Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Posts Tagged ‘Six Wakes’

2018 Hugo Award nominations

We are thrilled that four Orbit titles are finalists for the 2018 Hugo Award for Best Novel!

Best Novel

  • The Collapsing Empire, by John Scalzi (Tor)
  • New York 2140, by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit) [US | UK | ANZ]
  • Provenance, by Ann Leckie (Orbit) [US | UK | ANZ]
  • Raven Stratagem, by Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris)
  • Six Wakes, by Mur Lafferty (Orbit) [US]
  • The Stone Sky, by N.K. Jemisin (Orbit) [US | UK | ANZ]

See all the nominations here.

Hugo Award Nominees 2018

N.K. Jemisin has previously won two Hugo Awards for Best Novel, for THE FIFTH SEASON and THE OBELISK GATE. THE STONE SKY, this year’s finalist, completes her acclaimed Broken Earth Trilogy.

Ann Leckie previously won the Hugo Award for Best Novel for her debut, ANCILLARY JUSTICE, which also won the Nebula and Arthur C. Clarke Awards for Best Novel.

This marks Kim Stanley Robinson’s sixth nomination for this award, and Mur Lafferty’s first.

The Hugo Awards will be presented at Worldcon 76 in San Jose, CA, on August 19th. Congratulations to Kim Stanley Robinson, Ann Leckie, Mur Lafferty, N.K. Jemisin, and all the other Hugo Award nominees!

2017 Nebula Award Finalists

The 2017 Nebula Award Nominations are in and we’re excited to announce that FOUR Orbit titles have been nominated for Best Novel!

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin (US | UK | ANZ)

JADE CITY by Fonda Lee (US | UK | ANZ)

SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (US)

AUTONOMOUS by Annalee Newitz (UK | ANZ).

The awards will be presented in the 2018 SFWA Nebula Conference in Pittsburgh, PA on May 19th. Congratulations to all! Read the full list of nominees here.

Goodreads Choice Awards 2017: Semifinal Round

We’re excited to announce that all of the Orbit titles moved to the second round of nominations for the 2017 Goodreads Choice Awards—including a new write-in! Want to see your favorite Orbit authors and books make it to the final round? Cast your vote!

Voting for the semifinal round ends November 12.

Fantasy – VOTE NOW

SINS OF EMPIRE by Brian McClellan (US | UK | AUS)

KINGS OF THE WYLD by Nicholas Eames (US | UK | AUS)

THE STONE SKY by N. K. Jemisin (US | UK | AUS)

SILENCE FALLEN by Patricia Briggs (UK | AUS)

 

Horror – VOTE NOW

THE BOY ON THE BRIDGE by M. R. Carey (US | UK | AUS)

THE DELIRIUM BRIEF by Charlie Stross (UK)

 

Science Fiction – VOTE NOW

PROVENANCE by Ann Leckie (US | UK | AUS)

BABYLON’S ASHES by James S. A. Corey (US | UK | AUS)

**SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty (US) ** — New write-in!

   

Debut Goodreads Author – VOTE NOW

KINGS OF THE WYLD by Nicholas Eames (US | UK | AUS)

If your favorite Orbit title of 2017 isn’t listed, you can also enter a write-in vote at the bottom of each genre page.

Cover Launch: SIX WAKES by Mur Lafferty

When Mur Lafferty came to us with a cool new idea, we were over the moon to acquire this SF novel with a great hook: On a generation ship millions of miles from Earth, a whole crew is murdered.  When their clones wake up — they know that one of them is the killer.

It’s out in October this year and here’s a sneak peek at the cover:

Lafferty_SixWakes_TP

A space adventure set on a lone ship where the murdered crew are resurrected through cloning to discover who their killer was — and the secret to their mission.

It was not common to awaken in a cloning vat streaked with drying blood.

At least, Marie Shea IV had never experienced it. She had no memory of how she died. That was also new; before, when she had awakened as a new clone, her first memory was of how she died, from illness once and from injury once…

Maria’s vat was in the front of six vats, each one holding the clone of a crew member of the starship Dormire, each clone waiting for its previous incarnation to die so it could awaken. Apparently Maria wasn’t the only one to die recently.

Photo illustration by Klaus Vedfelt/Getty Images, Shutterstock, and Kirk Benshoff
Design by Kirk Benshoff

SIX WAKES: Thriller in Space — WITH CLONES!

Fans of Mur Lafferty! Fans of Firefly, Sunshine, Leviathan Wakes! Fans of awesome sf with a cool hook! Come hither!  (Or was that yon? Or hither and yon? Its hard to tell on the intrawebs…)

When we first got the proposal for Mur’s new novel, SIX WAKES, the whole team fell in love with the hook: The whole crew is murdered — but when their clones wake up, they know that one of them is the killer. How cool is that? I will answer that question for you — SO COOL!

It was not common to awaken in a cloning vat streaked with drying blood.
 
 At least, Marie Shea iv had never experienced it. She had no memory of how she died. That was also new; before, when she had awakened as a new clone, her first memory was of how she died: from illness once and from injury once…
 
Maria’s vat was in the front of six vats, each one holding the clone of a crew member of the starship Pituitary, each clone waiting for its previous incarnation to die so it could awaken. Apparently Maria wasn’t the only one to die recently…

Mur Lafferty Photo 2 - JR BlackwellMur Lafferty should be a familiar name to most. She is a writer, podcast producer, gamer, geek, and martial artist. She is the host of the award winning podcast I Should Be Writing, and the host of the Angry Robot Books Podcast. She is the winner of the 2013 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer. And she is also a writer who has a million awesome ideas ready to leap out of her brain.  We are excited that this is her next big project with Orbit and I can’t wait to see what she does next.

We’ll be publishing in trade paperback next Fall.

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.