Posts Tagged ‘The Magician’s Daughter’

Acquisition Announcement: THE MAGICIAN’S DAUGHTER by H. G. Parry

Redhook is thrilled to announce the acquisition of H. G. Parry’s charming new historical fantasy novel, THE MAGICIAN’S DAUGHTER. Perfect for fans of Alix E. Harrow and Naomi Novik, The Magician’s Daughter follows a young woman raised on an isolated island who discovers things aren’t as they seem as she ventures into early 1900s England to help return magic to the world. Do you want to know more? I bet you do!

You can read more about the book below, and while you wait for it to arrive at your nearest bookstore in fall 2022, follow Hannah on Twitter @hg_parry and check out her previous novels, THE UNLIKELY ESCAPE OF URIAH HEEP (US | UK)  and The Shadow Histories duology!

 

It is 1912, and for the last seventy years magic has all but disappeared from the world. Yet magic is all Biddy has ever known.

Orphaned in a shipwreck as a baby, Biddy grew up on Hy-Brasil, a legendary island off the coast of Ireland hidden by magic and glimpsed by rare travelers who return with stories of wild black rabbits and a lone magician in a castle. To Biddy, the island is her home, a place of ancient trees and sea-salt air and mysteries, and the magician, Rowan, is her guardian. She loves both, but as her seventeenth birthday approaches, she is stifled by her solitude and frustrated by Rowan’s refusal to let her leave. He himself leaves almost every night, transforming into a raven and flying to the mainland, and never tells her where or why he goes.

One night, Rowan fails to come home from his mysterious travels. When Biddy ventures into his nightmares to rescue him, she learns not only where he goes every night, but the terrible things that happened in the last days of magic that caused Rowan to flee to Hy-Brasil. Rowan has powerful enemies who threaten the safety of the island. Biddy’s determination to protect her home and her guardian takes her away from the safety of the island, to the poorhouses of Whitechapel, a secret castle beneath London streets, the ruins of an ancient civilization, and finally to a desperate chance to restore lost magic. But the closer she comes to answers, the more she comes to question everything she has ever believed about Rowan, her origins, and the cost of bringing magic back into the world.

Orbit US editor Nivia Evans acquired World English rights from Hannah Bowman at Liza Dawson Associates.