Orbit Loot

Orbit Books

Join the Orbit Newsletter

Posts Tagged ‘Vivian Shaw’

Cover Launch: DREADFUL COMPANY by Vivian Shaw

DREADFUL COMPANY is the second riveting contemporary fantasy novel in the world of STRANGE PRACTICE (US | UK | AUS), featuring Dr. Greta Helsing, whose family has been keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well for generations.

If you can’t wait for the release of DREADFUL COMPANY in July 2018, here’s a sneak peek at Will Staehle’s amazing cover!

When Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead, is unexpectedly called to Paris to present at a medical conference, she expects nothing more exciting than professional discourse on zombie reconstructive surgery and skin disease in bogeymen — and hopefully at least one uneventful night at the Opera.

Unfortunately for Greta, Paris happens to be infested with a coven of vampires — and not the civilized kind. If she hopes to survive, Greta must navigate the darkest corners of the City of Lights, the maze of ancient catacombs and mine-tunnels underneath the streets, where there is more to find than simply dead men’s bones.

Praise for Strange Practice:

“In Vivian Shaw’s Strange Practice, a charmingly unusual doctor and her charges keep the city of London from grave danger. In the process, they peel back the covers of familiar (and according to them, somewhat “libelous”) stories to find that reality—especially with the undead—is more poignant and complex than it seems at first glance. An excellent adventure.”
—Fran Wilde, award-winning author of Updraft, Cloudbound, and Horizon

Strange Practice is written with elegance, wit, and compassion. The prose is gorgeous, the wit is mordant, and the ideas are provocative. Also, there are ghouls.”
—Laura Amy Schlitz, Newbery Medal winner

“A satisfying and surprising read, with rich imagery, nuance, and real compassion for its characters—give Strange Practice a shot!”
—Elliott James, author of Charming

“A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead.”
—James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

“An exceptional and delightful debut, in the tradition of Good Omens and A Night in the Lonesome October.”
—Elizabeth Bear, Hugo-award winning author

“Shaw balances an agile mystery with a pitch-perfect, droll narrative and cast of lovable misfit characters. These are not your mother’s Dracula or demons … Strange Practice is a super(natural) read.”
Shelf Awareness

“An appropriately dark breath of fresh air.”
—Booklist on Strange Practice

“Readers will look forward to more of Greta’s adventures. An imaginative, delightfully droll debut.”
Kirkus

“A book to settle into. A warm quilt of a thing that’s made for curling up with … I miss this newest Helsing already.”
NPR

“This book is a joy to read, unlocking every bit of delicious promise in the premise.”
B&N Sci-Fi & Fantasy Blog

Meet Greta Helsing, doctor to the undead . . .

There’s a new fantasy character in town and it’s time for you to meet her!

Dr Greta Helsing is a talented and well-respected physician with a highly specialised – and highly peculiar – medical practice in London’s Harley Street.

If the name sounds familiar, that’s because Greta is a descendent of the vampire hunter Professor Abraham Van Helsing. Luckily for her, family relations with the undead have improved since the nineteenth century and Greta now spends her days carrying on her father’s legacy by treating London’s supernatural community for a host of ills, such as vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies.

We managed to grab a few minutes with the busy doctor for a quick interview. You can read it here.

Greta Helsing

 

If you want to find out more about Greta’s adventures in medicine and  mystery, STRANGE PRACTICE (US/UK/ANZ) is hitting shops next week! You can read the first chapter here.

Strange Practice

‘A darkly delicious adventure featuring a quirky new heroine. Strange Practice breathes new life into the undead’ James Bennett, author of Chasing Embers

Greta is a refreshing urban fantasy heroine, strong and smart and utterly normal, despite her chosen profession.’ Booklist

Strange Practice surprises and delights . . . But the greatest elements of the book are the characters. They shine’ Bookbag

An excellent adventure’ Fran Wilde

‘What a splendid adventure this is – Dr Greta Helsing is a brilliant character’ Espresso Coco

‘An exceptional and delightful debut’ Elizabeth Bear

‘Readers will look forward to more of Greta’s adventures. An imaginative, delightfully droll debut’ Kirkus

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cover Launch: STRANGE PRACTICE by Vivian Shaw

We are thrilled to reveal the cover for STRANGE PRACTICE, a spectacular fantasy novel coming in July from debut author Vivian Shaw. Witty and fast-paced, with a heroine who treats rather than fights the supernatural, STRANGE PRACTICE is sure to sweep you off your feet. Cover art and design by Will Staehle.

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

After inheriting a highly specialized – and highly peculiar – medical practice, Dr. Helsing spends her days treating the undead for a host of ills: vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been preparing for since childhood.

But when a sect of murderous monks starts attacking Londoners, undead and human alike, and terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use all her unusual skills to keep her supernatural clients – and the rest of London – safe.

You can follow Vivian Shaw on Twitter or on Tumblr.

Pre-order in the US: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Books-A-Million | Google Play | iBooks | Indiebound | Kobo | Chapters

Pre-order in the UK: Amazon | Google Play | iTunes | Kobo | Waterstones | More Stores

Welcome Vivian Shaw!

Meet Greta Helsing, fast-talking doctor to the undead. Keeping the supernatural community not-alive and well in London has been her family’s specialty for generations.

Orbit has acquired three novels in this lively new series, beginning with STRANGE PRACTICE in summer 2017. In the meantime, say hello to Vivian on Twitter @ceruleancynic or on Tumblr at http://vivianshaw.tumblr.com/.

vivian-shaw-cr-emilia-blaserGreta Helsing inherited the family’s highly specialized, and highly peculiar, medical practice.  In her consulting rooms, Dr. Helsing treats the undead for a host of ills — vocal strain in banshees, arthritis in barrow-wights, and entropy in mummies. Although barely making ends meet, this is just the quiet, supernatural-adjacent life Greta’s been groomed for since childhood.

Until a sect of murderous monks emerges, killing human and undead Londoners alike. As terror takes hold of the city, Greta must use her unusual skills to stop the cult if she hopes to save her practice, and her life. 

RSS Feeds
Orbit on the Web
Archives
Blogroll

Please note that though we make every effort to ensure the suitability of links, Orbit cannot be held responsible for the content of external sites.