Posts Tagged ‘Rowenna Miller’

Cover Launch: RULE by Rowenna Miller

If you’ve missed Rowenna Miller’s beguiling world of sartorial sorcery, court intrigue, and revolutionary royals, the wait is nearly over—the thrilling conclusion to her French Revolution-inspired epic fantasy, RULE, is hitting shelves in May 2020.  

In the meantime, check out the final book’s gorgeous cover, with art by Carrie Violet and design by Lisa Marie Pompilio.

 

The civil war that the charm caster Sophie and the Crown Prince Theodor tried so desperately to avert has come to Galitha.

While Theodor joins Sophie’s brother and his Reformist comrades in battle, hoping to turn the tide against the better-supplied and better-trained Royalist army, Sophie leverages the only weapon she has: charm and curse casting. She weaves her signature magic into uniforms and supplies, but soon discovers that the challenges of a full-scale war are far greater than the entrepreneurial concerns of her small Galithan dress shop.

The fractured leadership of the Reformist army must coalesce, the people of Galitha unite against enormous odds, and Sophie must create more than a little magical luck in order to have a chance of victory.

Praise for The Unraveled Kingdom:

“Fantasy fans, especially those who grew up reading Tamora Pierce’s Circle of Magic series, will adore Sophie and be riveted as she navigates her shop, her new place in society, her love life, and a potential war. Miller accomplishes the tricky task of keeping the action exciting and page-turning…Highly recommended.”

Booklist (starred review) on Fray

“A tense plot and satisfying character development. This enjoyable installment maintains the innovative magic and well-handled conflict between the personal and the political that marked the series debut.”
Kirkus on Fray

“Miller places immigrant ambition and women’s lives at the heart of her magical tale of politics and revolution. I was utterly enchanted by this unique, clever and subtly fierce fantasy.”

—Tasha Suri, author of Empire of Sand on Torn

“Miller weaves a fresh, richly textured world full of magic-stitched ball gowns and revolutionary pamphlets. The vivid, complex setting and deeply human characters make for an absorbing read!”
—Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage on Torn

 

Cover Launch: FRAY by Rowenna Miller

Did you love Rowenna Miller’s French Revolution-inspired epic fantasy debut, TORN? Can’t wait to dive back into her enchanting world of magical ballgowns, reluctant royals, and ardent revolutionaries? The sequel, FRAY, publishes this summer.

While you’re waiting, check out FRAY’s beautiful cover, with art by Peter Bollinger and design by Lisa Marie Pompilio.

What would you risk for love and for country?

Open revolt has been thwarted—for now—but unrest still simmers in the kingdom of Galitha. Sophie Balstrade, despite having built a thriving business on her skill at both dressmaking and magic, has not escaped unscathed from her misadventures in the workers’ rebellion that saw her brother exiled and her friends murdered. Her dangerous foray into curse casting has rendered her powers unpredictable, and her increasingly visible romantic entanglement with the Crown Prince makes her a convenient target for threatened nobles and malcontented commoners alike.

With domestic political reform and international alliances—and her own life—at stake, Sophie must discern friend from foe… before her magic grows too dark for her to wield.

Praise for Torn:

“One of the best novels I’ve read this year! Torn is masterfully written—full of fascinating politics and compelling characters in a vividly rendered, troubled city. Sophie is a believable, layered, and wonderful heroine. I absolutely loved this book!”
—Sarah Beth Durst, author of The Queen of Blood

“Miller places immigrant ambition and women’s lives at the heart of her magical tale of politics and revolution. I was utterly enchanted by this unique, clever and subtly fierce fantasy.”

—Tasha Suri, author of EMPIRE OF SAND (US | UK)

“A gorgeous weave of romantic fantasy and urgent politics.”
—Anna Smith Spark, author of THE COURT OF BROKEN KNIVES

Cover Launch: TORN by Rowenna Miller

TORN is the first book in Rowenna Miller’s enchanting debut series featuring a seamstress who stitches magic into clothing, and the mounting political uprising that forces her to choose between her family and her ambitions.

Perfect for fans of The Queen of the Tearling and Throne of Glass, TORN comes out in March 2018, and this beautiful story is everything you could want in a fantasy book. While you’re waiting, check out the amazing cover of TORN, with art by Peter Bollinger and design by Lisa Marie Pompilio!

 

In a time of revolution, everyone must take a side.

Sophie, a dressmaker and charm caster, has lifted her family out of poverty with a hard-won reputation for beautiful ball gowns and discreetly embroidered spells. A commission from the royal family could secure her future—and thrust her into a dangerous new world.

Revolution is brewing. As Sophie’s brother, Kristos, rises to prominence in the growing anti-monarchist movement, it is only a matter of time before their fortunes collide.

When the unrest erupts into violence, she and Kristos are drawn into a deadly magical plot. Sophie is torn—between her family and her future.

Praise for Torn:

“One of the best novels I’ve read this year! Torn is masterfully written—full of fascinating politics and compelling characters in a vividly rendered, troubled city. Sophie is a believable, layered, and wonderful heroine. I absolutely loved this book!”
—Sarah Beth Durst, author of The Queen of Blood

“A gorgeous weave of romantic fantasy and urgent politics.”
—Anna Smith Spark, author of The Court of Broken Knives

“Miller weaves a fresh, richly textured world full of magic-stitched ball gowns and revolutionary pamphlets. The vivid, complex setting and deeply human characters make for an absorbing read!”
—Melissa Caruso, author of The Tethered Mage

 

Welcome to the Orbit family, Rowenna Miller!

Orbit has acquired World rights to debut author Rowenna Miller’s enchanting epic fantasy novel, TORN, and two sequels, from Jessica Sinsheimer at the Sarah Jane Freymann Agency. Torn features Sophie Balstrade, a magic-casting seamstress, and the mounting anti-monarchist uprising that forces her to choose between her community and her ambitions.

Look out for Torn in Spring 2018! Meanwhile, you can find Rowenna on Twitter at @RowennaM. Please give her a warm welcome to Orbit!

In a time of revolution, everyone must take a side.

Sophie is a young dressmaker who, with hard work, talent, and a rare proficiency in sewing spells into cloth, has managed to open her own shop and lift herself and her brother, Kristos, out of the poverty that plagues their immigrant community. Her reputation for beautiful ball gowns and discreetly-embroidered charms for luck, love, and protection secures her a commission from the royal family itself—and the commission earns her the attentions of a dashing but entirely unattainable duke.

Meanwhile, her brother, a day laborer with a keen mind and a thirst for justice, rises to prominence in the growing anti-monarchist movement. Their worlds collide when the revolution’s shadow leader takes Kristos hostage and demands that Sophie place a curse on the queen’s new Midwinter costume—or Kristos will die at their hand.

As the proletariat uprising comes to a violent climax, Sophie must choose: between her brother and the community of her birth, and her lover and the life she’s striven to build.