Posts Tagged ‘Megan E. O’Keefe’

Cover Launch: THE BLIGHTED STARS by Megan E. O’Keefe

The Blighted Stars (US | UK) is the first installment in The Devoured Worlds, Megan E. O’Keefe’s brand new science fiction trilogy beginning May 2023. Take a look at the stunning cover and catch the synopsis below!

The Blighted Stars by Megan E. O'Keefe

Cover Design by Lauren Panepinto; Cover Illustration by Jaime Jones

When a spy is stranded on a dead planet with her mortal enemy, she must first figure out how to survive before she can uncover the conspiracy that landed them there. This first book in a new epic space opera trilogy by award-winning author Megan E. O’Keefe is perfect for fans of Children of Time, Semiosis, and Ancillary Justice.

She’s a revolutionary. Humanity is running out of options. Habitable planets are being destroyed as quickly as they’re found and Naira Sharp thinks she knows the reason why. The all-powerful Mercator family has been controlling the exploration of the universe for decades, and exploiting any materials they find along the way under the guise of helping humanity’s expansion. But Naira knows the truth, and she plans to bring the whole family down from the inside.

He’s the heir to the dynasty. Tarquin Mercator never wanted to run a galaxy-spanning business empire. He just wanted to study rocks and read books. But Tarquin’s father has tasked him with monitoring the settlement of a new planet, and he doesn’t really have a choice in the matter.

Disguised as Tarquin’s new bodyguard, Naira plans to destroy the settlement ship before they make land. But neither of them expects to end up stranded on a dead planet. To survive and keep her secret, Naira will have to join forces with the man she’s sworn to hate. And together they will uncover a plot that’s bigger than both of them.

Acquisition Announcement: The Devoured Worlds Trilogy by Megan E. O’Keefe

Megan E. O'Keefe (Photo Credit: Joey Hewitt)
Photo: Joey Hewitt

Known for her bold plot twists, break-neck pacing, and heart-breaking characters, Megan E. O’Keefe is an incredible and undeniable new voice in space opera! Orbit is thrilled to announce the acquisition of Megan E. O’Keefe’s next big thing: a glorious new space opera trilogy that follows two enemies stranded on a dead planet. If you love wide-screen epics about secret identities, space empires and their revolutionaries, alien intelligences, and forbidden love, then The Devoured Worlds trilogy is for you.

When a spy is stranded on a dead planet with her mortal enemy, she must first figure out how to survive before she can uncover the conspiracy that landed them both there in the first place.

She’s a revolutionary. Humanity is running out of options. Habitable planets are being destroyed as quickly as they’re found and Naira Sharp knows the reason why. The all-powerful Mercator family has been controlling the exploration of the universe for decades, and exploiting any materials they find along the way under the guise of helping humanity’s expansion. But Naira knows the truth, and she plans to bring the whole family down from the inside.

He’s the heir to the dynasty. Tarquin Mercator never wanted to run a galaxy-spanning business empire. He just wanted to study rocks and read books. But Tarquin’s father has tasked him with monitoring the mining of a new planet, and he doesn’t really have a choice in the matter.

Disguised as Tarquin’s new bodyguard, Naira plans to destroy his ship before it lands. But neither of them expects to end up stranded on a dead planet.  To survive and keep her secret, Naira will have to join forces with the man she’s sworn to hate. And together they will uncover a plot that’s bigger than both of them.

Make sure to snag the first book The Blighted Stars (US | UK) when it publishes in May 2023! And, in the meantime, say hi to the author on Twitter @MeganEOKeefe, and check out her phenomenal debut space opera series The Protectorate Trilogy!

Velocity Weapon by Megan E. O'Keefe Chaos Vector by Megan E. O'Keefe Catalyst Gate by Megan E. O'Keefe The First Omega by Megan E. O'Keefe

Cover Launch: CATALYST GATE by Megan E. O’Keefe

VELOCITY WEAPON (US | UK)  and CHAOS VECTOR (US | UK)  hooked readers with its huge space battles, intricate planetary politics, breakneck pacing, and bold plot twists. Now, with the third book on the horizon and the fate of the universe hanging in the balance, you can finally feast your eyes on the gorgeous cover for the final book in the trilogy:

With art by Sparth and design by Lauren Panepinto, this cover promises more heart-stopping action, more adventure, and more loveable AI from a master of modern science fiction. Pre-order it now (US |UK) Or start with the first book in the series (US | UK).

The universe is under threat and an ancient alien intelligence threatens to bring humanity down unless Major Sanda Greeve and her crew can stop it in the final book of this explosive Philip K. Dick award-nominated space opera.

The code has been cracked. The secrets of the Casimir gates have been revealed. But humanity still isn’t safe. The alien intelligence known as Rainier and her clones are still out there, hell-bent on its destruction. And only Sanda can stop them.

With the universe’s most powerful ship under her command and some of the most skilled hackers, fighters, and spies on her team, it will still take everything she has to find the key to taking down an immortal enemy with seemingly limitless bodies, resources, and power.

Cover Launch: THE FIRST OMEGA by Megan E. O’Keefe

Megan E. O’Keefe proved she’s a science fiction master with her debut trilogy The Protectorate and now she’s bringing her prodigious talents to bear in this razor-sharp, action-packed new dystopian novella: The First Omega. Get excited to meet Riley—a hunter of men, a protector of the wasteland, and a goddamn force of nature—on March 30th.

Cover design by Lauren Panepinto and Lisa Marie Pompilio
Cover images by Shutterstock

Mad Max meets X-Men in this high-octane new dystopian novella by the Philip K Dick award-nominated author of Velocity Weapon.

It doesn’t matter what you call her. Riley. Burner. She forgot her name long ago. But if you steal from the supply lines crossing the wasteland, her face is the last one you’ll see. She is the force of nature that keeps the balance in the hot arid desert. Keep to yourself and she’ll leave you well enough alone. But it’s when you try to take more than you can chew that her employers notice and send her off to restore the balance. Then she gets the latest call. A supply truck knocked over too cleanly. Too precise. And the bodies scattering the wreckage weren’t killed by her normal prey of scavengers. These bodies are already rotting hours after the attack. Cowering in the corner of the wreckage is a young girl. A girl that shouldn’t be there. A girl with violently blue eyes. Just like hers.

Want to read more from the author? Check out VELOCITY WEAPON (US | UK) book one of The Protectorate.

ICYMI: VELOCITY WEAPON by Megan E. O’Keefe

What makes space opera’s like ANCILLARY JUSTICE (US | UK), Old Man’s War, and LEVIATHAN WAKES (US | UK) so great? Is it the huge space battles and intricate planetary politics? Is it the breakneck pacing and bold plot twists? Or is it the incredible characters that you just can’t help but fall in love with?

Whatever is in that special space opera sauce, VELOCITY WEAPON (US | UK) has got it in spades!

The last thing Sanda remembers is her gunship breaking up around her as her preserving pod expanded, sealing herself away for salvage-medics to pick up. She expected to awaken in friendly hands, patched up and patched back into a new gunship. Instead, she awakens 230 years later upon an empty enemy smartship, The Light of Berossus or, as he prefers to be called, “Bero”. The war is lost. The star system is dead.

 However, Bero may not exactly be telling the whole truth.

This incredible space opera by Morningstar Award winning author Megan E. O’Keefe is coming out in the US and UK in June 2019. But people are already calling this “one of the best science fiction novels of 2019!” (K. B. Wagers)

And of course a great book needs a great cover. Check out the amazing art by Sparth and cover design by Lauren Panepinto or read the first chapter HERE.