Posts Tagged ‘The Book of Gothel’

Cover launch: THE BOOK OF GOTHEL by Mary McMyne

What does every beautiful, gothic fairytale reimagining need? An equally beautiful, fairytale inspired cover! Feast your eyes on the cover of The Book of Gothel. Designed by Lisa Marie Pompillio, it perfectly evokes the witchcraft and magic, crumbling towers, dark woods and otherworldly secrets of this gorgeous debut novel that spins the familiar story of Rapunzel on its head by centering its villain. Get excited for The Book of Gothel to publish in Summer 2022. And in the meantime, say hello to Mary McMyne on Twitter @MaryMcMyne and at her website.

 

Haelewise has always lived under the shadow of her mother, Hedda—a woman who will do anything to keep her daughter protected. For with her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist, where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

But when her mother dies, Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the tower of legend—a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It’s also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that just might explain why Haelewise keeps hearing her mother’s voice.

Acquisition Announcement: THE BOOK OF GOTHEL by Mary McMyne

Everyone knows the story of Rapunzel—a young girl stolen away by an evil witch and forced to live in a tower. But do you know the real story? Do you know the story of the witch? We are thrilled to announce that Orbit’s sister imprint, Redhook, has acquired Mary McMyne’s lush, historical fantasy debut, THE BOOK OF GOTHEL.

For fans of Circe, Wicked, and Spinning Silver, THE BOOK OF GOTHEL is a tale filled with witchcraft and magic, crumbling towers, dark woods and evil princes, otherworldly secrets and forgotten tales. It’s a story about mothers and daughters, and the lengths we will go to for love. Beautifully rendered and rich in historical detail, this fractured fairytale spins the familiar story of Rapunzel on its head by centering its villain—Haelwise, the witch of the tower of Gothel. And we can’t wait for this captivating debut to sweep you off your feet!

Haelewise has always lived under the shadow of her mother, Hedda—a woman who will do anything to keep her daughter protected. For with her strange black eyes and even stranger fainting spells, Haelewise is shunned by her village, and her only solace lies in the stories her mother tells of child-stealing witches, of princes in wolf-skins, of an ancient tower cloaked in mist, where women will find shelter if they are brave enough to seek it.

But when her mother dies, Haelewise is left unmoored. With nothing left for her in her village, she sets out to find the tower of legend—a place called Gothel, where Haelewise meets a wise woman willing to take her under her wing.

But Haelewise is not the only woman to seek refuge at Gothel. It’s also a haven for a girl named Rika, who carries with her a secret the Church strives to keep hidden. A secret that just might explain why Haelewise keeps hearing her mother’s voice.

We can’t wait to share THE BOOK OF GOTHEL with you next year! And, in the meantime, please join us in welcoming Mary to Orbit/Redhook. You can find her on Twitter @MaryMcMyne and at her website.

Orbit US senior editor Brit Hvide acquired World English rights from Sam Farkas at Jill Grinberg Literary Management. Orbit UK editor Emily Byron has secured UK rights.