Posts Tagged ‘Vivian Shaw’

Cover Launch: GRAVE IMPORTANCE by Vivian Shaw

Are you ready for an adventure in the French countryside—one that includes vampires, witches, demons, and one harried but indomitable doctor?

We’re excited to launch the cover of GRAVE IMPORTANCE, the last volume in the Greta Helsing series, Vivian Shaw’s much-loved books about this eminently sensible doctor to the undead and her found family of very polite monsters.

To tell you a bit more about Greta’s further adventures:

Oasis Natrun: a private, exclusive, highly secret luxury health spa for mummies, high in the hills above Marseille, equipped with the very latest in therapeutic innovations both magical and medical. To Dr. Greta Helsing, London’s de facto mummy specialist, it sounds like paradise. But when Greta is invited to spend four months there as the interim clinical director, it isn’t long before she finds herself faced with a medical mystery that will take all her diagnostic skill to solve.

A peculiar complaint is spreading among her mummy patients, one she’s never seen before. With help from her friends and colleagues—including Dr. Faust (yes, that Dr. Faust), remedial psychopomps, a sleepy scribe-god, witches, demons, a British Museum curator, and the inimitable vampyre Sir Francis Varney—Greta must put a stop to this mysterious illness before anybody else crumbles to irreparable dust…

…and before the fabric of reality itself can undergo any more structural damage.

Grave Company hits the shelves in Summer 2019, which gives you just enough time to check out the first two Greta Helsing books, STRANGE PRACTICE (US | UK) and DREADFUL COMPANY (US | UK). If you’ve finished those and can’t wait for your next Greta fix, visit Vivian at her website where she is currently posting a series of hilarious recaps of the vampyre Varney’s original exploits, and on Twitter @ceruleancynic.

Cover design by Will Staehle and Lisa Marie Pompilio

Orbit at 2018 New York Comic Con

NYCC 2018 attendees! Come visit us at booth #2218 for some FREE goodies, a fun in-booth challenge, and a preview of our upcoming books.

Check out the schedule below for information on where you can find our authors this weekend. See you at the show!

 

NEW YORK COMIC CON 2018 ORBIT SCHEDULE

Friday, October 5

1:00 PM: PANEL: Seanan McGuire (Mira Grant) on “Code Shift SFF: Crafting Fierce Female Characters Who Defy Stereotypes,” Shop Studios, Level 4, 528 W 39th St

1:30 PM: PANEL: Delilah S. Dawson (Lila Bowen) on “BOOM! Studios: Discover Yours,” Room 1A24

4:00 PM: PANEL: Jordanna Max Brodsky on “Revisiting History,” Room 1A18

5:15 PM: SIGNING: Jordanna Max Brodsky, Autographing Area Table 1

 

Saturday, October 6

11:00 AM: PANEL: Delilah S. Dawson (Lila Bowen) on “I’ll Take Dementors for $500, Obi-Wan: A Fan Game Show” panel, Room 1A18

12:15PM: SIGNING: Delilah S. Dawson (Lila Bowen): Autographing Area Table 1

4:00 PM: PANEL: N. K. Jemisin on “WNDB Presents: Does Your Fantasy or SFF World Have to Be Woke?” Room 1B03

5:00 PM: PANEL: Mur Lafferty and Delilah S. Dawson (Lila Bowen) on “Disney-Lucasfilm Presents: A Celebration of Female Writers in a Galaxy Far, Far Away,” Shop Studios, Level 4, 528 W 39th St

8:30 PM: PANEL: Seanan McGuire (Mira Grant) on “Shipwreck: Literary Erotic Fan Fiction Competition,” Shop Studios, Level 4, 528 W 39th St

 

Sunday, October 7

11:00 AM: PANEL: Delilah S. Dawson (Lila Bowen) on “Making Kids’ Comics the IDW Way!” Room 1A24

12:15 PM: PANEL: N. K. Jemisin on “America’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers,” Room 1B03

1:30PM: SIGNING: N. K. Jemisin: Autographing Area Table 1

1:30 PM: PANEL: Vivian Shaw on “Weirdness Accessible,” Room 1A18

2:45PM: SIGNING: Vivian Shaw: Autographing Area Table 1

Cover Launch: DREADFUL COMPANY by Vivian Shaw

DREADFUL COMPANY is the second riveting contemporary fantasy novel in the world of STRANGE PRACTICE (US | UK | AUS), featuring Dr. Greta Helsing, whose family has been keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well for generations.

If you can’t wait for the release of DREADFUL COMPANY in July 2018, here’s a sneak peek at Will Staehle’s amazing cover!

When Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, is unexpectedly called to Paris to present at a medical conference, she expects nothing more exciting than professional discourse on zombie reconstructive surgery and skin disease in bogeymen — and hopefully at least one uneventful night at the Opera.

Unfortunately for Greta, Paris happens to be infested with a coven of vampires — and not the civilized kind. If she hopes to survive, Greta must navigate the darkest corners of the City of Lights, the maze of ancient catacombs and mine-tunnels underneath the streets, where there is more to find than simply dead men’s bones.

Praise for Strange Practice:

“In Vivian Shaw’s Strange Practice, a charmingly unusual doctor and her charges keep the city of London from grave danger. In the process, they peel back the covers of familiar (and according to them, somewhat “libelous”) stories to find that reality—especially with the undead—is more poignant and complex than it seems at first glance. An excellent adventure.”
—Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon

Strange Practice is written with elegance, wit, and compassion. The prose is gorgeous, the wit is mordant, and the ideas are provocative. Also, there are ghouls.”
—Laura Amy Schlitz, Newbery Medal winner

“A satisfying and surprising read, with rich imagery, nuance, and real compassion for its characters—give Strange Practice a shot!”
—Elliott James, author of Charming

“A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead.”
—James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

“An exceptional and delightful debut, in the tradition of Good Omens and A Night in the Lonesome October.”
—Elizabeth Bear, Hugo-award winning author

“Shaw balances an agile mystery with a pitch-perfect, droll narrative and cast of lovable misfit characters. These are not your mother’s Dracula or demons … Strange Practice is a super(natural) read.”
Shelf Awareness

“An appropriately dark breath of fresh air.”
—Booklist on Strange Practice

“Readers will look forward to more of Greta’s adventures. An imaginative, delightfully droll debut.”
Kirkus

“A book to settle into. A warm quilt of a thing that’s made for curling up with … I miss this newest Helsing already.”
NPR

“This book is a joy to read, unlocking every bit of delicious promise in the premise.”
B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

Meet Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead . . .

There’s a new fantasy character in town and it’s time for you to meet her!

Dr Greta Helsing is a talented and well-respected physician with a highly specialised – and highly peculiar – medical practice in London’s Harley Street.

If the name sounds familiar, that’s because Greta is a descendent of the vampire hunter Professor Abraham Van Helsing. Luckily for her, family relations with the undead have improved since the nineteenth century and Greta now spends her days carrying on her father’s legacy by treating London’s supernatural community for a host of ills, such as vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies.

We managed to grab a few minutes with the busy doctor for a quick interview. You can read it here.

Greta Helsing

 

If you want to find out more about Greta’s adventures in medicine and  mystery, STRANGE PRACTICE (US/UK/ANZ) is hitting shops next week! You can read the first chapter here.

Strange Practice

‘A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead’ James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

Greta is a refreshing urban fantasy heroine, strong and smart and utterly normal, despite her chosen profession.’ Booklist

Strange Practice surprises and delights . . . But the greatest elements of the book are the characters. They shine’ Bookbag

An excellent adventure’ Fran Wilde

‘What a splendid adventure this is – Dr Greta Helsing is a brilliant character’ Espresso Coco

‘An exceptional and delightful debut’ Elizabeth Bear

‘Readers will look forward to more of Greta’s adventures. An imaginative, delightfully droll debut’ Kirkus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover Launch: STRANGE PRACTICE by Vivian Shaw

We are thrilled to reveal the cover for STRANGE PRACTICE, a spectacular fantasy novel coming in July from debut author Vivian Shaw. Witty and fast-paced, with a heroine who treats rather than fights the supernatural, STRANGE PRACTICE is sure to sweep you off your feet. Cover art and design by Will Staehle.

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

After inheriting a highly specialized – and highly peculiar – medical practice, Dr. Helsing spends her days treating the undead for a host of ills: vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been preparing for since childhood.

But when a sect of murderous monks starts attacking Londoners, undead and human alike, and terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use all her unusual skills to keep her supernatural clients – and the rest of London – safe.

You can follow Vivian Shaw on Twitter or on Tumblr.

Pre-order in the US: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

Pre-order in the UK: Amazon | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Waterstones | More Stores

Welcome Vivian Shaw!

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

Orbit has acquired three novels in this lively new series, beginning with STRANGE PRACTICE in summer 2017. In the meantime, say hello to Vivian on Twitter @ceruleancynic or on Tumblr at http://vivianshaw.tumblr.com/.

vivian-shaw-cr-emilia-blaserGreta Helsing inherited the family’s highly specialized, and highly peculiar, medical practice.  In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills — vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been groomed for since childhood.

Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life.