaos.

THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP by H. G. Parry

We’re delighted to present the beautiful cover for THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP (US|UK|ANZ), designed by Orbit’s amazing Lisa Marie Pompilio. If you loved The Magicians, Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore, or The Invisible Library, don’t miss this ultimate book-lover’s fantasy, which features a young scholar with the power to bring literary characters into the world.

 

 

For his entire life, Charley Sutherland has concealed a magical ability he can’t quite control: he can bring characters from books into the real world. His older brother, Rob – a young lawyer with an utterly normal life – hopes that this strange family secret will disappear with disuse, and he will be discharged from his duty of protecting Charley and the real world from each other.

But then, literary characters start causing trouble in their city, making threats about destroying the world, and for once, it isn’t Charley’s doing. There’s someone else out there who shares his powers and it’s up to Charley and a reluctant Rob to stop them – before anyone gets to The End.

Praise for The Unlikely Escape of Uriah Heep:

“Many have tried and some have succeeded in writing mashups with famed literary characters, but Parry knocks it out of the park . . . Just plain wonderful.”—Kirkus

“A delightful blend of adventure and mystery and marvel, a story in which the fantastical becomes real…. Beautifully-written.”—Louisa Morgan

“With vibrant characters and a passion for story that shines through every word, this engaging read establishes Parry as a writer to watch.”—Kat Howard

“Daring…. Parry writes with the keen insight of Sherlock Holmes, the generous heart of David Copperfield, and the haunting soul of Dorian Grey.”—Jordanna Max Brodsky

“A joyous adventure through all the tales you’ve ever loved. Funny, charming, clever and heartfelt.”—Tasha Suri

“Clever, emotionally compelling, and teeming with witty allusions…. Reminiscent of the literary world-bending adventures of Jasper Fforde’s Thursday Next.”—Cass Morris

“Engaging and intelligent… kept me turning the pages.”—Rowenna Miller

“A rollicking adventure that thrills like Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere mashed up with Penny Dreadful in the best post-modern way…. One of your most fun reads this year.”—Mike Chen